We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Sun Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Sun Hotel to your Saves list
Golden Sun Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   72 Dimarchou Angelou Metaxa Street & Kritis Square, Glyfada, Athens 16674, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Glyfada
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and have always had a good experience. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. The location is excellent being close to trendy Glyfada, close to tram lines and on the bus route between the airport and Piraeus. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms facing the front of the hotel - they are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    39
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
30
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The hotel is excellent. A big group of friends stayed here (10 rooms or 20 people) all of them are happy with the service, the comfort and with the staff. They are extremely friendly and cordial.
All rooms offers balcony and are quiet.
Thanks very much to all the staff and for sure I will recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firá, Kikladhes, Greece
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel is a concentrated of all makes a stay a real nightmare. Gray and sad, in the style of 80's. Furnishings are incredibly old (one should say that they have been choosen from a vintage store, but the are simply the same since the inauguration). Lighting contributes to make the overall aspect like a psychiatric clinic. Breackfast is terrible, with horrible coffee, horrible orange juice (powder aspirine?), eggs floating in the oil and marmelade from the age of the dictatorship. You cannot sleep: walls are thin like chinese paper, even in the bathroom...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Actually I did not stay in this hotel, I just booked a room for a visitor (commercial purpose) for 2 days, however I realized that whole staff of this hotel is very kindly and friendly providing really good services to their clients.
I asked to check the room before booking. Front desk lady drove me in a nice room, saying that all rooms where not the same but quite similar. I like the room and I made a reservation. I prepaid the room for both 2 days - hotel just asked for a small deposit, not for the whole amount. One day prior arriving I asked to book one more room for a second visitor, they replied me that there was available room, and they booked it without asking deposit. Unfortunately second guy lost his flight so I cancelled the room; Hotel did not ask me to pay cancellation fees.
Unfortunately my first visitor changed his schedule so he was not able to stay for the second night in the hotel. I understood that there were cancellation fees as this is a normal practice, so I did not say anything. A couple of days after check out, a very kind lady called me from the hotel informing me that they did not charge for the second night and they keep this amount in my account for next booking, I was really surprised, I did not expect this. A couple of days after this event I called hotel asking if this credit had an expiry date. They proposed on their own if I would like from them to cash back, for one more time they decently surprised me.
Some words for the hotel: my visitor was very happy staying at this hotel, enjoying his short stay there. Hotel is located very close to the sea, very close to tram and bus station and only 5-10 minutes’ walk from Glyfada center. Prices were very logical.

Overall GOLDEN SUN is a nice, value for money hotel providing really services.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

What can I say. Fantastic location. Beach and shops walking distance. Great staff. Room was cleaned everyday. Service was excellent we were there in Oct. not to many people which was just perfect. Pool all to oursekves. See you all again very soon. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

What can I say. Fantastic location. Beach and shops walking distance. Great staff. Room was cleaned everyday. Keep up the great work. Facebook updated each day. Always with a smile. Service was great. Staff were excellent and chatting with guests.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
508 helpful votes 508 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed for two weeks in October.

The hotel is centrally located with only a few minuters to both airport bus or shopping centre in Glyfda. The poolarea is really nice and the size of the pool is probably one of the largest in Glyfada.
The rooms are quite large with very fresh bathrooms. Had some minor problems with my aircon which the maintanance attended to. Good house keeping and cleaning of the rooms.
For breakfast you have both cold and hot dishes and a good selection of fruits.

The staff is outstanding. The ladies that served us at the front desk and the breakfast personel went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. The personal touch made you feel very welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Sun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Sun Hotel

Address: 72 Dimarchou Angelou Metaxa Street & Kritis Square, Glyfada, Athens 16674, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Sun Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Glyfada, the capital of the southern Athenian suburbs, the Golden Sun is awaiting, a welcoming smile introducing that help is always at hand! Enjoy the comfort offered in our rooms as well as the magical effects of the cosmopolitan area where we are situated. Relax at the cool flowering garden enjoying a drink at the sparkling waters of the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Golden Sun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Sun Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.