We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convient to Airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Attica Avenue 40.2 km | between exits 17 & 18, Paiania 19002, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paiania
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Convient to Airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel was for my purposes (business trip for a week) very convenient to the airport. Shuttle service to airport is only about 10 minutes. And the restaurant is better than average.

However, I do admit to being something of a fitness freak and the workout room is pretty bad. First the hours are very limited (opens after 6:30, breakfast opens at 6:00). Second, the room is stifling. American College of Sports Medicine recommends the temperature of workout environments 68F - 70F (20C - 21C). The workout room had to be over 80F (26.6), and there are no fans, which really inhibits a workout. Third, it appeared as if the equipment hasn't been cleaned since Philippides ran past on his way from Marathon; the machines are filthy and there are no cleanup wipes supplied and no small towels.

Room Tip: to avoid a picturesque view of the gas station, avoid rooms on the west side (entrance side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Public Acknowledgement:

Dear sinodean,

Thank you for the review and your helpful comments. We appreciate you letting us know about your concerns because this helps us understand areas we can improve upon. We are delighted to know that our hotel fits your business needs because of its very close proximity from the airport. It is great that you recognize our restaurant to be above average, the restaurant staff takes great pride in their quality and service and it is lovely that it is noticed. I do apologize that our workout room fell below your expectations. I assure you that your feedback will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate department in order to address your concerns.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    176
    111
    50
    21
See reviews for
63
152
55
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Renton, Washington
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very nice hotel, but hotel promised airport shuttle service, but upon arrival at airport, we were informed the shuttle had ceased operations earlier than promised. We had to pay €30 for taxi fare each way. Tha airport Sofitel Hotel across the street is a little more expensive, but very convenient and no taxi required.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roorkee
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed overnight and departed after breakfast. The room is good, The bed and pillows are great and you will have a very refreshing sleep. The Hotel is somewhat worn out and you see little compromise in the Holiday Inn brand name.
The Internet is not free and you pay 9.5 Euros for 1 Hotel Day i.e. till 12 noon checkout time. And the upsetting part is that if you login using your cell phone or iPad ( apart from laptop), they charge you again ( this is what they say ). I find this strange. Greek economy cannot recover by charging twice for Internet connection in one Hotel Day.
The Breakfast is really good and mine was not included in room rate and it was 17 Euros.
I even had dinner and the Soup with the Breads was great.
Though this is Airport Hotel, it takes a full 15 minutes drive. They have a free Green Shuttle which comes in the Parking Lot after you go right from Exit 5 of Arrival. It comes every 20 to 30 minutes.
if you go sight seeing to Patmos etc., you can drop your bag in the cloak room and when you return at the Port or anywhere , you can take a bus to the Airport and come back to the Hotel in that Shuttle and pick your bag and go back to the Airport in the same shuttle. This is a good service they provide.
if you can use buses and metros, then there will be better deals in the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Positives:
Really great experience.
Free shuttle to airport in the morning.
Comfortable mattress.
Close to the airport.

Negative:
Only one restaurant in the hotel and it is really pricey.
We had to eat a little cafe in a gas station close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I didn't read the reviews first, which I should have done but would stay here again.
My main issue was with the shuttle. At the aiport there is no information about hotel shuttles. I went for a taxi as I knew it wasn't far. The taxi driver probably wanted a longer fare, so he told me about the free shuttle. Come through arrivals, go out to the sidewalk and turn right and walk up to a carpark area (not far) full of large buses (coaches). The Holiday Inn shuttle is more of a dark green 'people mover' with Holiday Inn well marked on it. I waited about 45 minutes for it to show up and started wondering whether I should have called on a courtesy telephone or something. It turned out there were others waiting for it too and it was full but left no one behind.
About 10 minutes to the Hotel which has well appointed large rooms and a decent shower. I didn't eat anything there as I had been on three planes for 20 hours and had been 'bordom eating' for too long.
Girl was pleasant at the desk and helpful as most Greek people are I find.

Internet has gone down in price a bit to €9.5 for a Hotel day which I think is 24 hours. Hope it doesn't reset at midnight. Bit annoying but more common to get charged in Europe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I dont really like anything at all. They offer you a shuttle service from and to the airport in their website, from 5:30 in the morning, but they dont really tell when that service finish. So when i sent the am email telling i was arriving at about 11:30, they could not give me the service. Because of that, i had to take a taxi that cost me 25 euros, so if put this together with price of the hotel for one night 138 euros without breakfast (another 17 euros) it didnt worth to stay in this four stars hotel. If you want to a night next to Athens airpor, just crossing the street, you have the sofítel hotel which is really a luxury hotel, you dont need any kind of shuttle nor a taxi. The holidays inn hotel is very poor and really ugly. I dont recommed to stay there!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Antonia-Tenerif... G,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I am disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay with us. I apologize for any inconvenience caused by our shuttle service. The Holiday Inn Athens Airport is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. We sincerely regret that we fell short of our goal in this instance. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paiania hotels

rochester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the very end of our trip before we flew back to NY. We had gone to Mykonos, Santorini and Monemvasia. It was so nice to have a large, non-leaking, western style bathroom complete with bidet! The shower was big, the toilet flushed properly, the water temp was adjustable, the bed was large and comfy. The lobby had airport monitors to see your flight status. TV with plenty of channels that actually come in. The restaurat on site was just ok... as good as can be expected. They try their best to offer regular Greek fare along with your typical cheeseburger and fries menu item. Fantastic black out shades. It's nowhere near anything, but who cares. There's a little cafe/snack bar attached to a gas station if you want bottles water and soda/snacks nearby. Airport shuttle runs late, so catch it earlier than you think you have to. Make sure you tell the front desk what time your flight leaves. Carries 6 ppl max so get in line.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West

Address: Attica Avenue 40.2 km | between exits 17 & 18, Paiania 19002, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Paiania
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paiania
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOLIDAY INN ATTICA AVENUE, is the new 5 star hotel, built on Attica Avenue, the upcoming business area of Athens. It is only 8 min. from EL. Venizelos International airport (shuttle bus service on specific timetable) and from the National Highways (8min. from the OTE Building on KIFISSIAS AVE), and just 1,5km away from the suburban train. With its 180 standard rooms, 11 executive rooms and 3 suites, fitted with the latest equipment (high speed internet access), it proves to be a valuable tool to the corporate traveler.The hotel is well equipped (wireless connectivity) for hosting business and social gatherings of every description, with six flexible function rooms that can accommodate from 10 to 200 guests. Facilities and services include a fully equipped 24-hour Internet Center, with complimentary use for half hour per day. The RUBY Restaurant and GOLDEN Bar are offering a friendly atmosphere and ultimate relaxation to guests that wish to combine pleasure and work as well as to stop-over guests that wish to avoid staying in a noisy airport. The health center with 24-hour gym,sauna and indoor pool on complimentary use, offers the latest fitness and beauty services such as massage. All hotel amenities of Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue are well described in Ram magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Athens Airport Hotel Paiania
Holiday Inn Peania
Peania Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Athens Attica Avenue Airport West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.