We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so bad but it could be better” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Congo Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added Congo Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Congo Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 King's George Avenue (Poseidonos Av.), Glyfada, Athens 16674, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 19 hotels in Glyfada
Naxos, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“not so bad but it could be better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The reception of the hotel looks modern but "behind the scenes" the rooms and corridors are old fashioned! The photos that are shown should be very old because none of them is real in what i have seen at least! From the balocony's view the sea is behind a building. The breakfast is quite simlpe for the price i paid for! Also, during the accommodation I saw people with prostitutes wandering around to the corridors! There is not enough parking space, so I had to make some rounds in the city to find a spot to park! The next day i passed to an other hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
19
17
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We planned a last minute trip to Athens and I booked the Congo Palace based on reviews. It was across the street from a public beach, but a private beach club was only minutes away. In the heart of a great restaurant and shopping district. American favorites, Greek and even Mexican. About 30 minute or 20 euro taxi ride to all main museums and attractions.

Lobby is great. Restaurant offers basic breakfast with American and European standards. Pool is great, but only In season when buildings wfont block the sun. Rooms need major updating. We had two rooms, had to move one when ac conked out. But large, good showers and quiet. Great staff that is very helpful.

Room Tip: Get a beach view, good breeze and although traffic noise, quieter than city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandbergen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We've got two connecting rooms, both with single beds. One of the rooms had an balcony. The bathroom was modern. The rooms are clean but rather small. Breakfast was a buffet with enough choice. From the hotel you can go to the city of Athens in about 40 minutes with tram 5. You can take the tram at about 50 metres from the hotel.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. The price was about 290 euro for three nights, for four people, breakfast included. Price/quality is very good.

We didn't receive any answer on our mails asking for information about the transport from the airport to the hotel.

Room Tip: Travellers with children: aks for the appartments. These are two connecting rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherwick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We booked for 3 nights, to have a 4 day break near the beach. Great loccation, very easy to catch bus from airport (there and back). first impressions good, nice modern/updated lobby, service/reception good/adequate especially for the low price!! just use it as your base!!

Lifts small, only room for two/three, (but who really cares), rooms basic - think travellodge/premier inn - but, have balconies, air con and are fine for cheap city break.

Pool area and breakfast room recently refurbished, look and feel nice and more expensive than paid for.

The real real bonus with this hotel is location, short walk to beach (best to go to the private beach at Balux cafe (5 min walk) only costs 4 euros for access/sun lounger and is excellent all round. Also only 5 min walk to town centre, lots of chic shops/high st names and restaurants, really good vibe in late evening.

We loved our stay - great weather, great food in the town - I would go back

Room Tip: We asked for quiet room at back of hotel, as the main coastal road is right at the front, the locals...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel on the way out to, and back again from, Naxos. The hotel was pre-booked, but did not meet our expectations at all.The location of the hotel is great. You basically have all you need within a few blocks - beach, shopping, restaurants. The service is though not existing, the rooms are outdated and the breakfast was terrible. We had to wait 1-2 hours to get our room both times we checked-in at the hotel (although we arrived after check in time both times).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is situated between the international airport and Athens. It has a pool and the beach is 300m away. All rooms have been renovated. Just a good hotel for a few days. Good public transport to Athens or airport.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

dont book this hotel.. i stayed here twice once during renovation and at that time had a some what ok exp. staff was nice that was about all.. the rooms very outdated and not very clean. i decided to give it another chance due to location of my needs. i booked for a group, which i had booked in a month advance requesting an updated room.. we arrived very tired from our very long ferry ride back from mykonos. the room we requested was no available. i asked to see the family suite as it was to be two rooms.. what a disappointment. the room was very outdated and not at all worth the 140€ night we were willing to pay. i asked to see another room which was just one large room and very outdated, especially compared to the pictures and the renovation that took place in Oct-Dec.. I went back to reception and asked why I was not able to have the room I had requested since i booked in advance, and i was not given a updated room.. apparently they ran out of money and did not update the rooms.. PLEASE SO NOT BE FOOLED BY THE PICTURES.. we chose to leave and stayed at the blazer suites... very well worth our money.. the staff was very rude and acted like we were inconveniencing them.. MR.Adonis is very rude, and seems to yell and tell you about how he is doing his job to feed his kids, etc..yelling at customers is not acceptable.. i refuse to go back to this place and i hope others are not fooled by the pictures they placed... the only good things is close to shopping, restaurants, and the beach.. some rooms offer a good view, others offer a view of someones laundry hanging...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Congo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congo Palace Hotel

Address: 75 King's George Avenue (Poseidonos Av.), Glyfada, Athens 16674, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 hotels in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Congo Palace Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Congo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congo Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.