We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible stay, only convienient to get to shops” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 3 Artemisiou Street, Glyfada, Athens 16675, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Glyfada
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Terrible stay, only convienient to get to shops”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The noise from the highway is terrible, only to be drowned out by the sound of the air conditioner.
The room's air conditioner was not working - could not be switched off.
The carpets in the two rooms we stayed in were disgustingly dirty! I didn't want to stand on them. I developed allergies from this carpet- it is literally brown outside the bathroom!
We stayed for two weeks, the bathroom was only thoroughly cleaned maybe two times.
The toilet kept on getting blocked and we had to go to the toilet downstairs.
The service at the restaurant downstairs is appalling! We waited about half an hour to be attended to, with rude servers in the morning.
The lifts are tiny and claustrophobic.
This hotel needs a major revamp
The only positive is that you can walk to glyfada shops in 20 minutes, although there are no decent nearby beaches.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIMITRIS1956, Διευθυντής at BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Meliss0708 ,
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to post your comments from your stay at BW Fenix Hotel.
We were very concerned to hear about this inconvenience after your departure of our Hotel . According to these we have to refer the following:
Firstly referring to your annoyance for the noise coming from road , you knew in advance that also offer rooms facing to the famous golf area of Glyfada ,which are completely quite.
Second during your 2-weeks stay at the hotel you never complaint about air condition and cleanness .Regarding the clean less issue of the rooms , are subjected to regular checks and are cleaned on a daily basis by accordance with our Hotel policy standards. It is indeed surprise that during your stay the maid cleaned your rooms only twice !!!
Last but not least referring to your complaints for the hotel's lifts we have to clarify that both of them are according to international regulations. Every lift transfer up to 5 adults .
Once again ,we feel sorry for the experience you had . Do hope to be given another opportunity to welcome back and prove that we can serve better.
Sincerely yours
D. Papastergiou - Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    46
    55
    22
    17
See reviews for
33
47
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Knowing we had to be at the airport early next day we booked on the way to the airport. The receptionist made clear he had rather not seen us at all. Lift was not working ("technician only comes tomorrow") so suitcases were pushed up the stairs (receptionist could not care less, was not even willing to keep the door open). Rooms were dirty. I admit it can be even worse, but for 80 euro's, mold in the bathroom, black hairs in the bath and toothpaste on the mirror, seem a bit to much for me. Unfortunately there was no room to open your suitcase,. Do it on your bed; get your stuff out; and close the thing again, seemed the best solution. No wonder I recommend to ban the place! Worst value for money I have ever experienced.
Regards, Wimar

Room Tip: get the lowest level possible, lift is un-usefull !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had as a group of 5 families a terrible stay at this deteriorated hotel were nobody bothered about helping guests. Service was an unknown word. Because of the absurd small lifts my handicaped mother in law was provided a wheel chair with two flat tires to get her upstairs in her room. The receptionist thought this was more than enough service, and didn't want to bother about at least inflating the tires. Rooms were smelly and filthy...

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Best western in Glyfada, Athens for 1 night in August 2013. We took a 25 minute shuttle bus ride from the airport to the hotel which was 5.00 Euros a person. The bus dropped us off right at the street adjacent to the street of the hotel.

Upon check-in, we were greeted by someone at the front desk and give our room card keys. We booked a smoking double room which surprisingly did not smell of smoke. The room had all basic amenities with a balcony as well. The room was clean and spacious (enough room for both our large suitcases). The only downfall to the room was that wifi was not included. We were surprised by this as the majority of the hotel we stayed at in Greece included wifi. Nonetheless, it did not affect our experience in the room negatively; it would have just been a ‘nice to have’.

Although we did not use the pool, it was very big and looked clean. The lobby was a bit outdated however the fact that the hotel was clean was more important than décor.
The location of the Best Western was perfect. It is less than a 10 minute walk (safe walk), to all the restaurants, shops, bars and clubs. The hotel can also arrange for a taxi-pick up for you if you prefer not to walk.

Upon check-out we were advised that breakfast was included- we did not have time to eat however the assortment of choices was great.
Although our time at the Best Western was short, we did have an enjoyable experience and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in hotels in athena and in rhodos this hotel was my worst ever . I had a proplem with the air condition , I refered it to the reciptionists who show very urgent and rude way in his communications . I will come back again to athens but never to this hotel . It is a waste of joy to go there

