We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Posada Don Jaime

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Posada Don Jaime to your Saves list
Hotel Posada Don Jaime
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Anton No. 24, 28200 San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
Guildford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Posada is situated in the town of San Lorenzo and is only a few minutes walk down to Escorial. The owner made us so welcome and the place is obviously loved and well cared for. We had an attic suite which was a large, cosy wooded room with comfy beds and a couple of armchairs to relax in after a days walk around the area. The bathroom was spacious and all very quiet and peaceful. The roaring log fire which greeted us each evening on our return from a cold days wanderings really made the place. The owner and his wife speak perfect English and were so helpful with local knowledge. This place is perfect for exploring Escorial, Valle de los Caidos and also the numerous lovely walks in the surrounding area. The long distance footpath GR10 runs through here and it is definately somewhere I would return to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
82
9
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester U.K
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed one night last August and it was the highlight of our tour. We always use T.A reviews so I expected a quality hotel, but the service from the hosts was lovely. We chatted and were shown the best places to eat. The motorbike was safe in the underground garage and we were no more then 2 minutes from the nearest traditional cafe. The old streets around the hotel kept us entertained all evening and we spent the next morning in the monastery. Wish we cold have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I just stayed in the Posada Don Jaime hotel for several days. I had a wonderful experience. First the hotel is very well located, in the beaultiful old center of the city, and very close to the monasterio and royal palace of San Lorenzo, which is the main touristic attraction of the city. There are also lots of restaurants and bars close, as well as a supermarket. Second, the hotel itself is very beautiful and comfortable: it is an old house tastefully restaured, which feels like a home, rather than a hotel. It is very comfortable, the bathroom is modern, the room is pleasant. There is free wifi.
You can have breakfast at the hotel, and I would recommend it: it is very good and very copious. The proprietors are very helpful and nice. During my stay, another patron had a health emergency in the middle of the night, and the hotel owners were incredibly helpful and kind, as the patient's wife told me. Hopefully you won't have to test them in such circumstances, but they sure make you at home. This is wonderful place, and if I am lucky enough to come back to El Escorial, I know that I will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What a perfect place to stay...close to Segovia, but in a smaller, quieter town. We were 4 adults traveling from Canada and stayed in the two rooms sharing the terrace, which was so beautiful and private. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. But I think the hosts, Ignacio and Esther, are what make this small hotel the best place to stay. They were both so friendly and helpful in giving suggestions for where to eat and what to see in the area, and spent a great deal of time helping us with the directions and itinerary of the rest of our stay in other areas of Spain. Breakfast were so good and filling, with beautifully set tables of fine linens and home-made jams. There is such an attention to detail!!
I would definitely stay here again if I was ever in the area.
Thanks Ignacio and Esther for making our stay such a pleasant one.

Room Tip: We loved the rooms off the terrace and sat there each evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was the perfect place to stay. My husband had a meeting nearby, and I was left to explore on my own for a couple of days. Ignacio and Esther gave me so many ideas, maps, historical tidbits, and suggestions for restaurants. They were the perfect blend of personable and professional, going out of their way to have something "early" for my husband and his colleague to eat before their work commute. The breakfasts were feasts of home-made goodness and service. Esther loves hand-made crafts and art and you can tell by the tablecloths, the paintings, and the balance of aesthetics to clean and open space. They have chosen art work by Spanish artists that is representative of the time the hotel was built so you are surrounded by Goya and also paintings of the monastary. We had Room 8 with a lot of space and a fantastic bath tub. After a day of walking, hiking, touring, garden sitting, eating, and more walking, a bath in that tub was a highlight and well worth the price. The other guests we met were all equally happy with this place and most had returned several times. El Escorial is worth staying in, even if you think your trip is mostly about Madrid or other large cities. It has so much charm, places to hang out and people watch, the monastery, and really exceptional walks in nature with incredible views. We would certainly stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

It is a delight to stay here. This is our third visit and we were not disappointed. The rooms are always clean and well maintained. We had a room with a shared patio which is nice in summer weather. It is a very short walk to the main streets and you are already in the middle of the old city. We enjoyed our hour long walk around the residential area where there are lots of interesting homes. Try the breakfast here. It is a little late for us (9am) but we had it last time and it was a treat! Lots of home-made jams and jellies, fresh bread and all the rest. Be sure to stay there if you are in the area. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We are a couple and like 3 and 4 because they have a shared balcony. 4 is larger and our first choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ochiltree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Very friendly family. We had a shared patio with seats and table. The room and ensuite were spotless. The owner was very helpfull and thankfully told us about a walk to Felipe II seat. The walk was approx an hour but definately well worth the views!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Posada Don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Don Jaime

Address: San Anton No. 24, 28200 San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > San Lorenzo de El Escorial
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Posada Don Jaime 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel located in a stately house in the historic inner part of San Lorenzo de El Escorial, in the middle of Guadarrama mountain range.The hotel has 8 rooms: 3 doubles, 4 junior suites and 1 senior suite, all with air conditioning, complete bathroom and suites with hidromassage showers or jacuzzi baths. The house has a garden, a mini summer swimming pool, sitting room with fireplace, dining room, meeting room, private car park, central heating and Internet facilities.Besides all activities which can be done in El Escorial and surroundings, indicated in our page, within a radius of 100 Km there are important historic cities, which you can visit in a very short time, either by car or train: Madrid (50 Km.), Aranjuez (90Km.), Alcalá (70km.), Ávila (60 Km.), Segovia (50 Km.), Toledo (100 Km.).We hope and wish you feel in our hotel like in your own home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Posada Don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Don Jaime Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Posada Don Jaime, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.