We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel with friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grotto Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Grotto Bay Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free WiFi
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
hockley
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“excellent hotel with friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

just returned from a weeks stay service and staff first class i have stayed in many hotels around the world and grotto bay is my favorite experience the food and the staff are first class nothing is to much trouble we booked superior sea view worth the extra - bus stop with good service right outside hotel. Some signs of wear and tear in reception area but minimal only downside of visiting Jan to March many places outside hotel are closed. Local are polite and very friendly. would definately visit again but in mid season as more to do outside hotel. Nice for relaxing winter break if you do not want to sightsee.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    595
    190
    83
    53
See reviews for
352
687
59
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My wife and I were not greeted, felt really unconfortable from the monment we got on the inside

Unfriendly customer service, everything had some type of surcharge, even to use the tennis courts!?? TV stations constantly froze up, especially at night time. The rooms were clean but extremely outdated and noticeable wear and tear. The walls are paper thin. The bathroom was okay and up to date. The rental equipment was horrible, the pool was okay. The cave located on the property is not worth seeing poor lighting, "one of the reason I chose Grotto Bay", but you are better off just going to see the Crystal Caves which is right around the corner cost about 25 to see both caves.

Bottle of water at the hotel $3.50, there were no vending machines
Tennis court $10 per hour to use
2.50 surcharge to use your calling card from the room to make long distance calls
Bed size extremely small
No Microwave in the room
Refrigerator extremely loud, had to unplug it.
No soap in the bathroom just shampoo.
Extremely bored at night time.

NOW the Hamilton Princess

I left there and stayed at the Hamilton Princess, this hotel is extremely nice cost a little bit more but well worth the $$. Please heed my word, well with the money. It was like 250 a night but , they have big LCD TV, fresh sheets ,soft pillows, robes, food in the refrig, free activies, a mini putting green, great food, free transportation to there sister hotel. live music, stores all through the hotel Everything in the hotel was NEW and UPDATED. All around an awesome experience. Live music closer to life and civialization.

Room Tip: Dont do Grotto Do Hamilton Princess, or check for another resort. You get to use both hotels when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3413jpm, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Realy disappointed to read your comments since it is our goal to ensure our guests enjoy their stay with us which is reflected in the numerous other postings by other guests who thoroughly enjoy our facilities and service. Pleased to inform you that we are in the process of changing from sattelite TV to cable TV which will eliminate "freezing" of picture due to weather as well as installing large flat screen TV's in all of our rooms. There are 10 vending machines available to our guests. Regarding charges for additional services: please be informed that we offer an All Inclusive Supplement which includes Tennis, breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as watersports rentals and alcoholic and non alcoholic beverages for $99.00 per person per day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our first time going to Bermuda and we chose Grotto bay due to the all-inclusive package. The food was very good, but do note that the poolside bar and grill is not open during this season. So during the nice days we had to spend our time running up the stairs to get drinks while sitting by the pool. This is no short walk and your drink is half melted by the time you return. For the first two days we were there, it seemed the census was very low, and the only place to eat for dinner was the Hisbiscus room. The food does get boring after a few days. After the third day of being there the census seemed to pick up and the night we decided to eat elsewhere due to being tired of the same old options, they opened the dinner buffet as well. I was a little annoyed that we were not given this option. The all inclusive is a must if you dont plan on leaving the resort because the food otherwise is very expensive. Breakfast buffet for two was $39.00. The food was excellent though!!
Also for the first two days when the weather was actually nice we noticed the pool was not heated. We thought that this was just the case in the winter, but then decided to ask about it. Hours later the pool was warm like bath water. They must have felt that there weren't enough people to bother heating it. So we never did get to use it.
In the all inclusive package it says free water sports but they dont tell you that the place isnt even open, so the days that were in the 70's and we would have liked to kayak, that was not an option. These were the only negatives about staying. Also know that the all inclusive is on their time, not yours so you have to eat during the designated times.
The breakfast buffet was awesome! Rooms were very nice!
If you are looking for some places to explore check out the park that is about a block from the hotel. You just go to the end of Grotto bays drive way and take a left. Once your at the gas station cross the road and the park is basically right there. Its free, has a paved walking area but also has little trails to explore. We found some amazing caves with fresh water in them. One cave even has a deck to sit on. This is a must see!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have to say that I honestly had a fantastic time here. It is in a lovely setting, on the beach. The food was always very good. We were on an all inclusive package, and while it was very good value, the food did get a bit boring towards the end. It is very convenient to the airport, and a short drive to most everywhere on the island. There are not very many flights in and out, so the airport location is not really a problem, but if you are bothered by noise like this, then it might not be the hotel for you.

This was my first visit to Bermuda, and me experience in this hotel will bring me back.

Try to get a room with a sea view, it is beautiful.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

we arrived the evening before christmas eve 2012 at Grotto Bay a very pretty place lots of neat gardens leading to the beach which is on your doorstep the main building with the restaurant is beautiful with lodges around it there are undergound caves free to walk into and bus stops very nearby we could also go for nice walks quite near by the staff are friendly and helpful and so are the locals quite near the airport but you would never know it recommend all inclusive as we were its an expensive place to visit but well worth it

Room Tip: sandy lodge great sea view near main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We came to Bermuda the weekend before Christmas, 3 night stay, for a quick escape to start the holidays. As we learned, Bermuda is very SEASONAL, unlike the Caribbean, so keep in mind that our off-season experience was different than it might have been during the summer high-season.

