We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miranda y Suizo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Miranda y Suizo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Miranda y Suizo
calle Floridablanca 20, 28200 San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
madrid
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel is ideally located on a quiet, pretty, little street, near the bus station and a stone's throw away from the monastery. The staff are extremely friendly. The room was a fairly decent size, clean, with a good-sized bathroom. You can check in after 14:00 and have to check out before 12:00. The restaurant looked pretty nice and seemed reasonably priced, though I didn't actually make it in. The cafe is very elegant. My only criticism would be the breakfast, which consisted of a coffee, toast/a pastry and an orange juice. For what you pay to reserve breakfast, you'd be better off going to the cake shop just round the corner, Paco Pastel, which also serves an amazing hot chocolate. And on the subject of food: there are lots of great restaurantes nearby. I particualry liked Yamaoka (Japanese, in case you hadn't guessed).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
2
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollaston, Northants UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

San Lorenzo de El Escorial is a lovely old town in a perfect mountain setting. Hotel rooms are functional and comfortable, hotel itself is in an absolutely perfect location on a llovely cobbled street with small bars along its length. The monastery is lovely to see and just wandering around the town the morning after was great, coffee and pastries in the sun. Nearest car park costs 28 euros for 24 hours, which is quite pricey, but very convenient. There is street parking which would be cheaper, but this is few and far between.

Only downside to the hotel was the A/C unit was very noisy and our view was of the bin area! But we weren't in the room much, only to sleep, as the town is so picturesque.

Alot of the reviews we read said that the hotel was hard to find, but if you follow the hotels directions to the letter, you get straight to it no problems.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband's birthday was last week and since we are living in madrid now, I decided to make him a surprise and arrange a runaway weekend with him in San Lourenzo del Escorial.
The Miranda and Suizo hotel seemed very pictoresc and had good prices so I decided to go ahead.
Nonetheless I got very disappointed for the following reasons:
- we arrived after 2pm and still had to wait for our room;
- the room was THE SMALLEST thing on earth;
- the bathroom didn't have soap;
- the lady on the front desk had to check everything we asked because she didn't know anything;
- the included dinner was from a specific menu so we couldn't really choose what to eat;
- we had to wait a lot to get served on breakfast and even so it wasn't a buffet. It was a toaster, orange juice and coffee or chocolate.
I am not a very demanding person and I wasn't expecting luxury for €90, even so, I think that are small details that you can always provide your customers without being expensive and that didn't happen!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. The room was small, but the air conditioner worked great. It's typical old style Spanish inn. I found that a very firm mattress was the norm. Don't be in a hurry for breakfast. The cafe is well known to locals and visitors were plenty on a Sunday a.m. The typical breakfast all throughout Spain is a crossiant with expresso. The manager was very helpful with quesitons. For this small town, the location of the hotel was perfect. We had a view of The Monastery of San Lorenzo. The room was very reasonably priced. If you are looking for luxery then best go into Madrid. The plaza with cafe's and quaint boutiques were only few blocks away. The best little boutique is right behind the hotel. If you come out of the front door, go around to the left, up slight hill. There on the left is an inside hallway with a few shops. The first one is loaded with womens clothes from Italy, scarves, jewelery, and purses. I had been there in 2005 and was happy to see the shop was still there. Most everything was under 19 euros. After a purchase they give you something free. My daughter got earrings and a lovely scarf for free! You know when you find it because the windows are covered in clothing.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of The Monastery. Don't be in a hurry for a second cup of expresso.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

I did not stay at this hotel. I drove from Segovia via El Escorial to Madrid, Spain, to visit the Monastery right next to this hotel. The gentleman I saw at the hotel reception, probably a supervisor at the hotel, spoke excellent English, was kind enough to look after my luggage for 3 hours at this hotel, for free.
I did not want to leave my luggage inside my car at the outdoor parking lot during my visit at the Monastery. I was really grateful to his kindness help to a stranger, and was very impressed with their good service. When I was inside the hotel lobby I saw the interior decorations of this hotel was very nice.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2007

I just returned from a week at the Miranda & Suizo hotel. Our double room was in a corner, with floor to ceiling windows providing a lovely view of the city. The room was clean and comfortable. The reception staff were helfpul and spoke some English. The cafeteria adjacent to the hotel was a great place for a morning cafe con leche and churros, or a cognac before bed. The location was excellent, across the street from the monestary and near shops, restaurants and cafes. We will stay at the Miranda & Suizo again when visiting the Escorial.

  • Liked — the quaint room and the excellent location
  • Disliked — smoking allowed in hotel and restaurant with no available non-smoking options
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Miranda y Suizo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miranda y Suizo

Address: calle Floridablanca 20, 28200 San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > San Lorenzo de El Escorial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 hotels in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Hotel Miranda y Suizo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miranda y Suizo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.