We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place might give heaven some competition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grotto Bay Beach Resort to your Saves list
Grotto Bay Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR04, Bermuda   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$150.00 F&B Credit
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“This place might give heaven some competition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Excellent does not begin to describe Grotto Bay. The staff are great, the grounds immaculate, the food is excellent and the location is great. The pool is quite nice along with a small hot tub and the drinks in the bar are pretty strong, There is nothing anyone can find negative about this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    606
    190
    83
    53
See reviews for
356
700
59
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Grotto Bay Beach Resort needs to seriously take time to evaluate what a real competitive hotel gem they could have if they did a few small things....the grounds are beautiful, but all the rooms and main areas are in much need of a facelift. I told the front desk on three separate occasions that the area approaching our room needed pressure washing and cleaning...never saw it get cleaned. We were told on check in that we were being "upgraded" to an ocean front room from ocean view...ocean views are second level, ocean front on main level...the views would have been much better being up a floor, and we ended up with our front door being across from. Linen closet and coke machine. I think it's a gimmick...the rooms are small, have old furniture in which none of the drawers opened properly, they were out of bathroom toiletries...and it was never really properly cleaned. However, the staff were all courteous to a person, and the pool and beach front, while small, was perfect. The bus stop is right out in front of the property, but know that it can be a hike for some to the lobby...uphill. If you don't like walking up steps, ask to be housed nearer to the main house....
We chose to not take part in the all inclusive plan...wanted the freedom to eat outside the resort...if you are a drinker, you might think about it...a glass of wine is about 10.00. The meals everywhere in Bermuda are wickedly expensive...we didn't get out of anywhere for under $125.00 for lunch or dinner...upwards from there with drinks. They do provide mini fridges in the rooms though which allowed for a trip to the grocery and some snack and lunch foods...
This property has so much going for it...with a little TLC, it could easily compete with the higher end resorts...frustrating when it would be such an easy fix.
I haven't decided if I would stay there again or not...it's about a 25 minute bus ride into Hamilton and 10-15 to St George's...I think I would probably stay somewhere on the south shore...

Room Tip: Ask for a second or third floor near the great house....And understand wherever you are the roosters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP M, Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Please accept my apologies for not living up to your expectations. Your comments are valuable to us. Please be advised that a major refresh of all public spaces is about to commence, You were upgraded to Ocean Front Superior, 1st floor Ocean Front room. Deluxe Rooms are on second or third floor. Glad to hear staff was courteous. Walkway and guest room housekeeping issues have been shared with Executive Housekeeper and will be dealt with/corrected.
Hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Again, my apologies.
Regards.
JP Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Chester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We enjoyed the beautiful accommodations and the beachfront setting and amenities during a recent four-day stay. However, when I discovered that my bill had been charged to two different cards (I was double-charged) and tried to get assistance on two consecutive days, the staff was not at all helpful in resolving the problem. I am still trying to get this worked out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JP M, Manager at Grotto Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Glad you enjoyed beautiful accommodations and setting. Apologies for billing/response issue. Not sure how this could have happened. Hope billing issue has been resolved. If not, please contact our Front Office Manager, Donna, who will deal with issue immediately. I am currently traveling but have given Donna a heads up.
Again, my apologies.
Regards,

JP Martens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Grotto Bay Resort is an excellent place to stay in Bermuda. It is not a luxury hotel but it is clean, has many of the amenities you would look for and, best of all, the staff are so friendly and helpful. The rooms are comfortable and all have views beach/ocean views. The beach is small but that's fine. The grounds are beautifully maintained and I enjoyed walking around the paths and enjoying the scenery along the way. I also enjoyed the food in the restaurant and the wait staff were excellent. They really understand what service is all about. I would return to the Grotto Bay and Bermuda in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Nice hotel, close to the airport, nice staff for the most part - some fantastic, some very difficult. The caves were very cool to explore. The pool was nice and the beach was small, but protected. The bus route picks up right out front and that is great for exploring! We probably wouldn't visit again because the local roosters were out of control and loud. Overall the hotel needs updates. While it was closer to the airport, we prefer the south shore.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Nice friendly place, best staff, best food ever !
All inclusive @ $100/day is a must if you plan to drink at all.
Dinner entrees are $40, lunch is $30, breakfast buffet is $20.
Drinks are $10 each.
Do the math.
All inclusive includes 2 rounds of golf anywhere on the island plus free bus and ferry passes which will cost you $4 to $6 if you pay as you go.s
Free $100 massage too, well worth it.
The best transportation system of anywhere I have ever visited.

Room Tip: Rooms above #400 have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for three nights in early March and had an excellent time. I love the fact that it is close to the airport (less than 10 minutes) but still has its own beach. The staff were friendly, the rooms were well decorated and clean (though a bit worn down as another writer suggested).

We opted against the food plan and bought our breakfast food in town (yogurts, fruit, etc) which kept well in the small fridge. Lunches were eaten while out and about in Bermuda (St. George, Hamilton, etc) and we had a few dinners at the Swizzle Inn, about a 5 minute walk from the resort. (Food there wasn't great but the funky atmosphere made up for it.)

Taxis are very expensive in Bermuda but the hotel can sell bus passes and the bus stop is right in front of the resort. The pool area was nice and the small beach was clean and pretty. There is a small gazebo that juts into the ocean where you can feed the ocean fish; I've attached a picture showing them devour a single chocolate chip cookie!

Not sure I'd want to stay here during the high season if the hotel was at full capacity (as I can see how this big resort could begin to feel very small, very quickly) but for our purposes it really was the perfect spot to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grotto Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Address: 11 Blue Hole Hill | Bailey's Bay, CR04, Bermuda
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bermuda > Hamilton Parish
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hamilton Parish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grotto Bay Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. and Odigeo so you can book your Grotto Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grotto Bay Beach Hotel Hamilton Parish
Grotto Bay Bermuda
Hotel Grotto Bay Beach
Grotto Bay Beach Resort Bermuda/Hamilton Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grotto Bay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.