We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent restaurant, a bit overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Far East - CLOSED

Far East
Lazaraki 61 & Pandoras 5, Glyfada, Athens, Greece
Improve this listing
Price range: $35 - $55
Cuisines: Chinese, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Decent restaurant, a bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Far East is well-known in Athens, and has been a meeting place for Asian cuisine for ages. Despite its reputation, we found the food rather average, esp. for the price we paid. However, I noticed that last year they made an effort to drop their prices a little, and we have often ordered take-away food since then, including some delicious sushi.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    12
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This is a nice restaurant but not exactly a far east gastronomy trip! I wouldn't call it chinese cuisine because other restaurants offer more traditional and original chinese menu. Very very expensive for what it offers, the prices are not reasonable at all!!! The service though is very good and the whole atmoshere as well. I m not sure if I would ever go back, although I have been there several times in the past.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absoluety fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

With a mix up at the airport we had to stay one extra night. This restaurant would make us want to stay one more night. The service was the best we found in all of greece and the food was simply to die for. As people who work in the hospitality industry this was a refreshing atmosphere and the best "last night" in athens that we could have dreamed of. My hat goes off to the staff and we recommend this restaurant to any traveller in search of a great dining experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Charming, though overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Well, some dishes are excellent (the orange duck is one of them), or may seem excellent to people like us, who are not so keen on the asian cuisine. The service is of a high class restaurant, as is the garden environment, amidst brooks and low lights, in the summer. The interior maybe needs a redecoration. The prices are a bit high, take care when ordering.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overpriced food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Overpriced food there are some asian restaurants nearby cheap price but good food

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Far East also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Far East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.