We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soooo overpriced for what it offers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Far East - CLOSED

Far East
Lazaraki 61 & Pandoras 5, Glyfada, Athens, Greece
Improve this listing
Price range: $35 - $55
Cuisines: Chinese, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Soooo overpriced for what it offers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We were looking for a good multi-asian restaurant in the south suburbs and Far East looked like a decent option, something that should be above the average greasy food most chinese restarants offer. We went there on a weekday, only 3 tables occupied.
We ordered a dumplings assortment, which came as 4 tiny pieces and costed 10 euros. The dumplings were not bad, but nothing special either. The maki plate consisted of 12 pieces, costed 20 euros, taste was fine, I really like sushi, but I'm no expert. As main courses we ordered a noodle plate with shrimps, which was spicy and dry (no warning that this plate is so spicy) which costed 13 euros, and a double cooked supposed to be crispy chicken, which wasn't crispy at all and the whole plate could compete easily to Noodle Bar quality, if you know what I mean, and costed 17 euros. We drank sake and it was the worst sake I have ever drunk. Furthermore, they filled our glasses with bottled water all the time, without asking, and charged it 3 euros. Normally they should ask if the client wants to order bottled water or tap water and not force it through.
On the positive side, the service was ok, nothing special but not rude or bad. They also offered shrimp crackers upon our arrival which were not charged.
In the end we paid, and they wouldn't bring our change back. So upon leaving we asked for it and the manager said "I thought you wanted to leave it for a tip", although we never said anything like this, in any case he should have brought it back like it is usual here in Greece and it was up to us to decide if and how much we would leave for a tip.
Overall, a totally NOT recommended place to eat.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    12
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Decent restaurant, a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Far East is well-known in Athens, and has been a meeting place for Asian cuisine for ages. Despite its reputation, we found the food rather average, esp. for the price we paid. However, I noticed that last year they made an effort to drop their prices a little, and we have often ordered take-away food since then, including some delicious sushi.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Good but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is a nice restaurant but not exactly a far east gastronomy trip! I wouldn't call it chinese cuisine because other restaurants offer more traditional and original chinese menu. Very very expensive for what it offers, the prices are not reasonable at all!!! The service though is very good and the whole atmoshere as well. I m not sure if I would ever go back, although I have been there several times in the past.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absoluety fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

With a mix up at the airport we had to stay one extra night. This restaurant would make us want to stay one more night. The service was the best we found in all of greece and the food was simply to die for. As people who work in the hospitality industry this was a refreshing atmosphere and the best "last night" in athens that we could have dreamed of. My hat goes off to the staff and we recommend this restaurant to any traveller in search of a great dining experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Charming, though overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Well, some dishes are excellent (the orange duck is one of them), or may seem excellent to people like us, who are not so keen on the asian cuisine. The service is of a high class restaurant, as is the garden environment, amidst brooks and low lights, in the summer. The interior maybe needs a redecoration. The prices are a bit high, take care when ordering.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far East also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.