We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family of 4 iun Europe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Attica Avenue 40.2 km | between exits 17 & 18, Paiania 19002, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Paiania
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family of 4 iun Europe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is very basic hotel. Rooms are standard european size. The family room is good enough for 2 adults with one kid. There is no space to sleep for the other kid and no space for the crib. It's says non smoking hotel, but it smells like somebody smoked in the room before or on the floor. It's 3 star hotel by the US standard. Not very clean, curtains are dirty. How difficult to wash it from time to time? Bathroom is basic, TV is small and old, bed is clean, pillows are good. Internet is extra, busness room has it for free, but only one computer is connected to internet. Restaurant is overpriced for the quality of food. Gas station next to hotel has small cafe with same quality of sandwitches, but cheap prices. Hotel convinient for onernight sleep before the flight.Just 15 minutes from airport, but far from the city.

Room Tip: There is not much choice, the view is one side of the road or antoher. I guess the higher floors wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear AnastasiaP,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for we fell below your expectations on most amenities particularly on the room condition. These certainly are not usual and we will be looking into these further and updates will be considered where necessary.

It is only with both positive and negative feedback that we can strive to improve our service to our guests and I do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again. We appreciate all guest feedback, and strive to provide excellent service to all of our guests.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    150
    88
    41
    20
See reviews for
47
125
49
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel room was very comfortable. Everything else cost extra. For example, there is no internet in the room. If you want it, it costs 9.95 euro. One price no matter how long you wish to use the internet for. There is no breakfast included. If you want it, it costs 17euro. There is a little, claustrophobic room with no air conditioning near reception housing two ancient computers that guests are allowed to use for a maximum of twenty minutes or one half hour (I forget). On the bright side, there is a lovely bar with reasonable prices for drinks, and the free airport shuttle is reliable.

Room Tip: My room was near the emergency exit door. It was quiet, and I felt safe if I needed to evacuate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Standard Holiday Inn conveniently situated close to Athens airport. Much cheaper than the nearer Sofitel. Shuttle service available from 6am until midnight which runs at regular intervals. Our rooms were very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a pool and gym at the hotel but we did not get the chance to use these facilities as we arrived at the hotel midday and then took advantage of the express bus service (N95) which stops right outside the hotel and spent the afternoon and evening in central Athens (40 minutes away). Breakfast at the hotel seemed pricey (17 euros per person) but there is a much cheaper option if you visit the snack bar attached to the petrol station next door which sells drinks, sandwiches and traditional Greek pies. I did not notice any other refreshment facilities in the area apart from another snack bar attached to the petrol station on the other side of the road. We left early the following morning and the shuttle arrived on time. Overall a highly convenient, reasonably priced, clean place to stay near to Athens airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our flight arrived at 1.00 am so we needed an hotel close to the airport before leaving for Levkas. This hotel is a good choice for this purpose: low price and more than decent accomodation. The staff is friendly. Complementary services like breakfast are not as good value as the night stay, so is better to dispense with them.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear oriolsr,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We needed an overnight room in between flights. We chose this hotel mainly due to brand and the shuttle service. We found the hotel shuttle without any problems but then waited twenty minutes after boarding before leaving for the hotel. Not really a big deal but just for information. When we arrived at the hotel there were two lines for check in. Unfortunately, the staff person in one of the lines finished with a guest and simply left and did not return. Everyone had to move over to the remaining line. Our room was fine for our short overnight stay. Noise level in the hallway woke us up twice after midnight. The shuttle to the airport the next day left promptly and delivered us at the airport within 15 minutes. No room upgrade at the hotel for Platinum ambassador status but did receive a fruit platter and drink vouchers. There is a store across the parking lot that has several food options for breakfast and dinner if one decides not to use the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I needed hotel close to airport due to late arrival for one night only, before going to Piraeus port in the morning. As Platinum member of IHG program was upgraded to top floor Executive room. Got free drinks voucher and free internet that worked well. Room is not too big but clean, comfortable and well equipped. Bathroom was nice with Yves Rocher cosmetics provided.

Positives:

- Less than 10 km from airport, and much better price than Sofitel.
- Free shuttle to/from airport
- Bus X95 station in front of the hotel
- Polite staff
- Good loyalty members recognition (upgrade, drink voucher,...)

Negatives:

- Location is far for any attraction in Athens. Hotel is good only as Airport hotel, or if you have some business to do with companies located around.
- No dining options around - only gas station with small fast food/bakery style bar.
- Shuttle bus runs until 10PM only so not work for late arrivals.
- Expensive breakfast (17€/person)

Overall I was satisfied as I needed accommodation close to Athens airport, otherwise would pick another hotel for visiting Athens center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ( husband and children - 13 & 10 years) stayed one night here. I had to find a hotel close to the airport as we flew into Athens at 6pm and had an early flight out at 6.45am.

After a bit of researching, it came down to the Sofitel or Holiday Inn and I couldn't justify spending the money for two rooms at the Sofitel! The Holiday Inn was great - we found the free shuttle without too many problems - asked at the taxi rank & was quickly shown where it would be and sure enough it turned up in a few minutes. The drive was less than 15 mins.

Our rooms were fine - we were impressed that we had been given interconnecting rooms without having to ask. Beds, bathroom, facilities were clean, modern and comfortable. We also accessed the free wifi. There is an indoor pool, basic gym and restaurant/bar on site.

Ordered room service for dinner - had burgers that were tasty and not too overpriced - which was good given there is nowhere close by to eat. ( although there is a service station outside which my husband later found that sells snacks, drinks, wine and beer and basic takeout food)

We had let the staff know that we needed to be at the airport early the next morning and were promptly offered the 5.30am shuttle and 4.30 wake up call - both were prompt and reliable.

This was a great, value for money property ( before taking into consideration the money saved in taxi fares by way of their shuttle service! ) that I would without doubt recommend for stop overs in Athens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West

Address: Attica Avenue 40.2 km | between exits 17 & 18, Paiania 19002, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Paiania
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Paiania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOLIDAY INN ATTICA AVENUE, is the new 5 star hotel, built on Attica Avenue, the upcoming business area of Athens. It is only 8 min. from EL. Venizelos International airport (shuttle bus service on specific timetable) and from the National Highways (8min. from the OTE Building on KIFISSIAS AVE), and just 1,5km away from the suburban train. With its 180 standard rooms, 11 executive rooms and 3 suites, fitted with the latest equipment (high speed internet access), it proves to be a valuable tool to the corporate traveler.The hotel is well equipped (wireless connectivity) for hosting business and social gatherings of every description, with six flexible function rooms that can accommodate from 10 to 200 guests. Facilities and services include a fully equipped 24-hour Internet Center, with complimentary use for half hour per day. The RUBY Restaurant and GOLDEN Bar are offering a friendly atmosphere and ultimate relaxation to guests that wish to combine pleasure and work as well as to stop-over guests that wish to avoid staying in a noisy airport. The health center with 24-hour gym,sauna and indoor pool on complimentary use, offers the latest fitness and beauty services such as massage. All hotel amenities of Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue are well described in Ram magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens Airport Hotel Paiania
Holiday Inn Peania
Peania Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.