We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the rooms are horrible” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stefanakis Hotel Apartments

Stefanakis Hotel Apartments
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stefanakis Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Stefanakis Hotel Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Afroditis, Varkiza 16672, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varkiza
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the rooms are horrible”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

extremely small rooms, the cleanliness was questionable and the beds were soo uncomfortable. we had to get a different unit after a few days we moved into the apts behind the hotel and those are definitely worth recommending, they are a lot more spacious and although the décor is totally dated it is definitely more comfortable then the hotel rooms. they are a good value but I would not recommend the hotel..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
14
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by family who live in Varkiza, one of whom was getting married (hence our visit). We chose it because it could accommodate our needs (rooms for 3+2), was located in an area we knew and was good value. although the rooms (in the apartment we had at least) are in need of a bit of an update decor-wise, they were well maintained, clean and spacious. A problem with the bathroom sink was sorted in about 15 minutes - on a Sunday morning!- and the staff were generally just brilliant. Breakfast was simple but fresh and did the join, and drinks were available to buy in reception at very good prices. All in all an excellent choice for a cost effective stay in a wonderful city!

Room Tip: Apartments have big balconies and separate bedrooms so good for sharing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Arm, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in the apartments behind the hotel--2 bedrooms, a kitchenette and bath, with balconies all around. The air conditioning was especially appreciated, since the days were quite hot. It was very convenient for a family traveling with children. The staff was very attentive and friendly. The apartments were on a side street--very quiet. A short walk to the beautiful beach kept the children quite happy, and the free WiFi in the lobby and patio came in quite handy. We would definitely stay there again. The pool was good for adults, but limited for children, as there is no shallow end.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This little unassuming "gem" with a big heart in Varkiza is absolutely great !!! Christiana and her staff are very helpful and accommodating, There is a very nice beach 3 short blocks away and a string of good eateries to pick from in the main drag. The airport and downtown Athens are one-half hour or less away ...

Room Tip: Rooms on the fifth floor have a unique view of Varkiza and the nearby sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This was our 4th visit in 5-years. It is handy for the airport and Vakiza has a good island feel to it. A beer by the pool and a swim after a long journey is just what we wanted. The staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast was OK however the bedrooms could do with a little bit of investment. Very good value for the area. We will return when in the Athens area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend. The hotel was in a very good location for us. Close to the beach, about 500 meters away. close to the shops,no noise at night, and a very good pool.
The staff could not do enough for you. My wife needed a hair dryer, they were all being used, so he rang his mum to bring one round.
The hotel itself looks a little bit dated but was very clean. Toilet and showers were clean, also as it was very hot the air con in the rooms came in very handy.
There was a small fridge to cool your drinks, the beds were clean and comfy. We had breakfast in the morning, but very minimal choice. All in all I would recommend this hotel for its hospitality and as a budget hotel, very good. If you are a snob and like 5star hotels don't stay here as you would give a good hotel a bad name. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This was our last of our five hotels for our seven day trip in Greece (Jun 5, 2012).
We chose this hotel mainly because of the close proximity to the airport. Great apartment, nicely located, lovely quiet neighborhood, and wonderful owners!
Upon being escorted to our room, we asked the owners about breakfast details to find out that they did not have yogurt. We received a call in the room about an hour later from the owner to inform us that we would indeed have yogurt. He actually went to the store and bought yogurt for us, now that is GOOD customer service!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stefanakis Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stefanakis Hotel Apartments

Address: 17 Afroditis, Varkiza 16672, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Varkiza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Varkiza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stefanakis Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stefanakis Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanakis Hotel Varkiza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stefanakis Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.