We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ice Cream” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Paloma Gelateria & Cafe

La Paloma Gelateria & Cafe
200 Windflower Gate, Unit 1, Woodbridge, Vaughan, Ontario L4L 9L3, Canada
(905) 851-5151
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 179 restaurants in Woodbridge
Restaurant details
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Ice Cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I went on a Saturday evening and it was really busy - the line was actually out the store. When I got closer to the front I realized that there was only one man working the cash registers. Also, it appeared that the cashier knew a lot of the guests so he was taking the time to speak with each of them without rushing and this caused the serious delay. However, when it was my turn I felt very rushed and he seemed frustrated that I was asking about the different sizes etc. The ice cream itself is actually good. They do have very limited seating so most of the people were outside on the benches and sidewalks - many were even hanging out around thier cars.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    8
    5
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Molto Buona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I like their ice creams and my favorite is the pistachio...Usually I go to the St Clair location, because is way more convenient for me. Most of the time is crowded with all ages group of people, but there is no problem because the place is big (big enough for the usual number of customers). It is a good sign of good service and products as well, right? Honestly it is my favorite ice cream parlour in town! I know is not an authentic Italian ice cream, but at least they work hard for it, and make me and others happy.
I recommend it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not the real Italian ice cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

If you have tried true Italian ice cream, you will know this is not authentic. However, the price is pretty high considering it's not the real thing!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The original Paloma on St.Clair didn't charge these prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I grew up with Paloma on St. Clair. Back then, it was affordable. Now, it's just a money grabber. The smallest of ice creams is just shy of $5. So for a family of four, it's very likely that you'll be spending over $20 for an Italian gelato. Sure, it's nice to treat yourself once or twice in the summer, but not everyone can afford ice cream at these prices.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“A taste of Italy in every cone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

Definitely "Best Gelato" outside of Italy. I just returned from Italy - what a cultural trip that was. We ate Gelato every night in Venice. I find La Paloma's Gelato comparable to what I had experienced in Rome, Verona, Milan. Of course, most of the gelaterias (ice cream shops) there are more like 'Mom'n'Pop' cafe/pastry shops with one display of gelato. You'll find a few larger ones like La Paloma in the bigger cities. Viva Gelato!!! La Paloma all summer long...until my next flight back in August.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paloma Gelateria & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to La Paloma Gelateria & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Paloma Gelateria & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.