We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Attica Avenue 40.2 km | between exits 17 & 18, Paiania 19002, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paiania
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Better Than Expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Holiday Inn Athens is a great location coming or going to Athens. This is not a, typical European hotel - much more American.
First, there is a shuttle bus at the airport that runs about every hour on the hour. That is a plus in itself.
The hotel is a very modern facility. The rooms are outstanding. The TV's need updating and the channel selection is sparse. Most of the hotels we stayed at while in Greece had a better offering. The bathrooms are spacious and a delight to use.
Free in room internet is not available. This is always a sore point with me. Holiday Inn Express properties offer free internet and free breakfast and cost less with not much discernible room difference. At check.in you can request a code and use the computers in their business center. We were told our tablets would not work but we entered the codes and were able to get on the internet wirelessly and use our own devices.
Stay away from the mini-bar. A can of coke will set you back 5 € (about $6.50).
Right outside the front door is a service station with a mini-mart where you can purchase sodas and deli sandwiches. Very handy.
Would definitely stay again .

Room Tip: I wouldn't worry too much about room view, there is really nothing to see. The hotel is in what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    212
    139
    59
    31
See reviews for
89
192
63
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Most of the reviewers compain about the poor shuttle bus service, we had bad experiences here in the past, however this time it was excellent. We booked for the morning shuttle as Greece was on a general strike and had no problem.
Restuarant prices are still too high.Threre is a fast food place at the garage a few yards away which has prepackaged salads and cakes.
The walls are thin and considering the great decor no money was spent on quiet self closing doors. The staff are very good.
The hotel is literally on a motorway with nothing near except the motorway and office blocks. X93/95 bus runs from outside to Athens and the Airport.

Room Tip: The bus runs from outside the terminal and you can buy tickets form the helfull kiosk if you miss th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I will try to be short. I only stayed for a short time, but I had a bad experience. I will make the main points:

- The room was quite nice overall, but at several places it was really dirty and had dirty glassware. Also, a few things, including non-vital parts of the toilet, were broken.
- The staff was either extremely professional and friendly or almost the opposite. This is not 5-star hotel acceptable.
- The restaurant served bad food. Probably the worst one I can remember in a hotel restaurant. Simple as that. And they didn't seem very bothered about it. The breakfast was ok, but dinner was frankly unacceptable.

These are main points. It's quite a nice hotel in some respects, but the low level of part of it makes a bad total impression of a five star one. I really try to consider a I higher grade, but with their dinner performance... It is just not possible.

Internet is not included but costs a 9.5 EUR extra. This has minor effect on the grade.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear N L,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the poor cleanliness, poor customer service and the poor dinner selection. We will look into this. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paiania hotels

Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I really just want to say the entire visit was disappointing. I am a Platinum IHG Member, so I can't imagine what the service would be like without that Priority Level.

I just needed a place to stay to get sleep before my flight. I knew I was going to be checking in late and flying out early, so I chose a hotel near the airport with a shuttle that I felt I could trust their service.

There were 2-4 choices that were less expensive, equal or higher quality, same services, and breakfast included.

No free internet. So I bought it. 9.5 Euros. I was told I was only allowed 1 device for that code and I was not allowed any other code.

It was such a hassle to get a key that didn't work for the first room. I will say that the guy at the front desk did run a key up to us for another room. However, it was only one...when I requested 2 and it didn't work. So I was left standing in the hallway for another 10 minutes while he went back down to get more keys to the same room. I was waiting for a room for 25 minutes after check in due to this key situation.

It took me over 1 hour to check in when all I wanted to do was check in, upload/download work emails, and sleep. Then it took another 30+ minutes to get the internet handled so I could rest knowing that my work emails had been sent.

I was also disappointed when I arrived because there were TWO desk agents when I arrived and they both were busy with something on their computers and it was almost a punishment for one of them to look up and check me in. Once the check in started I was fine but I feel like someone should have made eye contact and made me feel welcome. I felt from the very first entrance I might have made the wrong choice.

I rarely complain...In fact I usually like to send in complements more often than complain, but this was just too much for me to deal with. I feel my my membership and status is worthless at this hotel.

I would say it was about 1.5 hours of extra time dealing with things...when I chose this brand because I felt I knew exactly what to expect and it would save me time and hassle.

I will say the shuttle was prompt and the driver was nice. So this hotel has that going for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel was for my purposes (business trip for a week) very convenient to the airport. Shuttle service to airport is only about 10 minutes. And the restaurant is better than average.

