We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Texas Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escondida Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Medina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Escondida Resort
Save
You added Escondida Resort to your Saves list
23670 State Highway 16 North, Medina, TX 78055   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medina
Austin
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“True Texas Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Rented several rooms, including the owner's suite, for family and guests attending a wedding at a nearby ranch. It was the perfect choice--comfortable rooms, wonderful dinner and breakfasts, in a beautiful locale. The out-of-state guests were particularly impressed. The bride and groom were in the owner's suite which was spacious, plenty of room for the pre-wedding preparations, and the kitchen proved handy for creating some last minute additions for the wedding reception buffet. The staff couldn't have been warmer or more helpful. Made for a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    12
    12
    14
    15
See reviews for
20
88
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We went for a delayed anniversary and had a remarkable weekend. This was our first time there and we were welcomed as if we were family. The treatment we received made for such a memorable experience. Check in was so easy and painless. We were in room #5 and the room was fantastic, the fireplace was very romantic. The staff were so nice and helpful. They were able to work with us on a family member making a late reservation and they were in room #8 with a balcony from which they were able to watch wildlife. My wife had a pedicure that she really enjoyed and the spa staff was very pleasant. The food was outstanding. The ladies doing the cooking and serving were so friendly and accommodating, they made us feel very special. We will be going back, many time hopefully. I plan on this being our special place for anniversaries for years to come.

Room Tip: Call and discuss the available rooms. All are great and each has its own special perks and ambiance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Tx
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Enjoyed a great weekend at Escondida. Very relaxing and comfortable. The rooms were very comfortable and nicely furnished. Loved the roomy shower. The staff was wonderful and lots of fun. If a relaxing and peaceful experience is what you are looking for this is the place to go. Thanks again to Christie, Dawn and the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forney, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the lovely Escondida Resort in the Hill Country. What a pleasure! The resort itself was beautiful, but the view of the country and wildlife around the resort was fantastic. We couldn't have asked for better service. From the manager, including her "#1 assistant", to the groundskeepers everyone was friendly and courteous. Even though the resort was fully booked, the staff was most hospitable, and never seemed pressured. Great Hosts! The Escondida is well maintained, the rooms are handsomely furnished, and the food and service is excellent. This is truly the place for relaxing, and being pampered. We can't wait to plan our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, Texas, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from 3 nights at this absolutely wonderful hide a way. Bob Phillips is right! The hard part is leaving. The place was beautiful, well kept and service/food was unbelieveable. It is difficult to describe the visit without using all the adjectives over and over. We enjoyed meeting all the other visitors ( the place was full-all 22 rooms) but enjoyed most the hospitality of Dawn and Pam. We took side trips to the surrounding area, but would be content just to stay on the property and relax.

We will return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. Of course, the owner's suite would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We chose Escondida Resort as our location for our annual weekend getaway. This place is absolutely wonderful. The location is beautiful; the rooms are beautifully furnished; the food is fantastic! Pam & Dawn were fabulous hosts - they made the weekend very enjoyable. They are warm and friendly and were the icing on the cake for our trip! We have decided to make Escondida our location for our trip each year. An awesome find!!

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms - and each room has a different benefit - from patios to view of the hills a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I just returned from my first visit to Escondida but it won't be my last! I went with two friends and we had a great time. We did not have any spa services but we did hike the hill to go to the cabin on the land after returning from a day in Bandera. It's a bit of a steep climb at one point but well worth the effort when you see the view from the top. It was so much fun to gather with all of the other guests (it was a full house - I believe there were 21 total) at meal times and catch up on what everyone had done.

We arrived Friday evening and left after breakfast on Sunday morning so we were there for two dinners and two breakfasts. The meals are not served in a 'restaurant' but basically in the dining room of a home. So, you do not have choices or place an order - you eat what is served. I am a very picky eater so I had brought my own snacks in case I didn't like what was offered but all of the meals were completely delicious. It was like eating at my mom's house - delicious lasagne one night, chicken enchiladas the next. For breakfast, there offered scrambled eggs, watermelon, strawberries, yogurt and granola both days. The other main course one day was biscuits and sausage gravy and the other day was cinnamon rolls. We did not go hungry, that's certain!

The rooms were fantastic. The beds were very comfortable as was the recliner in the room. There is wi-fi access but no cell phone coverage which was actually one of the best benefits. There are tvs and dvd players if you want to hang out in the room but the scenery is so fantastic it's much better to hang out on the patio or out by the pool.

We had a great group staying with us. Everyone was really friendly and we enjoyed getting to know everyone's stories at dinners and breakfasts. And Dawn and Pam really made the stay special. Not only did they provide excellent service, they were fun to talk with, told us the history of the place and gave us some great suggestions on things to do. Before we left, we peeked around at all the different rooms to determine which ones we would request on our next visit! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escondida Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escondida Resort

Address: 23670 State Highway 16 North, Medina, TX 78055
Location: United States > Texas > Medina
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Medina
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Escondida Hotel Medina
Escondida Resort Medina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escondida Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.