We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 - 3 Artemisiou Street, Glyfada, Athens 16675, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Glyfada
ATHENS, GREECE
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Three single rooms, one with an overused carpet, spacious , clean, one room had a very small bathroom, acceptable breakfast, in general a decent hotel. Located in a clean pleasant suburb of Athens next to the old, now closed airport with shopping centres and tavernas within walking distance. Transport to Athens centre by bus or tramway (takes about 50 mins) or a 20-30 minute taxi ride. Polite service.
Taxi service from airport to hotel: 35-40 euros

Room Tip: try not to get the room with the tiny bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    46
    55
    22
    16
See reviews for
33
46
17
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Booked a sea-view suite through Otel, was a little nervous as never heard of or used this site before - the cost seemed too good to be true.
However, fears were unfounded as the booking went ahead and we checked into room 413 without any issues. The suite defintely has the wow factor, big bedroom / living room area, 2 tvs, luxury bathroom with separate walk in shower & tv in mirror, balcony & pool / sea view.
Sea view spolt slightly as hotel is next to what looks like a disused boat yard & busy road but after checking out some of the other hotels I considered it is actually the best placed for a sea view. When the balcony door was open we could hear traffic but not at all when closed, which we did anyway because of the air con.
Staff were a little reserved though friendly when approached & asked for assistance.
Breakfast usual quality for hot buffet, (not very hot!) but plenty of fresh bread / rolls / pastries / cereals / juices / cheese / meat / fruit / boiled eggs.
We ordered room service sandwiches & salad one evening, poor quality & disappointing considering the cost so didnt bother again. Large bottles of water only €2 from the hotel bar - easier just to pay this than go out of way to petrol station to save a few cents.
We spent a day around the pool, although next to the road it wasnt really an issue. Pool towels were provided & the pool area was clean.
Location was very good. Yes, to get to the tram you have to cross a busy road - but there is a pedestrian crossing. Glyfada centre is about 20min walk, there are a few bars / restaurants on sea front on the way (View worth a visit for Greek salad) or you can jump on tram, €1.40 for 90mins on / off. It takes a while to find the centre but once there you're spoilt for choice with restaurants, cafes, bars, take aways, shopping. Only thing we struggled to find was a traditional Greek taverna / mezze!! Everything is so cosmopolitan.
Balux beach is also walkable / within a few tram stops. €4 for the day including sunbeds / table service, great place to enjoy amazing sunsets - fab food & service at the restaurant.
Athens centre is easy to get to on tram & the metro is simple to navigate, there are tram / metro route maps in hotel lobby.
The airport was €35 each way in taxi. Bus is easy & lots cheaper but we couldn't be bothered waiting.
Fabulous trip, one of best cities I have ever visited, we will definitely go back to Athens & most likely stay at BW Fenix.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I booked this hotel after reading the positive reviews posted here and for the first time ever Tripadvisor let me down. This hotel is one of the worst I have ever stayed in and I pride myself on doing my homework.
I'd been entrusted to book a three day stay for myself and my other half, her sister and brother-in-law and have never been so embarassed in my life after choosing this hotel.
The hotel bar was overpriced, the lobby doubled as the residents lounge and the restaurant was shocking. The breakfasts which I'd read rave reviews on consisted of some cold meat, hard boiled eggs, tomatoes and cheese in the cold section. For the hot part they served some potato croquettes, sausage and fried eggs that had been cooked in advance and left. Out of the 3 days we stayed on 2 of them the eggs were all yellow, what's that about? The bread for the toast was the same for the whole time and had not been replaced with fresh. The coffee served was tepid and of poor quality, go for the tea, it's not much better though.
The noise from the road is very intrusive especially in the early hours when the local motorcyclists use it as their own private dragstrip and you have to cross this road to get to the tramstop.
So, do yourself a favour and book somewhere else. You can't say you weren't warned!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We only stayed for a couple of nights and overall not a bad hotel for the price paid. Only negatives encountered were most of the staff were grumpy and unfriendly, the air conditioning unit
was noisy and some areas of cleanliness ie the pool tables by the sunbeds were caked in dirt. Quite noisy as it is on the main road.
Breakfast was OK, room was clean as was the bathroom although very small. Would go again although not for a long period.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

pool is nice considering the beaches arent great in the area, very friendly staff and close to town 15 min walk , 5 mins on tram. very good value for money. i would recommend staying here if you are stopping over for a night going to a port/island as oppose to athens.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I am a world traveller and i highly recommend the Best Westin Fenix Hotel in Glyfatha .The staff are most helpful and the breakfast is superb and the service unbeatable. I highly recommend this hotel.
It has a big pool and is well located.I score this hotel a Big 9 out of ten for everything.

Room Tip: i stayed in the double bedroom with a huge duoble bed and the room faced the pool.it was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our family of four stayed here for 4 nights in June. The room was spacious. The bed was very comfortable, the sofabed was fine for kids...perhaps not for a full-size adults. The bathroom had a shower and separate bath and was very large.

Best part of the hotel is the friendly service. The breakfast was plentiful and every day started out right thanks to a very kind gentleman named, Kostas. We are not morning people and meandered into the breakfast room and were always greeted with a big smile and warm "Good Morning/Kalimera" from Kostas- - such a nice way to start the day.

The front desk staff were helpful as well and eager to answer our myriad of questions.

One reviewer mentioned noise which I was worried about, but we had not problem (and we slept in until 9am+ each morning). Our room faced the pool, but was not near the street.

Room Tip: As I said, no problem with noise, but perhaps good to ask for a room away from the road just in case...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix

Address: 1 - 3 Artemisiou Street, Glyfada, Athens 16675, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel BEST WESTERN FENIX, one of the best hotels in Glyfada is a member of the largest global hotel chain BEST WESTERN and is the ideal place to stay during your visit to Athens ! Within walking distance of the cosmopolitan town of Glyfada and within easy access to the historic centre of Athens the BEST WESTERN FENIX HOTEL offers a high standard of hospitality that can satisfy both leisure and business travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Athens
Best Western Glyfada
Athens Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.