We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Food, Service Slow, Over priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Al Dente

Al Dente
Lazaraki 63, Glyfada, Athens 16674, Greece
+(30)2109680280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 153 Restaurants in Glyfada
4.0 of 5 stars 22 Reviews
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Italian restaurant, home made pasta, wood oven thin crusted pizza, black Angus steaks, weekly changing creative dishes,95 seats, big patio with umbrellas with 65 seats for the summer,candle light romantic atmosphere, Hollywood of the 50s and 60s decor, music from DJ (Italian, jazz, ethnic, rock, rock and roll)
Restaurant details
Description: Italian restaurant, home made pasta, wood oven thin crusted pizza, black Angus steaks, weekly changing creative dishes,95 seats, big patio with umbrellas with 65 seats for the summer,candle light romantic atmosphere, Hollywood of the 50s and 60s decor, music from DJ (Italian, jazz, ethnic, rock, rock and roll)
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Average Food, Service Slow, Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

When we went were were seated to a table almost rightaway. It was a saturday and the place was full. The staff were very kind but the service was slow, took them about 20 minutes to take our order and another 20 minutes to bring the wine (which wasnt in a cooler and just brought plain to the table) The pizza we had was above average and quite good and the firenze chicken salad wasnt bad either. The amatricianna though which i ordered was rather bland no real taste to be honest i can barely taste the meat and the sauce felt like plain tomato sauce. Also i know that the italians really eat their spaghetti al dente hence the name but this felt a little too much al dente. The price was too much in my opinion for what we got.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nothing special..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The food is bland, the decor unimaginative (I mean, b&w Hollywood photos all over? C'mon..), the service overwhelmed on a recent Sunday lunchtime.

Ambiance is one or two notches above a corporate cafeteria catering to white collar workers someplace in the American Mid-West.

There is nothing "wrong" with this place per se., It's just that it has absolutely no soul...

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food, nice people, cigarette smoked from the first minute!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

The food is good and some dishes are really good. The restaurant is spacious and it tries hard to express it's style. No matter how tasty is the food or not, I wouldn't spend even one more euro in a restaurant which doesn't respect the non smokers! Stay there for an hour and you will smell as an ashtray! I hope that the owner who is a very experienced and successful businessman will take this issue under consideration. To conclude if I had to choose between this restaurant and it's brother in Kalamaki I would definitely choose the second one which is more cosy more stylish and warm.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Have decided to visit the restaurant because every time I pass by it is full of people. Now I understand why. The service is very good and there is a good variety of dishes. I certainly had the greatest pasta in a long time. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing and authentic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I went to Al Dente with my friends for a night out and the place was absolutely terrific. The ambiance was very elegant, mood lighting beautiful music and tasteful decorations. The candles were a lovely touch!
The specials sounded all so delicious (I had an amazing black risotto) and all our meals were very satisfactory, extremely delicious. Even the desserts were heavenly,(I suggest the soufflé all' arancia, it was amazing!)
The staff were very friendly and a joy to talk with, they made the experience even more friendly and the food was served quickly much to our delight. Prices are wallet friendly and overall I had a fantastic time as did my friends. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Dente also viewed

Glyfada, Athens
Glyfada, Athens
 
Glyfada, Athens
Glyfada, Athens
 

Been to Al Dente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Dente, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.