We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money at a a luxury restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Botrini's

Botrini's
Vasileos Georgiou B' 24b | Athens, Chalandri, Athens 15232, Greece
+30 21 0685 7324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Chalandri
4.5 of 5 stars 122 Reviews
Price range: $37 - $85
Cuisines: Greek, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
athens
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“value for money at a a luxury restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place wins over you, at the moment when a big plate comes with the shape of a world map and on top lie different starters tha depending from where they come from, they are place on the correct location on the map! You have to see it to believe it! The wine list is at what the prices were supposed to be everywhere. It is a common secret that even the most expensive greek wine is bought by any restaurant at the maximum price of 3-5 euros per bottle... then they sell it to the customer for 35 euros at least! But in Botrini's these wines sell for 15 and 17 euros tops! Just how it was supposed to be! A lesson should be learned by other supposedly luxury restaurants, and stop stealing the customers by charging 35 euros and 40! per bottle. We should sabotage these other restaurants and stick with water... dont even order a beer...

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    29
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Scientific execution and presentation.. Endless imagination.. Excellent value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

A seven one-bite "course" amuse buche" served on a glass map of the Mediterranean sea with each bite placed on the country of its origin, gives you a first idea of what will follow.

An incredible octopus starter, a plate with generous effort offering amazing view and taste 

Main course: sea bass with lots of complex peripheral garnishes, looking weird at first but forming a perfect combination

This is an institution teaching great lessons of value for money to the rest of the greek restaurants..

The sommelier worths a particular mention, but all the staff - despite their age - seem to be well trained, and they provide an excellent service!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice Evening & Great Value for Money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Party of 7 ppl. Everybody liked what they had that night. Great value for money.

I had the swordfish carpaccio. Yummy. And then the organic pork frm Corfu. Yummy Yummy. Finish was Tsoureky (Greek desert). Yummy Yummy Yummy ...

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens Greece
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Should have been better for a celebrity chef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Food was average and atmosphere dull. Pasta dishes and salads were predominantly served, but unimpressively

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A very pretentious character of the place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

My girlfriend new Hector Botrini(s) (?!) from his TV appearences and had read somewhere about the restaurant, so she proposed to go on Tuesday, Dec. 20, 2011. Since I had already made a reservation at a nice taverna near by, we decided to go for a desert water-testing visit, arriving at the restaurant at about 10:30. We explicitly mentioned to the door receptionist and a grim faced man who, according to our guess, was the manager on duty, that we had no reservation and that we were only visiting the place for a dessert. We were seated at a table for two of the main hall of the 25% occupied restaurant at the particular day and time, with direct eye contact with the kitchen, a feature which neither of us appreciate particularly. After the assisitant waiter's inquiry if we wanted carbonated or still water, offering no other simpler option (e.g. tap water on ice), the head waiter produced the menues. At our remark that we were planning on having dessert only, so we would need the dssert menues only, the head waiter, after a brief inquiry with someone "behind the curtains", informed us that we could only have a full three (or even four!) course meal. We found it very surprising as well as amusing, declined the allready served bottled still water and to the obvious surprise of both assistant, and head, waiters, moved to the exit, smilling with the stupidity of the establishment's management, which concidered that they could live without our money in their cash register at a difficult time for all restaurants in Greece nowdays. We also politely declined the resaurants cards for future reservations offered by the receptionist, since by that time we were convinced as of the pretentious character of the establishment, trying to convince the potential customer that they were something that they were not really , and that is PROFESSIONALS. So, we gladly activated our plan B option and went to the close by "osteria", on Kosta Varnali str. to enjoy their excellent desserts and warm hearted service for a fraction of, the mighty Botrini(s), price. As simple as that!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botrini's also viewed

 

Been to Botrini's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botrini's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.