We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if you need airport hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Attica Avenue 40.2 km | between exits 17 & 18, Paiania 19002, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paiania
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Only if you need airport hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I needed hotel close to airport due to late arrival for one night only, before going to Piraeus port in the morning. As Platinum member of IHG program was upgraded to top floor Executive room. Got free drinks voucher and free internet that worked well. Room is not too big but clean, comfortable and well equipped. Bathroom was nice with Yves Rocher cosmetics provided.

Positives:

- Less than 10 km from airport, and much better price than Sofitel.
- Free shuttle to/from airport
- Bus X95 station in front of the hotel
- Polite staff
- Good loyalty members recognition (upgrade, drink voucher,...)

Negatives:

- Location is far for any attraction in Athens. Hotel is good only as Airport hotel, or if you have some business to do with companies located around.
- No dining options around - only gas station with small fast food/bakery style bar.
- Shuttle bus runs until 10PM only so not work for late arrivals.
- Expensive breakfast (17€/person)

Overall I was satisfied as I needed accommodation close to Athens airport, otherwise would pick another hotel for visiting Athens center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    169
    104
    50
    21
See reviews for
58
148
52
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ( husband and children - 13 & 10 years) stayed one night here. I had to find a hotel close to the airport as we flew into Athens at 6pm and had an early flight out at 6.45am.

After a bit of researching, it came down to the Sofitel or Holiday Inn and I couldn't justify spending the money for two rooms at the Sofitel! The Holiday Inn was great - we found the free shuttle without too many problems - asked at the taxi rank & was quickly shown where it would be and sure enough it turned up in a few minutes. The drive was less than 15 mins.

Our rooms were fine - we were impressed that we had been given interconnecting rooms without having to ask. Beds, bathroom, facilities were clean, modern and comfortable. We also accessed the free wifi. There is an indoor pool, basic gym and restaurant/bar on site.

Ordered room service for dinner - had burgers that were tasty and not too overpriced - which was good given there is nowhere close by to eat. ( although there is a service station outside which my husband later found that sells snacks, drinks, wine and beer and basic takeout food)

We had let the staff know that we needed to be at the airport early the next morning and were promptly offered the 5.30am shuttle and 4.30 wake up call - both were prompt and reliable.

This was a great, value for money property ( before taking into consideration the money saved in taxi fares by way of their shuttle service! ) that I would without doubt recommend for stop overs in Athens.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My friend and I needed a place to crash for a night, before catching our flight the next morning. Got a great deal on this place, so thought we would give it a try, and were we ever glad we did! We were expecting a dive, but found the complete opposite. We had stayed in Europe on the cheaper side of things, so this was pure luxury! The airport shuttle arrived on time, as promised. The hotel is quite aways from the airport though (which was fine with us). There isn't alot around the hotel, only a gas station and convenience store (which looked a bit divey from the outside but was actually clean and nice inside). We found enough food in there to grab something quick for breakfast the next morning. The rooms were immaculate, and incredibly comfy! I didn't want to leave! It was the first place we stayed at that seemed more North American than European, so it felt a little more like home. We booked our shuttle back to the airport as soon as we arrived, which I would recommend, as by the next morning it was completely full (so were the ones after us). Staff were really great as well. Can't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I stayed here for one night before flying out to one of the islands. This hotel is very clean and the staff is helpful and professional. The beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean, and the location is not too far from the airport or The Athens Mall.
The only complaint that I have is that the ATM was down, so I was unable to pull out cash.
As is customary with hotels, the minibar is really overpriced. No worries though, as there is a gas station less than five minutes around the corner that I highly recommend. We stumbled upon it by accident because we missed breakfast and were told by the front desk that we could grab some food around the corner. If you are used to the American-style gas stations, you'll be shocked to see that you can get fresh fruit sliced up and put into a delicious Greek yogurt at this one! There are pastries and a few choices for other snacks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is convenient for staying a night before a flight but service is horrible. There is no such thing as "service". Your existence is their inconvenience. Won't be staying here again even for a night. Would rather pay a little more to feel welcomed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear JApolanco,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and surpass the very high standards of service our guests expect.

I am disappointed to hear that we have left you with a less than memorable experience. I sincerely apologize for the lapse in service during your stay. We always aim to provide the highest level of service and deliver the best accommodation and we deeply regret that we were not able to exceed or at least meet your expectations on this occasion.

The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paiania hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is one of the best holiday inn's I have stayed in - I usually avoid Holiday Inns. It is an airport hotel located in Nowhere near the Athens' Airport. It has a free shuttle, hard to find, but free to and from the airport. The X98 Bus to and from the airport stops right at the corner of Hotel/Gas/Quick Mart and Freeway. Hotel/Gas/Quick Mart/Bus and Freeway are the only sights. Near the hotel.

Internet is pay for per device.

The staff is typical Holiday Inn. They don't do you any favors but, they get you checked in and out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Usually when I go to Athens I stay in the Intercontinental in the centre. But this time I had business near the airport so returned to the Holiday Inn.

There is a shuttle from the airport but I took a taxi. I paid the Athens fare (25 euros) as opposed to 15 euros because I felt it was unfair that the driver would have a short tip and then have to wait 3 or 4 hours for his next fare.

The hotel is nice. Rooms are spacious and quiet and there is a (small) pool. There is a rail station nearby if you need to go into Athens. Food is not so easy. I used room service but also picked up bits and pieces at the petrol station next to the hotel.

As a priority club member I had a voucher for a free drink - so I had a half litre of cold, cold beer. Most enjoyable and just what wa needed after travelling all day.

Room Tip: I had a quiet one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West

Address: Attica Avenue 40.2 km | between exits 17 & 18, Paiania 19002, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Paiania
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paiania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOLIDAY INN ATTICA AVENUE, is the new 5 star hotel, built on Attica Avenue, the upcoming business area of Athens. It is only 8 min. from EL. Venizelos International airport (shuttle bus service on specific timetable) and from the National Highways (8min. from the OTE Building on KIFISSIAS AVE), and just 1,5km away from the suburban train. With its 180 standard rooms, 11 executive rooms and 3 suites, fitted with the latest equipment (high speed internet access), it proves to be a valuable tool to the corporate traveler.The hotel is well equipped (wireless connectivity) for hosting business and social gatherings of every description, with six flexible function rooms that can accommodate from 10 to 200 guests. Facilities and services include a fully equipped 24-hour Internet Center, with complimentary use for half hour per day. The RUBY Restaurant and GOLDEN Bar are offering a friendly atmosphere and ultimate relaxation to guests that wish to combine pleasure and work as well as to stop-over guests that wish to avoid staying in a noisy airport. The health center with 24-hour gym,sauna and indoor pool on complimentary use, offers the latest fitness and beauty services such as massage. All hotel amenities of Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue are well described in Ram magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens Airport Hotel Paiania
Holiday Inn Peania
Peania Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.