We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic as usual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grotto Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Grotto Bay Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get up to 30% Off Room
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Back from Grotto Bay for the 3rd time. I have never stayed anywhere that could even compare. The place is immaculate, the pool area and hot tub are great, the caves are a sight to see and the staff is fantistic: every single person who works there! There is one gentlerman, E-Michael who makes the place seem like a palace, if Bermuda had a king, it would be him. Besides Grotto Bay being the cream de la creme, it is also a 2 minute taxi ride from the airport, As soon as you clear immigration / customs, you are there in 2 minutes.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    663
    204
    86
    55
See reviews for
410
784
63
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

For a 3 night getaway we chose Grotto Bay. From the moment we stepped in until we checked out, we felt like royalty. Our room was spotless, our view amazing, the bed extremely comfortable and the bathroom was great. The swim-in grotto is breathtaking and romantic. The beach is absolutely stunning with clear water and a ship wreck you can swim out to. The pool is warm like a bath so no matter the temperature, you are guaranteed a great swim! I have been all over the world and this resort tops any I have stayed at. I cannot wait to go back! The hotel is conveniently located near St George's and 2 min from the airport. We bought a 3 day bus pass and it was the best money we spent- it also covers the ferries. Hamilton is 30 min away by bus but we stayed the whole day and took a ferry to Dockyards. We opted out of the all inclusive as we wanted to try the island's food, however many restaurants close between lunch and dinner and we were left hungry so next time I would purchase all Inclusive. Crystal Caves is a 7 min walk down the road and I recommend having breakfast or lunch at Cafe Ole right there as well. If you choose Grotto Bay, you can't go wrong!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horstead, norwich
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I have hesitated since returning from Grotto Bay on 12th March. We were so looking forward to our visit since reading the Saga brochure for many times, but it did not live up to our expectations. Yes we did have poor weather, rain and wind and it was quite cold at times which doesn't help wherever you are but there were other things which did not help to make our visit enjoyable.

The menu in the Hibiscus restaurant was the same everyday, so if you didn't fancy anything on day one you were snookered. At The Palm restaurant was the same. Food was cold and looked unappetising, and only a choice of four deserts each day.
If we were back in time in the afternoon we went to partake of "tea and cakes" at 3.30pm but this was a luke warm cup of tea and stale scones, sometimes with cream and jam if you were lucky. On our last day whilst we were waiting to be picked up to go to the airport the scones jam and cream had been removed. How mean. This was probably because our time was up.

The grounds of the hotel were great. The buses were great and the fact that Saga gave us a weeks bus pass for free allowing us to go all over the Island was brilliant. This aside the rest was not good. Don't mention the rips in the armchairs in the lounge area, how disgraceful they should be put on a bonfire before 5th November.

Thanks to all the Saga guests who were with us during our week it was a pleasure to meet you. The best meal of the week was the Saga Farewell Dinner which was delicious. Why couldn't the food have been like it all the week?



Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel was clean and we definitely found it safe. The staff are friendly and professional. Nothing to complain about other than the food costs at the hotel restaurants. We ate most of our meals a block down the road at the Swizzle Inn for less than 1/2 the price. If you have a hard time getting around, this isn't the place for you. There are alot of steps/stairs to get where you are going. There is a bus stop right at the entrance road to the hotel. You can buy a 3 day pass that gives you unlimited rides on the bus and the ferry for $28. It's easy to get around the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 157. It was great! (In the 4 tier pricing, it was 2nd from the bottom). We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Grotto Bay is less than 5 minutes ($10 cab ride) from the airport. The grounds are well-maintained and the view is lovely looking out over Castle Harbor. Staff is very helpful and friendly, especially June Ann and Khyljuan (sp?). Even though the weather was a little less than perfect we found many things to do there and around the island. Be sure to get a 3 or 7 day bus pass and take the buses everywhere. Afternoon Tea between 3:30 and 4:30 is a lovely way to take a break from sightseeing. The Swizzle Inn up the road is a great place for a drink or a pub meal. The rooms aren't luxurious but they are clean and quiet and perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Grotto Bay is a quaint little resort with a lot going for it--a beautiful, private beach, caves you can swim in, well-kept rooms and grounds, and within a short walk of the famed Swizzle Inn. I love Bermuda, and have been twice in the past 6 months...but the second visit, when I stayed at Grotto Bay, was quite a different experience.

