We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blake's Cafe

Blake's Cafe
9216 FM 725, McQueeney, TX 78123-3528
(830) 557-6335
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in McQueeney
Restaurant details
Seguin, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Always great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

You can always get great service and great food at Blake's. Bugers and fish are outstanding. Service is excellent. Cold beer and friendly people.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Truly Amazing !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This place is definitely a GEM !! My fiance and I live in McQueeney and drive by Blake's all the time. One evening we decided to give it a try since we will be moving North and will not have another chance to try it. The atmosphere brings you back to a local lake town feel....the decor is welcoming and the staff was pleasant. I tried Chicken Fried steak for the first time ( I'm Canadian lol ) and fell in LOVE....our meal was perfection....no wonder Blake's is a Landmark for our small lake town....loved it....this place is definitely one of our Fav Texas jaunts !!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
2,012 reviews 2,012 reviews
1,481 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 357 cities Reviews in 357 cities
819 helpful votes 819 helpful votes
“Had To Go To Blakes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were in the area and everyone wanted to go to Blakes. It was Memorial Day weekend and we thought we would not get a seat unless we went early. It was a Saturday night and we were correct as almost very table was occupied. We opted for several of the menu items with me ordering the shrimp and oyster special. That was a mistake and I shroud have known better. The shrimp were less than medium size and the oysters were uneatable. I should have stuck with my traditional ordering, that being prime rid. Those that ordered the prime rib received a deciduous piece of prime rib. The fried okra was a little soggy on my plate. The baked potato was fresh and recently baked. The grilled chicken was good and readily accepted by one at the table. There was fried catfish which was good, but not excellent. They serve three "chucks" or pieces of fish that does contain a very good seasoning and deep fried. In spite of the little ordering missteps on my part the meal was still very good and this is a neat place to stop off the beaten path.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Shining Star - Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

A step back in time. A slower, simpler time. Great ambiance of a General Store, but not. Nothing for sale here but good food (maybe a T-shirt). About 13 miles east of New Braunfels in McQueeny, it's WORTH the drive. Close to Sequin too. Great Chicken Fried Steak and other fare (see website for menu - yum). Some good food here. A bar is handy to help wet the dust in your mouth. A stage is also there, though we've never been there for any performances. We had a good time, good food and was welcomed like friends. Go for a scenic drive, stop by, grab some grub & tip back a cold one. You'll enjoy this dot in the road. Oh, and GREAT key-lime pie!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Casual resaturant with good quality food. Prime rib and chicken fried steak are great. Don't go expecting a gourmet restaurant - go to enjoy good Texas food with friendly service.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blake's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blake's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blake's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.