We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING location, VERY clean, GREAT staff -- will come back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grotto Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Grotto Bay Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“AMAZING location, VERY clean, GREAT staff -- will come back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Young couple booking Bermuda for March 2012 Break, having spent many years travelling to the Caribbean and pacific coast, we were pleasantly surprised by how we enjoyed the cool calm breeze of the maritimes longitude north of the caribbean.

Flight - West Jet
Room - NEW renovated, Queen, Waterfront View, Mainfloor Room
Ammenties - booked Spa - Mani and Pedi
Meal Plan - All Inclusive, Transportation included (Bus and Ferry Pass)
Activities - 2 Round of Golf at Kittling Ridge Golf Course and Tucker Point Golf & Country Club

PACKAGE -- We HIGHLY recommend you book directly through West Jet, so that you can upgrade to the All Inclusive Meal and Travel package. Having read reviews through Frommers and spoken to friends who have travelled, Bermuda is very pricey and you will want to upgrade if you can. We paid an extra 400 for the 4 days (100 per day) per person for the All Inclusive package which included: All Meals (breakfast - buffet/alacarte, Lunch - restaurant and Dinner - both restaurants), All Alcoholic and Non-Alcoholic Drinks, Bus Passes (per person, all week), Ferry Passes and Airport Transportation.

MEALS -- Just the meals alone were 100 per sit down. We found this out, as we travelled into Hamilton and the main strip and found ourselves spending 100-150 per meal outside of the hotel. We at the Lobster Shack and the Purple Onion. Both were great, except the lobster shack was extremely overpriced (the lobster came to 60 bucks!) and the onion served us well but we missed having to eat at our own hotel for nothing.

ACTIVITIES - there are TONNES to do. With the bus pass, you can travel the ENTIRE perimeter of the island and back in one day. Of course, plan your days wisely allowing time to see each major area. The concierge was VERY good at helping us out.

GOLF -- you MUST golf if in Bermuda. We booked two rounds of Golf, each at different resorts. Tuckers Point, had by far the BEST view. Insanely goregous but a pain to golf. The holes seemed to weave in and out of eachother and it is incredibly windy so bring a jacket! They do not let you bring clubs/suitcases or food or drink on the bus so you must take a cab to the course if you have your clubs OR rent (this is smarter and cheaper).

The hotel staff was very friendly and the food was absolutely phenomenol. Very very impressed. All the breakfast items were made fresh - muffins, granola, croissants and everything else is imported. Explains why the prices are 3x what we are used to. All wines came from California or other popular regions. We looked forward to dining every night

ATMOSPHERE - good for couples and families. Not good for young groups or anything looking for a night life. It was VERY quiet and you will need to bring a book or game to entertain yourself. Think of it as a cottage in the middle of the ocean!

During the March Break it was chilly, but warmed up on the last day enough to wear a bikini in the sun. Lots to do and definately a perfect relaxing adult friendly and family friendly get away.

Room Tip: Close to main house if you want to get drinks and eat regularly. Close to the beach if you want to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    573
    188
    83
    52
See reviews for
344
662
57
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Our family of 4, DH and 7 and 16-yrs old daughters stayed here for 4 nights in April 2012 and had a blast!
Loved its location (with bus stops right in front), loved the hotel ground and landscape, loved the beach, the pool, the cave and the gazebo.
Loved the staffs, who are all friendly and helpful.
We sure will come back to Grotto!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012 via mobile