I'm not sure if it was because it was the off-season, or (from what I heard around the island) because even Bermuda is feeling the pinch of tough economic times...but around the island, the usual friendliness was lacking and the service was just a shade above terrible. That being said, Grotto Bay may normally be a wonderful resort, but my stay was disappointing. Here are some of the reasons why:
- Upon arrival, we were told to leave our bags at the front steps, and they would be delivered to our room. However the bellhop was nowhere to be found, so we ended up lugging them to our room ourselves.
- The room was clean, but lacked some basics--like cups. The refrigerator was so noisy that we had to unplug it to sleep at night, and the walls were so thin that I could hear the person next door snoring. Also, there's no wi-fi anywhere on the resort except the main lodge.
- The pool heater was broken, so the water was too cold to swim in. Also, the pool bar was closed and the sitting area was stacked up, so you couldn't really even hang out there. The jacuzzi was ok, but it was so small that only 6-7 adults could fit without feeling awkward.
- The concierge actually turned us away when we tried to ask for dinner recommendations, because she "had to get something done"...but when we must have appeared confused, she hurriedly "helped" us, by telling my boyfriend he was underdressed for dinner. When we replied that we wanted something casual and asked about Swizzle Inn, she just agreed. The next day, I asked the concierge for a list of spa services. She told me to go downstairs to the spa desk and look around, bc she didn't have any copies. I never did find a list.
- It was restaurant week, but only after practically begging the front desk to help advise what types of food/atmosphere, did I get any suggestions. The concierge was MIA, so we had to call for reservations from our room, which was a small fee. And they didn't answer, so we had to call a few times.

Those were the highlights of the disappointments. However there were some upsides. St. George is nearby, which is the most Bermudian town on the island- they do free historical tours and reenactments, and there are tons if great restaurants and shops. And there are parks and caves to explore within walking distance, which was neat.

Overall, although I was not impressed, I have a feeling it's much better during the high tourism season. I'm not sure I'd try it again, though, unless they offered a deal on rates.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently (Feb 17 - March 5 2013 ) stayed at the Grotto Bay. The weather was disappointing , but it is early in their season . We stayed on an all inclusive basis which we felt offered good value with the food from a limited menu ( no harm in that and always offering a daily soup , " catch " and "highlight " in the evening ) above expectations , . The staff in the dining rooms were without exception charming and attentive, dealing with the aging British probably gave a respite from some of the others . Our tour company (Saga) rep just delightful .
There are plenty of facilities , enough space , pleasant grounds and can see it would be a good family resort - when the weather is right . We had a room overlooking the bay and the causeway - little if any traffic noise and despite the proximity of the airport - little noise from that either. The island bus service is just fine with the hotel well positioned for regular services . There are plenty of walking opportunities - including a 24 mile redundant railway track often becoming a coastal path - and the condition of the golf courses and panoramas from the courses jaw droppingly stunning .
But two major hangups with the hotel for those on a long (ish) stay . -- Firstly incessant , screeching , toneless jazz through all public areas at all times 24/7 - from an internet radio source . Not even a variety of music to include easy listening or light classical . At times we had to pluck up courage to walk into a public room . The staff in the restaurants did from turn the volume down - but the management and the reception desk seemed ambivalent and refused to allow variety.
Secondly the rooms - some recently redocorated and refurbished - looked good - and the 75 watt reading lights over the bed should have been good enough - but ours (420) had thick , heavy ,brown metal lampshapes which virtually cut the light out . The only adequte light was in the bathroom , pity as the room was big enough to accomodate certainly one fireside type chair with a standard lamp if not two . The communal chairs in the reception area were well used and well worn but the leather chairs by the wood effect gas fire are in a better state of repair.

Room Tip: If you have limited mobility ask for a room near the reception house . There are some steep hills a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
6.5 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,630 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.