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANGLEY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed for 10 days. We picked this hotel as it was near the airport and Athens and close to the beach and not expensive. When arriving at the airport the #96 bus is right outside arrivals and takes you right to the door for 5 euros (30 min. ride). The hotel will arrange excursions and they will pick and drop off. We had some wonderful days seeing Greece and islands, and it was reasonable.
The hotel is a block from the beach. It is on a busy road but next to the beach is the tram and it is in English and comes all the time. The beach is okay but there is a really nice one that has lounge chairs and umbrellas for a 6 euro cab ride.
The pool is wonderful, clean and large with lots of lounge chairs and umbrellas.
The staff is wonderful. The old geezers as someone said are so very nice and speak English well and were very accomodating.
Breakfast is standard Best Western food.
Glyfada is a 5 min. tram ride or 15 min. (walk on the walkway next to the tram, it goes on forever). All the American chain fast food and resturants are there plus wonderful bakeries. Our favourite is just as you enter town before the church. The food is amazing and cheap.
The hotel is dated but clean. The rooms are spacious and we really enjoyed the balcony. For the money you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Honestly, This is not a 4 star hotel by any means, it used to be a short of luxury hotel and the 4 star is sort of remnant from the old days.
The hotel staff thinks that pretentiousness mixed with rudeness makes a 4 star rating.
The waiters, 2 old geezers are straight out of 'faulty towers' the comedy hotel series, only ruder and talking to themselves or some invisible companion...

Breakfast is obscenely bad, everything on offer is the cheapest quality available meaning tasteless, in August 2013 breakfast was: cheap Feta cheese,watermelon slices,a communal bowl of cheap yoghurt, cheap sliced mushrooms, cheap sliced Greek sausage, cheapest possible corn flakes (I did not see a single person eat them) , sometimes scramble egg, cheap croissants and i do mean cheap, partly baked bread roll, and on a special occasion apple and oranges of the type discarded by european supermarkets, cheese slices and mortadella slices that even the stray and starving dog turned its nose at, bread slices and marmor cake slices, to drink there was orange and apple squash, its like drinking cyonide, and cheap tea and brown liquid which they call coffee, I do not know why?

If you are on a budget you can eat this breakfast for a day or two kidding yourself on, but by the third day you start wondering what is the point of going to this breakfast.
Nearby is Everest, a roadside fast food cafe that makes real coffee for 1 euro, sandwiches and pies, much better.
I dont really ask for much, just something eatable, the Hotel breakfast is not, sounds like a lot and is pretentious but its trash even a dog would not eat.

I nearly sliced my small toe on the bed frame which sticks out from the bed and has lost the protective taps, its obviously a foldable bed hence the weird and dangerous frame.

Worn out carpets, worn and dated decor, worn out swimming pool, unfriendly staff more often than not rude.

Despite the disintegrating nature of the hotel it is not an easy going place, if you bring a strabucks coffee to the worn out pool area you are told off that you are depriving them of an opportunity to fleece you by charging high prices for pre frozen sandwitches and awfull coffee.

No entertainment, no gym, nothing but a room and pool with a small bar and awful restaurant.
Cheap and nasty I will avoid. August 2013

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DIMITRIS1956, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mr. Madame
Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight and detailed feedback for our Buffet breakfast . The satisfaction of our guests has highest priority and we always make an effort to offer our guests an excellent service at the Best Western Fenix .
.
We know that a successful start into the day is often supported by a sufficient breakfast. Therefore we do our best to serve our guests a rich and diverse breakfast together with the will to keep up the high quality of our food.

Priority for us is to offer our Valuable guests the chance to taste Greek traditional flavours as ( feta cheese ,Greek yogurt , Greek sausages etc .) and seasonal fruit. Except from what we serve every day cold and hot food on our breakfast
Daily the hotel serves breakfast for at least 200 people and we receive compliments for our buffet.
Unfortunately we did not manage to meet your expectations especially concerning your eating habits. It comes as a surprise to us that the only you referred to our breakfast buffet as allow quality one, but you also mention that it was a low cost buffet.
However you were completely satisfied by a roadside fast food café (EVEREST) located one metre away from a heavy traffic avenue , as you mentioned .
(Although our hotel is pet friendly , we do not serve to our guests dog food for sure !!!!!!) .
Concerning your complaints for not being allowed to bring a “Starbucks “ coffee to the swimming pool area , we kindly inform you that is prohibited under the Greek low due to health issues and tax policy .
Last but not least we want to point out that our staff has been effectively trained for a great period of time and always pace with guest’s expectations.

We are very grateful and take every criticism seriously.
Much to my regret we did not have the opportunity to meet in person.
We really hope you will give us a second chance to cut a better figure.
Kind regards .D. Papastergiou . Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix

Address: 1 - 3 Artemisiou Street, Glyfada, Athens 16675, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel BEST WESTERN FENIX, one of the best hotels in Glyfada is a member of the largest global hotel chain BEST WESTERN and is the ideal place to stay during your visit to Athens ! Within walking distance of the cosmopolitan town of Glyfada and within easy access to the historic centre of Athens the BEST WESTERN FENIX HOTEL offers a high standard of hospitality that can satisfy both leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens
Best Western Glyfada
Athens Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.