We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Share the appetizer plater!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Gorgona

Taverna Gorgona
5047 48 Ave, Ladner, Delta, British Columbia V4K 1W1, Canada
+1 604-946-9111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Restaurants in Ladner
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Delta, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Share the appetizer plater!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Two of us visited Taverna Gorgna and ordered a small Greek Salad and one appetizer platter. Both were huge, very tasty and more than we could eat. Made a lovely dinner out. Staff were attentive and pleasant. Nice atmospher and there is an attractive patio available when the weather cooperates .

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    35
    4
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We came across this gem on a busy Saturday night, which can be a real test of a place. And although the place was packed and the servers working flat out, they all pitched into help each other and make us feel we had their entire attention whenever we needed them. The restaurant has a fabulous ambience, with lots of light streaming in from windows and an enormous skylight. The menu is extensive, covering just about anything one would think of for a Greek restaurant. My wife & I opted to share one of the platters, and that was a wise choice. It was incredible value, coming with salad, break humus, tzatziki, olives & bread to start, and a wide selection of food. The hands down winner was the calamari, which was simply an incredible experience. Lamb, beef, & chicken souvlaki, as well as roast lamb, rounded out the meat selections. Delicious from start to finish.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel in Ladner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

There is hidden jewel in Ladner called, Taverna Gorgona. The friendly servers are just amazing. They seem to know many customers by name and exchange friendly chat while clearing and setting tables. The flow of satisfied customers comming and going is as smooth as honey. The seafood entrees and west coast Halibut are melt in your mouth good. The spices excite the tastebuds and leave you craving more. The quaint out door patio with lush flower baskets and gorgous green shrubs is like sitting in a friends backyard. The warm evening sun and a gentle breeze made this a magical experience. This was my first date with a beautiful lady and she was so impressed with the romantic atmosphere. I will be a regular from this day forward. The young ladies managing this wonderful hidden jewel deserve high praise. The best food, great portions and such fast service. Kudos to the Chef and kitchen staff. I love this charming little Greek restaraunt. Robert Wilson.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Super friendly staff, also very accommodating. We love asking what is the waitress's favorite meal, they have never steered us wrong.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Three couples met for a pre-Christmas get together. Four of us had the special, halibut and prawns. All meals were excellent, as other reviewers have said. Large portions, good service and reasonable prices. We would definitely recommend this restaurant and would go back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Gorgona also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Gorgona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Gorgona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.