We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food and drinks - not the best service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swizzle Inn

Swizzle Inn
3 Blue Hole Hill | Baileys Bay, Bermuda
(441) 293-1854
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
St. Louis MO
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“great food and drinks - not the best service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

the rum swizzle live up to all the hype and the food was great, however the service was lacking. we went on a friday night and sat for 30 minutes without being acknowledged. our waitress never smiled, never made small talk, and was very slow. I know it was busy, but at such a famous place, the service should have been much better. We came in on a weekday night and the servers were amazing, but not so much on that friday night.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    183
    77
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
vermont
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Don't visit Bermuda without visiting The Swizzle Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Swizzle Inn is a part of Bermuda like Fenway is to Boston; you haven't been to Bermuda if you haven't, at least, had a rum swizzle at The Swizzle Inn! There are 2 locations on Bermuda and both are consistent in quality of food & drink and both have a friendly atmosphere for locals and guests alike. Food is basic pub fare and BBQ chicken nachos rate primo in my book; okay, the grilled chicken salad challenges the nachos as does the Shepherd's pie! A pitcher of rum swizzles is the best deal for those savoring the island's specialty drink. On Thursday join in on Quiz Night and don't go expecting to win! The competition is fierce and the fun is had by all participating or sitting on the edge. Service is excellent and staff remember a friendly face. Cheers!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What's the fuss”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Knowing that the food was going to be Bar food, it's still mediocre bar food at best. The signature drink is sickeningly sweet, low in alcohol, and taste as if made by the barrel out back. I've had very, very many rum punches in the Islands and this is the worst by a long shot. I switched to old fashioned's which to their credit were well mixed but light on the bourbon and mostly ice. "Dark & Stormy" was more like "Dim and Windy".

For balance, it is a nice place to sit outdoors and the beer is nice and cold. Really don't know what the fuss is about. Anyone who was in love with this place either was in vacation euphoria or never in a good neighborhood bar.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Swizzle Inn, Swagger Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Mrs Too and I had our first lunch in Bermuda here on a gorgeous sunny afternoon in March. We had walked to the Swizzle Inn from Grotto Bay Beach Resort, on our way to the Crystal Caves, and settled in on the lower outdoor dining porch. We at first got the impression that we were being ignored by the three servers, until they realized that all three of them mistakenly thought we were the party of one of the others. Suddenly, all three of them were falling all over themselves, totally incredulous that it had happened and as apologetic as they could be. That little hurdle behind us, we ordered beverages and started down the very extensive menu. I ordered an assorted platter of chicken wings, while Mrs Too, always a sucker for a Reuben sandwich, ordered their version, which is made on a very tasty flatbread. Both were accompanied by a daunting heap of french fries and were way, way, above average.

Swizzle Inn is obviously a favorite with repeat visitors to Bermuda, because the entire front of the restaurant is papered in bumper stickers and other auto decals from every part of the U.S. and Canada. I say the donors of these must be repeat visitors based upon the assumption that few travelers would carry with them, for example, an alumni sticker from Oregon State University just in case they happened upon a restaurant which encouraged pasting it on their front wall.

The kitchen was downright swift, and the wait staff couldn’t have been more helpful and hospitable. If you plan on a visit to Bermuda, keep this neat little spot in mind. You will probably buy a bus pass which enables you to hop on and off at will. Thus, if you plan on touring the Crystal Caves, you will pass right by Swizzle, almost no matter where you are staying. The menu is a novelette, so be sure to check their website for all of the choices available. There was a fair crowd when we were there, and everyone was relishing his or her meal. Enjoy!

Your host is the second generation of the family which has operated there for fifty two years. As an aside, there is an interesting gift shop, where you could buy, for example, a t-shirt with their “Swizzle In, Swagger Out’ legend on the back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent family friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We ate here several times while staying at Grotto Bay nearby during a week in March 2014. Both my wife and our 2 kids (3 and 11) always found something to order off the menu. I particularly liked the Baileys Bay fish sandwich which was huge.

Service was always excellent both at lunch and dinner times. Pricing was on par with everywhere else on the island.

Don't leave without trying a pitcher of rum swizzle which is delicious!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swizzle Inn also viewed

Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
 
Hamilton, Pembroke Parish
St. George, St. George's Parish
 

Been to Swizzle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swizzle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.