We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely service, behind the times...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grotto Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Grotto Bay Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely service, behind the times...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just returned from 5 days at Grotto Bay all inclusive package. The staff was lovely and very genuine but the facility is worn around the edges. The clientele is largely groups from Saga the over 50 travel group from Great Britton. Spa services are very sub par with treatments given in an unused hotel room... No robes, or usual accoutrements one would expect for the high end price. Room TV is circa 1980's. No wifi provided. (Actually great for talking with your adolescent children who have no alternative.) Clocks still not adjusted for daylight savings time which happened several weeks ago. Low end toiletries and no glasses in the bathroom.


The tourism industry has fallen onto hard times as a result of the many "private clubs" that have sprouted up as a function of the insurance and financial industries that have flourishes as a function of favorable tax incentives. This has resulted I the closure of many resorts and the bare-bones nature of the "survivors"

The beaches in Bermuda are 2nd to none but the location of The Grotto Bay is suboptimal. Unable to go anywhere unless by taxi or bus.

Room Tip: Walls paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3413jpm, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear valued Guest,

Wish to thank you for your comments and at the same time advise you that our Designer and installation team are here this week to install new furnishings, accessories, curtains, rugs and plants. In addition, all of our TV's are currently being replaced, sorry the TV in your room had not been replaced yet. Sorry you did not opt for the spa treatment in our Proserous Cave. This is a very unique setting for spa treatments, your spa treatment would have taken place in a Million year old Grotto with underground crystal clear lake as well as throusands of Stalagmites and Stalactites. Although slightly more expensive, it is definitely worth it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    557
    187
    82
    51
See reviews for
336
646
55
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Orleans, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Mr Martens
We recently vacationed at your Resort , March 11 to March 17 , I thought your staff was really excellent , caring and helpful . I wish to specifically mention Eugene (Bell Desk) , Victoria (Dining Area) and Michael-StJohn (sp?)(night shift Supv) . Due to my wife's lack of mobility we needed to change rooms on the first night , the night shift front desk smoothly arranged a transfer and Michael-StJohn showed me the room to make sure we would be happy .
Thank you
Sue and George Waugh

Room Tip: We liked the ocean view rooms , at the top of the property . Really good food ! Convenient to taxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Our stay with Grotto Bay started March 16 and sadly ended March 24, 2013. It was above and beyond what we expected and we have done a fair amount of travelling. Our room at Hamilton Lodge #123 was perfect and although the walls are not exactly sound proof it did not bother us at all...The weather was not great but we did not see snow so that was a plus. Our room was cleaned everyday, it was not outdated as reivews had said, it was well maintained, staff were great to us, food was excellent although we did not do any plans as we were out everyday to different places and eat where we wanted., but food we did eat at Grotto Bay was also great. Bermuda proved to be more entertaining to us and we did not get time to do all we wanted to, sooooo we will be back and we will be staying at Grotto Bay for sure!

Room Tip: If you are able to walk up stairs, the second and third floors have the best views above the trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwood mass
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Back to BDA, hotel closest to airport but w/o any noise etc. this hotel has it all pool, hot tub, sm. gym/changing area, best is tea every afternoon, free also a mgr.'s cocktail hr. once a wk. w/free Swizzles and nice snacks. It also has on site cave you can swim in and not pay to visit one down the street. Bus right outside door. All rooms have exc. views, nicely done over. Fridges and coffee let you enjoy meals in rm. my one complaint paying for Internet whch used to be free and accessible only in lobby which has many nooks and crannies to relax in near a fire etc. people very accommodating.

Room Tip: It has buildings w/stairs down to beac, pool, gym and caves. If this is a problem ask for Warwick bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lots of nice things to say about Grotto Bay, we were really lucky to have a newly decorated room on the ground floor with spectacular views. The beach is really pretty ,though the sea very cold. The pool was not heated which was a dissapointment. There are lots of lovely areas to sit around the Hotel and we found it to be such a peaceful setting. I have to say that the staff were great and the Al a Carte menu for an all inclusive deal is really good with an upmarket choice on the menu. The bus passes are good and we got to see a good bit of Bermuda. There are one or two minor issues with the Hotel which could make it perfect ,but at least it is really clean and friendly.

Room Tip: the hamilton Block is newly decorated and right on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We are here right now for a 5 day stay. I am not sure what the rave reviews are for but we find it okay to average...maybe it's b/c the weather has not been great for the beach and the heated swimming pool is still out of commission. I have traveled extensively too for work and find these accommodations nothing to be at 4 or 5. Moreover, wifi here is for a fee and it's PER DEVICE - we have my laptop, my smart phone and my daughter's ipad and they would charge me $150 to have those set up and oh yes, there's no guarantee that after you sign up with their wifi if you will have continuous signal - so I find myself login and out to get the signal with one or two bars. Crazy. We got upgraded to a ocean front room for "new linens" but I can still smell men's cologne on my pillow case and no LCD tv here - which has spotty signal and grainy screens for CNN channel. Again, like other reviewers have said - the walls are thin so I can hear the next room sneeze, cough and their discussion....oh boy. And yes, we can hear rooster calling in the morning - which is actually funny. My 10 year old daughter is disappointed that she can't go swimming bc the pool is not ready...oh and there is NOOOO ROOOM SERVICE...what did we pay for?

So far, people have been very nice but facility is nothing to rave about. Stay tuned for more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was a nice place to stay and the staff was very helpful, nice, and knowledgeable. They shared little places to visit around the island and made sure we had everything we needed. The location is very easy to get to and navigate around Bermuda.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.