We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hosteria del Estudiante

Hosteria del Estudiante
Calle Colegios, 3, 28801 Alcala De Henares, Spain
+34 918880330
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Hosteria del Estudiante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Overijse, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Excellent food in a traditional spanish environment. Absolutely conform to the high parador standards.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    32
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food in traditional environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

This restaurant is a classic Spanish style that belongs to the modern Parador opposite. The quality of the food was very good as well as the service.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

One of the best restaurants I've ever been to. The place is very quaint and the service is formidable. The food is stunning, specially the meat dishes.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blythewood, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal, Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Our daughter is a student at the university in Alcala de Henares, and we took her and her host family to Hosteria del Estudiante for dinner. Her host parents had had their wedding dinner there, and their daughter celebrated her first Communion there. They told us that Hosteria del Estudiante is by far the best restaurant in town. We sampled Spanish cheeses and hams and had our first taste of Spanish migas, a homey concoction of chorizo and breadcrumbs that the restaurant elevates to a white-tablecloth dish. We had fresh fish and lamb, and ended the meal with the traditional dessert of Alcala de Henares, a creamy, meringue-y puff pastry concoction called a costrada. We were well-cared for by the wait staff.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baar, Switzerland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good service but the food is really not special!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The place is really nice and well located close to the city center and the university.
The service is very professional.
The food is unfortunately not at the height of the service and the location.
I had something that was supposed to be lamb but was more looking like chopped pork and tasting ...
Some colleagues had fish and it was really not special either.
There is for sure room for improvement on the food, especially in regards to the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hosteria del Estudiante also viewed

Alcala De Henares, Community of Madrid
Alcala De Henares, Community of Madrid
 
Alcala De Henares, Community of Madrid
Alcala De Henares, Community of Madrid
 

Been to Hosteria del Estudiante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hosteria del Estudiante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.