We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible but not brilliant either” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 3 Artemisiou Street, Glyfada, Athens 16675, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 stars 161 Reviews
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not terrible but not brilliant either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel needs to be modernised and the rooms are quite small. The first room that we were given was very small for two people and the bathroom was old and not very clean. We were moved to a room with a pool view which was a little bigger and the bathroom was a slight improvement. The hotel is also based on a very busy road, which is hard to cross which you need to to get to the tram to get to anything whether it is into Glyfada itself or central athens. It is not near many things. The staff weren't that knowledgeable or too friendly but it was fine. It did have a pool which was clean but not too big, so when I was trying to swim and another family were trying to play about it was very small indeed. For the price it was alright. So it wasn't terrible but it wasn't brilliant either, definitely not 4* and didn't really live up to the Best Western brand. If I was going back to Athens I might try another hotel but if nothing better was available I would go there.

Room Tip: I would make sure you got a larger room and one with a larger bathroom. If you like it quieter make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    43
    52
    21
    16
See reviews for
32
44
15
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nafplio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stay at this hotel durring a Photographers convetion! It was very nice and clean hotel. The location is nice but there is no Metro or subway near. You need to take bus or taxi to go to Athens center! The stuff was very helpful and we like this. The only thing i didn't like was the bar products, coffee and snacks wasn't good!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

where do I start from ? the super friendly staff , or the cleanness , or the good food, or the astonishing view, or the quit and noise free atmosphere, to the 10 minutes walk location from glyfada center and 1 minute from the main coast avenue ,or the easy free wifi access, or even the cosy spaces , all that much more value for the little money I paid .
It's my 8th time in 4 years .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed here , 5 nights as 2 familys , room a junior suite was large clean , and had the biggest bathroom , , very nice and comfortable , the breakfast every morning (free) was great , and the staff couldnt of been friendlier , we loved our stay here , and will be back in april , thanks for a great holiday

Room Tip: junior suite large and new
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATHENS, GREECE
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Three single rooms, one with an overused carpet, spacious , clean, one room had a very small bathroom, acceptable breakfast, in general a decent hotel. Located in a clean pleasant suburb of Athens next to the old, now closed airport with shopping centres and tavernas within walking distance. Transport to Athens centre by bus or tramway (takes about 50 mins) or a 20-30 minute taxi ride. Polite service.
Taxi service from airport to hotel: 35-40 euros

Room Tip: try not to get the room with the tiny bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Booked a sea-view suite through Otel, was a little nervous as never heard of or used this site before - the cost seemed too good to be true.
However, fears were unfounded as the booking went ahead and we checked into room 413 without any issues. The suite defintely has the wow factor, big bedroom / living room area, 2 tvs, luxury bathroom with separate walk in shower & tv in mirror, balcony & pool / sea view.
Sea view spolt slightly as hotel is next to what looks like a disused boat yard & busy road but after checking out some of the other hotels I considered it is actually the best placed for a sea view. When the balcony door was open we could hear traffic but not at all when closed, which we did anyway because of the air con.
Staff were a little reserved though friendly when approached & asked for assistance.
Breakfast usual quality for hot buffet, (not very hot!) but plenty of fresh bread / rolls / pastries / cereals / juices / cheese / meat / fruit / boiled eggs.
We ordered room service sandwiches & salad one evening, poor quality & disappointing considering the cost so didnt bother again. Large bottles of water only €2 from the hotel bar - easier just to pay this than go out of way to petrol station to save a few cents.
We spent a day around the pool, although next to the road it wasnt really an issue. Pool towels were provided & the pool area was clean.
Location was very good. Yes, to get to the tram you have to cross a busy road - but there is a pedestrian crossing. Glyfada centre is about 20min walk, there are a few bars / restaurants on sea front on the way (View worth a visit for Greek salad) or you can jump on tram, €1.40 for 90mins on / off. It takes a while to find the centre but once there you're spoilt for choice with restaurants, cafes, bars, take aways, shopping. Only thing we struggled to find was a traditional Greek taverna / mezze!! Everything is so cosmopolitan.
Balux beach is also walkable / within a few tram stops. €4 for the day including sunbeds / table service, great place to enjoy amazing sunsets - fab food & service at the restaurant.
Athens centre is easy to get to on tram & the metro is simple to navigate, there are tram / metro route maps in hotel lobby.
The airport was €35 each way in taxi. Bus is easy & lots cheaper but we couldn't be bothered waiting.
Fabulous trip, one of best cities I have ever visited, we will definitely go back to Athens & most likely stay at BW Fenix.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I booked this hotel after reading the positive reviews posted here and for the first time ever Tripadvisor let me down. This hotel is one of the worst I have ever stayed in and I pride myself on doing my homework.
I'd been entrusted to book a three day stay for myself and my other half, her sister and brother-in-law and have never been so embarassed in my life after choosing this hotel.
The hotel bar was overpriced, the lobby doubled as the residents lounge and the restaurant was shocking. The breakfasts which I'd read rave reviews on consisted of some cold meat, hard boiled eggs, tomatoes and cheese in the cold section. For the hot part they served some potato croquettes, sausage and fried eggs that had been cooked in advance and left. Out of the 3 days we stayed on 2 of them the eggs were all yellow, what's that about? The bread for the toast was the same for the whole time and had not been replaced with fresh. The coffee served was tepid and of poor quality, go for the tea, it's not much better though.
The noise from the road is very intrusive especially in the early hours when the local motorcyclists use it as their own private dragstrip and you have to cross this road to get to the tramstop.
So, do yourself a favour and book somewhere else. You can't say you weren't warned!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix

Address: 1 - 3 Artemisiou Street, Glyfada, Athens 16675, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel BEST WESTERN FENIX, one of the best hotels in Glyfada is a member of the largest global hotel chain BEST WESTERN and is the ideal place to stay during your visit to Athens ! Within walking distance of the cosmopolitan town of Glyfada and within easy access to the historic centre of Athens the BEST WESTERN FENIX HOTEL offers a high standard of hospitality that can satisfy both leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens
Best Western Glyfada
Athens Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.