We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Bermuda & Its People” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grotto Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Grotto Bay Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Get up to 30% Off Room
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved Bermuda & Its People”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just spent 4 nights for the first time. We found the room very clean. The Bellmen were extremely helpful. We enjoyed the continental breakfast in the bar area as a option to the full buffet. Dinner was enjoyable in both dining areas. The only problem we had was getting information from the front desk staff or missing concierge. However, bellmen filled in for us in getting information about the area. The pool was open...and some very brave hearts tried it...a little to cool for water sports for me in January.

Overall we found that the Grotto meant our needs, and would return again. Bermuda is an extremely safe and friendly island! We are now big fans of this area and plan to return!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    649
    203
    85
    54
See reviews for
390
769
63
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

PROS

The wait staff and their service was impeccable. Well trained, prompt, courteous. Everything that would be expected and more. Always willing to do more than asked. Extra applause to Christian, Wayne, Will, Victor, Veronica, Dawoud - your efforts were exceptional.

Guest Services (Effie) - well informed. Suggestions on taxi tour and set up of the aforementioned were spot on.

Bell Services - courteous, efficient.


CONS

Front Desk - arrogant and poorly trained. It didn't matter at what time of the day or who it was that was there. I've never had the experience at a front desk of a supposed world class hotel to be speaking to someone and have them turn their back mid conversation. Very rude. No understanding of the basics of customer service.
You never know who you are speaking with. As part of a communications company that numbers over 40,000 strong nationwide, you can bet that information such as this goes viral especially when delivered by one of the Division Heads.

Rooms- The rooms we booked are in need of an update. Walls are paper thin, mini-fridge is very noisy and there always seemed to be a prevailing dampness, so much so that it took 3 days for clothes to fully dry.

CONCLUSION

We will not be going back to the Grotto Bay Resort. Our next venture into Bermuda will be better spent elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you're expectations are for luxury, do not choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3413jpm, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Wish to apologize for the service you received at our Front Desk as well as thank you for your comments. Be assured that your comments will be shared with Front Desk Agents and corrective action will be taken. Regarding walls being paper thin: walls are made out of concrete block, a traditional Bermudian construction method. Unfortunately concrete is not the best sound insulator but stands up well in case of a hurricane. Pleased to inform that we are close to finishing refurbishment of all guestrooms. Do hope you will give us another chance in the future since I know you will be pleased with changes made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banchory, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed at this Hotel at the end of November 2012 for a week and was totally amazed by the friendliness of the staff and management......................it was like being part of one big family!!! Nothing was too much bother :)
The weather was rather mixed but the transport system was so easy and pleasant to use we were out exploring every day--Bermuda is one of the friendliest countries I have ever been to--and I've been to many.
We were on an all inclusive package and for what we received was a fantastic deal--infact have never eaten so much food in my life. The breakfast were great and there was really no need for lunch but somehow we squeezed it in on a couple of occasions....... Dinner was great and the food was very tasty. The International buffet night was a sight to see. And as for the cocktails at night I never knew there were so many to try.
The grounds of the Hotel were well kept and the chickens were a very interesting added feature!!
For those of you who have been dissapointed with your stay here--SHAME ON YOU! This maynot be the most expensive or fanciest Hotel on the Island but I would rather be here than just a room number any day..................
My experience was so great in fact that I am returning in may for 10 days with my husband and I cannot wait.

Room Tip: Top floor is good as then you will not hear anyone clip clopping aboove you at strange hours of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is my second time visiting the island and my first time to Grotto Bay. Mr. Darrell the manager took wonderful care of us as did all the staff at the resort. The lobby is just beautiful with a very laid back, breezy feel. My husband and I really love all the use of the beautiful woods throughout the resort that they use. We were very happy with the food at the resort. We were on a breakfast plan and found it delicious! We also did buffet lunch and a la carte dinner at the resort and found the food just wonderful and we are picky eaters! Some complained about the prices but you can't bet $14.99 for a lunch buffett! We were very satisfied. The grounds are meticulous, rooms as well. We had an oceanfront room with the most beautiful views. Being so close to the airport, not an issue at all, in fact we enjoyed watching the planes take off, hardly any noise at all. The private gem of this resort are the caves that lurk beneath. They are just so beautiful, truely not something you can see everyday, never mind at a resort! Spend the extra money and do a massage in them, my husband and I did it and both agreed it was a memorable experiance. Getting into town, not a problem with the bus stopping right infront of the resort every 15 minutes or so, and so cheap to get around the island this way! We would love to come back to Grotto Bay, and would highly recommend the resort to others...

