We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but far away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea View Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sea View Hotel to your Saves list
Sea View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Xanthou Str., Glyfada, Athens 16674, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Glyfada
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice but far away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

It's a nice modest hotel in a very calm & rich suburb called Glyfada, rooms are a bit cozy and there's no sea view though its name...breakfast is very modest, i'd suggest to save breakfast charge & have it elsewhere at any cafe nearby...there's a huge shopping district near by as well as a super market and tram & bus stops...bad thing is, it's quite far from Athens Downtown...takes an hour approx by tram to get to Syntagma square and half an hour to 40min by bus...staff is nice and friendly...based on the prices of the hotels in Athens, i guess its price is fair

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    64
    33
    11
    7
See reviews for
27
53
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Etienne-de-Baigorry, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Ok. I am writing this review to balance the other reviews written on this hotel that I find a bit too praising. I stayed at this hotel on August 24th 2011 and here are my pros and cons:
Pros: good price, acceptable breakfast for 5 euros, clean
Cons: very small swimming pool too chlorinated, no sea view at all (despite the name), average bathroom, no free wifi, understaffed (waited 10mns to get an info as only 1 person at reception)
Bottomline: you can find a better hotel in Glyfada for the same price or for just a bit more.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed in the Sea View in the beginning and the end of our 21 days island hopping around Greece. The location was perfect when arriving from the Airport or Piraeus (X96 Bus, every 30 minutes, ticket 5 Euros). There are several restaurants, bars and a big supermarket nearby. The executive rooms were very good and the breakfast (additional 5 euros) is recommended. No WI-FI available. Athens centre is reachable by tram or bus (1.40 Euros).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Recently stayed at this hotel, rooms were renovated modern and comfortable. Air conditioning struggled a bit, but this should not take away from the overall stay. The hotel is central to the main shopping area and is very close to the beach. A big thank you to Dimitris who was so accommodating and always welcomed you with a big smile.
The breakfast was huge and cost Euro 5, great value and one of the better ones we had in Greece. When I'm back in Athens I definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed 4 nights. Non-fancy but freshly renovated and brilliant hotel, overall excellent quality. Upsides: simple but impeccable furniture in rooms, very good beds, all rooms have (i think) a balcony, excellent service, very helpful and efficient staff, small pool good for a late afternoon chill out. Downsides: no dry cleaning service, air conditioning not super efficient (still good enough to survive a greek heat wave, which can be - and was - over the top).
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Nice hotel - close to the glyfada township and public transport.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Nothing to complain about the hotel with price 55 euros per night in Glyfada! The bed was comfortable, bathroom - ok. I liked my balcony with partial sea view. Minibar was full of different drinks, flat screen tv (russian channel, if someone is ineterested). A/C worked perefectly well! All you need.
Noise?! Who cares! You don't sleep when you in Glyfada :D Only during the day... Swimming pool is better not to try - quite old and not very clean. Though, there was mother with daughter from Sweden enjoying it a lot, excpet of going to the nice beach just around the corner.
I'd stay in this hotel again for 1-2 days while visiting my friends living in Athens :) Very good and safe location (important for me - far away from city center and all the demostrations).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Hotel

Address: 4 Xanthou Str., Glyfada, Athens 16674, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sea View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.