We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but would not stay out of choice.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida

Save Saved
You added Hotel Florida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Florida
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Floridablanca 12-14, 28200 San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain (Formerly Best Western Hotel Florida)   |  
Hotel amenities
Liverpool, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice location but would not stay out of choice.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We were attending a friend's retirement party not far from El Escorial and stayed at the Florida as it was the only hotel we could find with accommodation.
Other reviewers had summed up the hotel adequately so our expectations were not high and that proved to be the case.
Our big issue was, after booking a double room, being given a single room with a double bed crammed into it (without a word of apology from the staff- perhaps they thought we would not notice) .
Fortunately we did not spend much time at the hotel. If returning to El Escorial I would certainly try to find a different hotel.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a double ROOM - not just a double bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
11
34
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I am at a conference in SL El Escorial in Spain and the organizers put all lecturers in the Hotel Florida (yes, I had no choice). Unfortunately, the conference center is undergoing renovations and so not all participants could stay there. Where should I start...

The rooms are not clean. I am very allergic to mites and started breaking out the first night. The rooms do not look anything like what is shown in the pictures. They are old, dark and small. The bathrooms are tiny and if you want to wipe your bum, you better be a young flexible lad to reach the TP.

The hotel has no features, the breakfast is the biggest joke I have ever experienced. A slice of toast, a tiny cup of OJ (not fresh) and tea/coffee. The service is immensely incompetent. Yesterday it took me 3 times ordering until I got what I wanted (yes, I am a native Spanish speaker). Today it was a whopping 5 times and in the end, after waiting for 25 minutes that left me with 5 to eat my food. Did I mention the toast was burnt? See photo.

Stay away. I see no reason to stay there again. Ever.

Room Tip: book another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

The employee at the reception desk was very unfriendly. A young man who just cashed our money without any type of greeting or thanks (we are Spanish, it was not a language issue). We asked him the timetable for the trains, he told us to look at the local newspaper. The rooms are very noisy, you can hear your neighbors talk. Everything needs to be cleaned up, repainted, renovated. Breakfast is served at the bar wich is not confortable at all for a family with children.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

A stay at the Best Western Florida gives you a nice stay with ok sized rooms in a quiet town. Rooms size is ok, beds and tv are small, but ok. the rooms are clean and the staff is friendly and gives themselves time to help you, which is appreciated as a tourist.

  • Liked — cleanliness, staff
  • Disliked — to remote from madrid
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2005

You couldn't get a better location than this small friendly hotel only minutes from the Monastery of San Lorenzo. The twin room we stayed in was spotless and had a well-equipped mini-bar that didn't break the bank. The heating system was excellent. (A great relief as our visit was in February during the coldest weather and heaviest snowfall seen for thirty years).

We tried breakfast in the small restaurant adjoining the cafeteria and tapas in the latter and both were tasty, economically priced and served by a very pleasant camarero. This hotel was a much nicer experience than many four star establishments but the big problem is that there is no parking or garage. We had to park in a parking bay on the street opposite the hotel or in a public car park around the corner. Neither of these were a cheap option and the street parking required regular euro top ups.

However, El Escorial is well worth a visit if you like religious art and have an interest in tombs, as the Monastery is awash with both and it is only a short drive to Franco's burial place at the Valle de Los Caidos. Both proved to be a fascinating if eerie experience given the wintry weather and lack of tourists.

The town itself has many good restaurants, obviously catering to visiting madrilenos, and some quirky local bars and cafes. The plethora of graffiti which is becoming noticeable in many Spanish towns is a disappointment. I wouldn't plan to spend more than one or two nights here unless you intend to use this as a base to tour the other historical towns of Avila, Toledo, Salamanca and Segovia and then a hotel with better parking would be appropriate. However, there is a good rail and bus service directly into Madrid if you prefer not to risk the ever increasingly complicated road system which now surrounds Madrid.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Calle Floridablanca 12-14, 28200 San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain (Formerly Best Western Hotel Florida)
Location: Spain > Community of Madrid > San Lorenzo de El Escorial
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 hotels in San Lorenzo de El Escorial
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Florida
Best Western Madrid
Best Western San Lorenzo De El Escorial
Best Western Hotel Florida
San Lorenzo De El Escorial Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.