Temperature varied high-60s to low-70s, with a cold breeze blowing throughout, and the water was similarly cold. Grotto Bay Beach has a nice (small) beach with a lot of available water activities, but in the off-season the bitterly cold water makes swimming and any water sport a pain more than a fun experience. We braved the water every day, more to take advantage of the beautiful clear water than to enjoy it, and emerged red and shivering. We even went snorkelling out to the sunken ship just offshore, which is surprisingly large and on clear days is probably very cool but the cold winds mucked up the visibility for us.
We had to run from the cold ocean to the jacuzzi which, thank god, was hot, because the pool is not heated in the off-season! Cold ocean, cold pool, hot jacuzzi.
Pool side grill and bar are also closed in the off-season, and only one dining hall is open at a time (serving the same off-season menu) so it is an uphill trek to the main bar to get any drinks by the pool. This didn't stop some guests we saw trying to take advantage of the all-inclusive they paid the extra $99/night for, who would take 3 beers at a time down to the pool for efficiency's sake.

Positives:
Room - large comfortable bed, updated modern bathroom
Friendliness - staff was very friendly and helpful
Spa - highlight of our stay, the resort has converted their best grotto into the spa, which is an incredible escape from the world. We had the 60-minute couple's massage, and though they charge an extra $20 to have it in the grotto it was totally worth it. Magical.
Location- the resort is a 5 minute taxi from the airport on a beautiful bay, and the proximity to the airport is barely noticeable. The Swizzle Inn is a short walk where we preferred to eat and drink (see: Negatives: Food) and the Crystal Caves is also very close for a great nearby activity.
Private- it may have been the off-season slow, but hardly anyone was at the resort so it felt like we had the place to ourselves. Nice change from the hustle and bustle of New York City

Negatives:
Food - the dining experience at Grotto Bay Beach Resort was sub-par and very overpriced. Arriving on an evening flight our first night, we had dinner at the bar which was reasonable and got the job done. For the rest of the trip, we declined to pay $22+ for breakfast and took our lunch elsewhere on the island. The one night we had dinner in the dining room, we regretted it immensely. They clearly try to balance the all-inclusive and a la carte options by charging ridiculous prices for entrees and skimping significantly on portions. The quality makes sense for a buffet, but not for a sit-down dinner charging $25-40 per entree. The only positive was the bread service. Our soup was served in tiny bowls. We had the catch of the day which was overdone and dry tuna (likely sitting under a heat lamp for god knows how long) served with marinara sauce and underdone boxed couscous. After seeing how small the dessert portions were on other tables, we decided to go elsewhere for our last course. As previously mentioned, the Swizzle Inn up the road is better food and better priced.

Room Cleanliness- everything in our room was clean, but we came back one day while the maid had stepped out in the middle of cleaning and saw that our cups and mugs were soaking in the sink. Signs of lipstick later made it clear that the cups and mugs aren't washed and exchanged, but just rinsed in the bathroom sink and replaced.


To summarize - lovely resort with some ups and downs, but would not recommend Bermuda during the off-season just because of the cold weather.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I'll say at the outset that the hotel's own website doesn't do this resort justice. So I hope my review - and those of others - will help to promote the Grotto Bay Beach Resort.

It is a lovely spacious resort with very well maintained grounds and blocks of apartments dotted around the site. We had a top-floor, ocean-view room directly overlooking the bay, with its own very private balcony. The room was very comfortable, with a decent-sized bathroom and good quality towels and spa bathroom products. Hens and roosters, along with a few cats, roam freely around the grounds. No need to worry about not getting a wake-up call!

The were some issues with the TV reception - which was also apparent in the hotel bar area too - so I'm guessing that was environmental, as it did coincide with a short period of poor weather. And, as others have reported, there is no free WiFi and the high per-device charge for access meant we restricted our web-browsing to cafes, bars and restaurants on the island that offered free WiFi to their patrons.

We were on a room-only deal. We ate breakfast twice at the main restaurant. The $20 buffet was very good value for money, with a selection of hot and cold choices that you would expect to see at high-category hotels in the USA. On our other three mornings, we grabbed a lite-bite at the hotel's bar, which was also frequented by the many flight crews who stay here. We also ate dinner at the hotel on one night. Again, the food was of a very high quality.

The staff are very friendly and personable, especially those in the restaurant.

Do take time to visit the small on-site grotto. A very special place.

The location is perfect. You can see the resort from the airport and, after a long flight from the UK, it was great to be in our room within minutes. You can't really hear the airport from the resort, in part because there aren't that many daily flights into Bermuda.

Four bus routes serve the hotel. Two in fact have the resort as their terminus. So you can be in Hamilton (where you can change for busses and ferries to the west of the island) and the historic town of St Georges very quickly. The reception can sell most of the multi-day transportation passes on offer.

We got a really deal from hotels.com (about a 60% saving) and given the high costs of the other accommodation on the island, the Grotto Bay will always offer a great value for money choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.