However, I do admit to being something of a fitness freak and the workout room is pretty bad. First the hours are very limited (opens after 6:30, breakfast opens at 6:00). Second, the room is stifling. American College of Sports Medicine recommends the temperature of workout environments 68F - 70F (20C - 21C). The workout room had to be over 80F (26.6), and there are no fans, which really inhibits a workout. Third, it appeared as if the equipment hasn't been cleaned since Philippides ran past on his way from Marathon; the machines are filthy and there are no cleanup wipes supplied and no small towels.

Room Tip: to avoid a picturesque view of the gas station, avoid rooms on the west side (entrance side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Public Acknowledgement:

Dear sinodean,

Thank you for the review and your helpful comments. We appreciate you letting us know about your concerns because this helps us understand areas we can improve upon. We are delighted to know that our hotel fits your business needs because of its very close proximity from the airport. It is great that you recognize our restaurant to be above average, the restaurant staff takes great pride in their quality and service and it is lovely that it is noticed. I do apologize that our workout room fell below your expectations. I assure you that your feedback will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate department in order to address your concerns.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
244 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very nice hotel, but hotel promised airport shuttle service, but upon arrival at airport, we were informed the shuttle had ceased operations earlier than promised. We had to pay €30 for taxi fare each way. Tha airport Sofitel Hotel across the street is a little more expensive, but very convenient and no taxi required.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roorkee
Level Contributor
98 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed overnight and departed after breakfast. The room is good, The bed and pillows are great and you will have a very refreshing sleep. The Hotel is somewhat worn out and you see little compromise in the Holiday Inn brand name.
The Internet is not free and you pay 9.5 Euros for 1 Hotel Day i.e. till 12 noon checkout time. And the upsetting part is that if you login using your cell phone or iPad ( apart from laptop), they charge you again ( this is what they say ). I find this strange. Greek economy cannot recover by charging twice for Internet connection in one Hotel Day.
The Breakfast is really good and mine was not included in room rate and it was 17 Euros.
I even had dinner and the Soup with the Breads was great.
Though this is Airport Hotel, it takes a full 15 minutes drive. They have a free Green Shuttle which comes in the Parking Lot after you go right from Exit 5 of Arrival. It comes every 20 to 30 minutes.
if you go sight seeing to Patmos etc., you can drop your bag in the cloak room and when you return at the Port or anywhere , you can take a bus to the Airport and come back to the Hotel in that Shuttle and pick your bag and go back to the Airport in the same shuttle. This is a good service they provide.
if you can use buses and metros, then there will be better deals in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paiania
4.2 mi away
Sofitel Athens Airport
7.4 mi away
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel
8.0 mi away
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#2 of 2 in Koropi
3.0 of 5 stars 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Avra Rafina
Avra Rafina
#1 of 1 in Rafina
3.5 of 5 stars 243 reviews
8.1 mi away
Aquamarina Hotel
Aquamarina Hotel
#4 of 7 in Nea Makri
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
7.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel - Athens City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West

Address: Attica Avenue 40.2 km | between exits 17 & 18, Paiania 19002, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Paiania
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paiania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOLIDAY INN ATTICA AVENUE, is the new 5 star hotel, built on Attica Avenue, the upcoming business area of Athens. It is only 8 min. from EL. Venizelos International airport (shuttle bus service on specific timetable) and from the National Highways (8min. from the OTE Building on KIFISSIAS AVE), and just 1,5km away from the suburban train. With its 180 standard rooms, 11 executive rooms and 3 suites, fitted with the latest equipment (high speed internet access), it proves to be a valuable tool to the corporate traveler.The hotel is well equipped (wireless connectivity) for hosting business and social gatherings of every description, with six flexible function rooms that can accommodate from 10 to 200 guests. Facilities and services include a fully equipped 24-hour Internet Center, with complimentary use for half hour per day. The RUBY Restaurant and GOLDEN Bar are offering a friendly atmosphere and ultimate relaxation to guests that wish to combine pleasure and work as well as to stop-over guests that wish to avoid staying in a noisy airport. The health center with 24-hour gym,sauna and indoor pool on complimentary use, offers the latest fitness and beauty services such as massage. All hotel amenities of Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue are well described in Ram magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens Airport Hotel Paiania
Holiday Inn Peania
Peania Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.