This spring break my mom and I went to Bermuda and stayed at The Grotto Bay for our second time. Our first stay definitely made an impression and we were so happy to return. Our room was amazing and had a spectacular view and we felt very at home. We stayed in the building with the 400's rooms. The weather was beautiful and had a blue sky everyday. We also went to the Dockyard one day by going to Hamilton then taking the ferry. I recommend checking the ferry times to be sure you get there at the right time. At the resort the food was delicious and we were excited for every meal. On saturday nights there is an amazing guitarist who plays and sings. His name is Spencer. He usually plays around 8:30 or 9 till around 11. It may seem late but he's totally worth it :) The staff was super nice and caring and always wanted to make sure that the visitors were as happy as can be. When you arrive, look for E. Michael. He's the hotel manager and will probably be wearing shorts. The other staff members that were also very nice were Christian, Jonee, Belvin. These are just a few of the staff members that were nice to us. There are many more but I just can't remember all their names. The pool is so relaxing and the beach is a perfect place to get a tan:) I also did a lot of snorkeling t the beach and in the caves. I would definitely recommend this resort, especially for families with children because I promise it will be one of their favorite vacations.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Went to Bermuda for short break.Hotel was All Inclusive and could not find any faults in the restuarants and bars. Varied choice of food and all the staff were very attentive and helpful. Found the pass for ferries and buses very helpful to get around the islands. As we were there at end of March the weather was a bit cooler and windier and the sea was really only for the bravehearted.Will certainly consider again but a week is enough.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool area would be nice in afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Grotto Bay is the best place to go to in Bermuda. They have the entire package including E. Michael who makes everyone feel welcome and at home. ! The staff is so friendly, food is excellent and they even have their own beach! This was our fourth stay at Grotto Bay and would not stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the best! And the all inclusive is the best deal which pays for all your meal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stayed here in March 2012 for four nights--surprise trip for my milestone birthday with my husband and two children ages 6 and 8. All the ingredients are there for this place to be super, but it comes down to all of the people giving a darn about their resort. And they don't.
We were in the St. David building. Our room was clean, no bugs, had a lovely view, balcony. Very (very) small television which when lying in bed was at the end of the spectrum of big enough to see. There was enough dresser space, closet, safe in the room. Had a horrible time getting towels!!! Requested as soon as we got to the room--there were TWO BATH TOWELS for four people. We assumed they did not provide hand towels, bath mat, or wash cloths so we improvised and used our clean socks as wash cloths. Two days later we got a full compliment of towels from our *very nice* housekeeper who seemed to be trying hard to make up for the lack. We go the towels after asking multiple times from the front desk. We didn't get much noise from other guests, but the resort was not too crowded and it seemed like they made attempts to leave empty rooms between occupied rooms.
The resort offers a meal plan that is very very expensive. We're not all-you-can-eat kind of people, so this held no appeal for us. But the first morning we went up to the main building for breakfast we were faced with $50 pp for breakfast if we weren't on the meal plan. <--that's not a typo. So we went around the corner to the continental breakfast area. Which could have been really nice! But the feeling we got from the one staff person attending this area was that guests opting for this breakfast were too chintzy to spring for the buffet. We had the feeling sitting in the empty restaurant area that we were "squatting" while eating our breakfast. The offerings were okay, predictably overpriced. Bread, bagels, juices. Coffee was frequently out. And each morning I asked for something other than apricot preserves for my toast, I got a "nope we're out" once, I got one person to go to the buffet and he came back with strawberry (expiration date past due), and once I went over to the restaurant myself and a waiter led me over to the buffet and let me pick my own (expiration past due) strawberry jelly.
The pool my children loved because it was nice and warm. The bar was not open. Many of the guests barely tolerated the kid chatter. Another family that was there with their older boys was fussed at by other guests who complained that they could hear the children screaming from the main building. We quickly separated our children.
The last day we were at the pool and there was an employee walking around and he said "my boss asked me to come down here and take drink orders--would you like something?" which was odd. He'd been pressed into service obviously not his actual job but he was nice about it and a good sport. He took drink orders the rest of the afternoon.
The beach was never cleaned while we were there. Not too trashy but there was trash.
Also? My son lost his crocs and twice I asked at the front desk "has anyone turned them in?" and instead of saying "let me get a hold of the beach attendant and ask" I was told I should go find the person and see if he'd seen them. The place is spread out, with (like the rest of the island) about a zillion steps. I did end up finding his crocs. I ran into the attendant our last mornign there. He had seen them. He went down to the beach and came back with them. They were laying under a beach chair. They were still there because they'd never been toucbed.
It was a good value and much more reasonably priced than other resorts if budget is a big concern. Or if you're travelling with your children and don't want to spring for swanky with kids in tow. But it is in a bay with the airport on the other side of the bay although the noise was't bad at all. It does not look out on to the ocean but you can see the ocean from the main building and from some of the upper buildings. Our view was pretty of the bay--turquoise water, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3413jpm, General Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Please be advised that new 32" flat screen TV's are being installed as we speak, sorry they had not arrived yet when you stayed with us .My apologies for the shortage of terry delivered to your room. Please be advised that this is not the norm and has been corrected. Our Full American Breakfast Buffet is $19.50 per person. We offer meal plans as well as an All Inclusive Package. Our breakfast and dinner plan is $63.00 per person per day, our All Inclusive Plan is $99.00 per person per day. Both are very well priced. Your comments regarding our staff are discerning and surprising at the same time since we consistently receive numerous commendations by our guests. Your comments will defenitely be shared with team members and corrective action will be taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We visited Grotto Bay on February 3, 2012. We decided on Grotto Bay because we always love all inclusive packages when we vacation. It is def. they way to go. We loved the decision we made! We had such a great time!!! Grotto Bay is 5 mins from the airport. Upon arriving at the hotel we had a bell check take our luggage to the room while we checked in. Chrissy and K--- (forgot her name!) were awesome with answering all our questions and helping us out. The main lobby was clean and well decorated. We went to our room (Sandy's Lodge) and were not too impressed. The bed was squeeky, the pictures peeling, the chairs abused, etc. The view from our room was pretty awesome. We choose Ocean View Deluxe (it was the first floor on the cliff)..Superior rooms are higher up but same quality. The room was clean, just out dated. The food at Grotto Bay was awesome! We dined often in the Palm Court Dinning Room. Veronica was our hostess and was amazing. She always remembered where we preferred to sit. Duane and Cymone were the bestest bartenders ever! You must try a Rum Swizzle and Dark & Stormy. We went for four days and were able to tour a chunk of the island(s). Friday when we arrived we dined at Grotto Bay and then visited the Swizzle Inn for after dinner drinks. It is five mins away (walking) from the hotel. Saturday we hung out by the pool, beach and jacuzzi, swam the caves on premises...yes, they have a cave system under the hotel that you can explore and swim in! After the morning swim we ventured into Hamilton. We toured Fort Hamilton and hit all major site seeing points on our map (given to you at check in). Hamilton has tons to do- eat, drink, dance, shop! We took the bus there. Sunday was spent touring the Dockyards. We had lunch at the Frog & Onion Pub (awesome!). We rode the bus to Hamilton and jumped on the Ferry to the dockyards. Monday we spent touring the Crystal and Fantasy caves. They are 15 mins (walking) from the hotel and a must see! Overall, we did a lot during the four days and enjoyed every minute! The all inclusive package includes: food, drinks (non-alcoholic and alcoholic), bus pass, ferry pass, water sports. The room has a blow dryer, iron, safe, towels, toiletries, beach towels. There is a small store on site that sells a few souvenirs and drinks/ snacks, meds. I suggest purchasing souvenir's at the airport or in Hamilton. There is a small fitness center on site. The beach is small but very nice. Some posts report hearing planes (hotel is 5 mins from aiport). We heard NONE. Hotel is overall very clean, awesome staff, lots to do...great all inclusive package. As reported the only suggestion would be they update the rooms! Bermuda is a beautiful island system with super nice people. Enjoy your time, wherever you stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.