Room Tip: Ask to be in the 400 block rooms, very quiet and oceanfront!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hockley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

just returned from a weeks stay service and staff first class i have stayed in many hotels around the world and grotto bay is my favorite experience the food and the staff are first class nothing is to much trouble we booked superior sea view worth the extra - bus stop with good service right outside hotel. Some signs of wear and tear in reception area but minimal only downside of visiting Jan to March many places outside hotel are closed. Local are polite and very friendly. would definately visit again but in mid season as more to do outside hotel. Nice for relaxing winter break if you do not want to sightsee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I were not greeted, felt really unconfortable from the monment we got on the inside

Unfriendly customer service, everything had some type of surcharge, even to use the tennis courts!?? TV stations constantly froze up, especially at night time. The rooms were clean but extremely outdated and noticeable wear and tear. The walls are paper thin. The bathroom was okay and up to date. The rental equipment was horrible, the pool was okay. The cave located on the property is not worth seeing poor lighting, "one of the reason I chose Grotto Bay", but you are better off just going to see the Crystal Caves which is right around the corner cost about 25 to see both caves.

Bottle of water at the hotel $3.50, there were no vending machines
Tennis court $10 per hour to use
2.50 surcharge to use your calling card from the room to make long distance calls
Bed size extremely small
No Microwave in the room
Refrigerator extremely loud, had to unplug it.
No soap in the bathroom just shampoo.
Extremely bored at night time.

NOW the Hamilton Princess

I left there and stayed at the Hamilton Princess, this hotel is extremely nice cost a little bit more but well worth the $$. Please heed my word, well with the money. It was like 250 a night but , they have big LCD TV, fresh sheets ,soft pillows, robes, food in the refrig, free activies, a mini putting green, great food, free transportation to there sister hotel. live music, stores all through the hotel Everything in the hotel was NEW and UPDATED. All around an awesome experience. Live music closer to life and civialization.

Room Tip: Dont do Grotto Do Hamilton Princess, or check for another resort. You get to use both hotels when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3413jpm, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Realy disappointed to read your comments since it is our goal to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us which is reflected in the numerous other postings by other guests who thoroughly enjoy our facilities and service. Pleased to inform you that we are in the process of changing from sattelite TV to cable TV which will eliminate "freezing" of picture due to weather as well as installing large flat screen TV's in all of our rooms. There are 10 vending machines available to our guests. Regarding charges for additional services: please be informed that we offer an All Inclusive Supplement which includes Tennis, breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as watersports rentals and alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages for $99.00 per person per day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our first time going to Bermuda and we chose Grotto bay due to the all-inclusive package. The food was very good, but do note that the poolside bar and grill is not open during this season. So during the nice days we had to spend our time running up the stairs to get drinks while sitting by the pool. This is no short walk and your drink is half melted by the time you return. For the first two days we were there, it seemed the census was very low, and the only place to eat for dinner was the Hisbiscus room. The food does get boring after a few days. After the third day of being there the census seemed to pick up and the night we decided to eat elsewhere due to being tired of the same old options, they opened the dinner buffet as well. I was a little annoyed that we were not given this option. The all inclusive is a must if you dont plan on leaving the resort because the food otherwise is very expensive. Breakfast buffet for two was $39.00. The food was excellent though!!
Also for the first two days when the weather was actually nice we noticed the pool was not heated. We thought that this was just the case in the winter, but then decided to ask about it. Hours later the pool was warm like bath water. They must have felt that there weren't enough people to bother heating it. So we never did get to use it.
In the all inclusive package it says free water sports but they dont tell you that the place isnt even open, so the days that were in the 70's and we would have liked to kayak, that was not an option. These were the only negatives about staying. Also know that the all inclusive is on their time, not yours so you have to eat during the designated times.
The breakfast buffet was awesome! Rooms were very nice!
If you are looking for some places to explore check out the park that is about a block from the hotel. You just go to the end of Grotto bays drive way and take a left. Once your at the gas station cross the road and the park is basically right there. Its free, has a paved walking area but also has little trails to explore. We found some amazing caves with fresh water in them. One cave even has a deck to sit on. This is a must see!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton Parish
6.2 mi away
Royal Palms Hotel
Royal Palms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hamilton
5.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rosewood Tucker's Point
Rosewood Tucker's Point
#1 of 2 in Hamilton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 401 reviews
6.5 mi away
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
Newstead Belmont Hills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Paget Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Fairmont Southampton
Fairmont Southampton
#3 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,539 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Reefs
The Reefs
#2 of 3 in Southampton Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cambridge Beaches
Cambridge Beaches
#1 of 3 in Sandys Parish
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service resort nestled amid 21 acres along the water's edge featuring three restaurants, two bars, water sports, dive shop, tennis facilities, cycle livery, three beaches, children's playground as well as our unique Natura Spa located in one of our Grottos. Resort features Room only, Breakfast Plan, Breakfast and Dinner Plan as well as All Inclusive Supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.