We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“exotic italian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Basilico Ristorante

Basilico Ristorante
5100 Rutherford Road, Woodbridge, Vaughan, Ontario L4H 2J2, Canada
(905) 893-2774
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 183 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Vaughan, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“exotic italian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

You'll find this restaurant in a strip-mall and would surely be passed if you weren't specifically looking for it. Modern decor with authentic charm. Unfortunately, we were seated right next to the computer station so close that often times I had to shift to avoid the servers entering the orders all night. Very distracting. Felt like lil Italy as all the servers spoke italian amongst themselves and to us. Unfortunately, most of the time we had no idea what they were saying ;). A couple of us ordered the osso bucco gnocchi which was wonderful! Pricing is what was expected. Living in Woodbridge, there are plenty of wonderful Italian restaurants to chose from. Although this one didn't stand out from the crowd, we would definitely go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced and easily forgettable!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We were in the mood for some authentic Italian cuisine and we were very disappointed considering the prices. The pescatore pasta was terrible and extremely "fishy", the chicken and shrimp was burnt and tasteless... Overall there are many better choices to visit in the area.
Very disappointed!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We've been to Basilico many times and each time our experience has been wonderful. The food is fresh and tasty. The wait staff is knowledgeable and helpful. Their lamb chops and veal chops are out of this world. We also go every new year's eve and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“You don't have to travel to Italy to enjoy a fantastic meal..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

True Italian food and wine at Basilico Ristorante
Service was fine and the portion size is good . I had the duck breast and it was delicious....
The atmosphere could be a bit more Italian with music or art ...
Definately go again.....

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“JUST OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We tried this restaurant for the second time after a few years for an anniversary dinner. The restaurant was noisy, and more of a family place. There were children running around. Nothing against them, but if I go out for a nice dinner, I expect families to keep their kids in check. I had pappardella alla boscaiola, which I found average - a bit on the bland side for my taste. It was a disappointment as it was the most expensive pasta on the menu! My husband had the mushroom risotto, which he said was good, but he didn't rave about it. We both had the arugola and radicchio salads, which were good, and large enough for two to share. The service was good. I guess we expected more. We are both Italian, so when we go for Italian food, we expect at the very least that it's as good as home cooking. I don't think we would go back. Too many good Italian restaurants in the GTA!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilico Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Basilico Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basilico Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.