We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, but need to be renovated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palmyra Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palmyra Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Palmyra Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Possidonos Avenue, Glyfada, Athens 166 75, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Glyfada
Modiin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, but need to be renovated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 3 nights. Room was clean and OK in general, but bathroom, although clean, visibly demands renovation. The rest of the hotel looks OK. Its pretty far away from the Athene's center, but there is a nice beach across a road and many restaurants/shopping centers nearby, so it depends on what you're looking for. The staff was very helpful and pleasant, so the overall impression is good

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    54
    32
    6
    8
See reviews for
37
40
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms. There are not many and they are all located on the ground floor behind the reception desk. Modern decoration, spacious and very clean. The bath towels were changed daily, the room was also cleaned and made up daily. Very friendly and helpful staff. The hotel is located in a beautiful location by the sea. Right at the back of the hotel there is a tram line and then there is a beautiful beach with little marinas with boats and yachts. Glyfada square is only a few minute walk from the hotel where you will find a lot of shops, restaurants, bars and cafeterias.

During the last night of our stay there was a party organized by the Tourism Collage which is located within the Hotel. Because our room was located right at the back of the Reception desk and the party was being held outside very close to the lobby and the reception area, the noise from the party was too noticeable. Also the smell from the cigarettes was also too strong as it was coming from under our bedroom door and at some point we had to open the balcony door to freshen up our room. Note that the temperature was pretty low on that specific night. Luckily the party was over by 11:20pm as promised by the Reception when asked and all in all it did not really bother us so much.

The rooms do not have a good insulation and I am not sure what can be done about this. Perhaps the hotel management should look into this matter closely when more renovations undergo in the future.

I recommend this hotel for its location, cleanness, friendly staff and price . As long as you stay in one of the renovated rooms which you will have to make sure you put a special request for it. We did.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the renovated rooms. Was advised on the date of our departure that they are closing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Having booked this hotel from previous reviews we had a very bad experience.
Whilst staying at the hotel we found our room to be very dusty and unkept,after looking under the bed it was obvious it hadn't been cleaned properly for months or even years.
My wife and I contracted a number of bites around our arms and facial area which were not happy about.
We have told the front desk about this and after 3 emails have not had a reply to answer our complaint.
On a whole the hotel was in a good position for Athens,shops and trams into athens
apart from our complaint, if the hotel cleans its act up we would stay again,but we would make sure by giving our room a much thorough inspection.

Room Tip: Inspect on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yiannis_Andriopoulos, Owner at Palmyra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Mr Wright,

My name is Manolis Kaldis and I am the owner of the hotel.
I am sorry for the delay on answering your e-mail but was waiting for the pest control company to come up with the results of the room you stayed at our hotel.

First of all, I would like to thank you for your comments. We value all our guests' comments as we always try to improve our services. The aim of the Palmyra Beach Hotel Team is to provide you with an optimal service and the best possible comfort during your stay.

We clean all our rooms thoroughly once per day, therefore there is no possibility that your room was so dusty as you describe in your comments. Concerning the bites that you mention, we cooperate with a company that sanitizes all the rooms once per month and we have the certificate that they give us stating all the actions that have been made. The above mentioned certificate will be sent to you via email. Moreover, you did not ask for a room change in order for us to know that there was something wrong with the room. Finally, we brought the company to check the room after you made the complaint and they assured us that there was nothing wrong with the room.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Our guests are the most important part of our business, and we will continue to do our best to provide quality accommodations and customer service with them in mind.

Yours sincerely,

Manolis Kaldis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We stayed at the Palmyra for 2 our last 2 nights in Greece. We were going to the island of Hydra for the day and we wanted a hotel that had a bus that would easily take us to Piraeus. There were some aspects of this hotel that were great and others that we found frustrating.

The lady at the front counter was lovely and very helpful. She gave us info for where to catch the bus but didn't tell us where to get off or where to buy tickets (you can't buy tickets on the bus!! You must go to a newspaper stand to by them in advance). We missed our stop at the port and had to walk about half an hour back to the port!

We had booked 2 non smoking rooms but there aren't very many non smoking rooms and we ended up with 1 smoking room. My teenagers had to stay in that room because of my allergies. Their room was not only a smoking room, the first night there was no air conditioning and they couldn't open the windows because the hotel is on a very busy street! We talked to the lady at the front desk in the morning and when we came back at the end of the day, there was a note under the door saying that maintenance looked at the AC and it was broken and impossible to fix and there were no other rooms available. My husband went down to the desk and there was a different gentleman working. He went behind the desk and say that the no one had "flipped the switch" to turn on the AC. Within seconds, there was AC...frustrating that it was that easy to fix!

The rooms are worn down and the carpet needs to be replaced. The bathroom was fairly clean. If you are on the front street, make sure you have earplugs because you will hear traffic noise all night long!

The pool is lovely but it closes early! By 5:30 the lifeguard was starting to close things down and it was totally closed by just after 6:00 even though it was supposed to be open until 6:30 if I recall the times correctly. The lifeguard was also very rude! I arrived first and he came and asked our room number. He did not offer me any towels. He then went to smoke and visit with some of the Greek guests. My husband later came down and the lifeguard was not around. My husband realized that there were towels in a cupboard so he helped himself. The lifeguard came back and yelled at him for touching his towels without permission. He told us it is "his" pool and we shouldn't have touched "his" things. My husband was speechless because he didn't even realize there was a lifeguard. The experience totally ruined the pool for us and our kids who were afraid to use the pool for fear of getting yelled at.

Another problem with the hotel is we wanted to find a cute little restaurant for dinner rather than a hotel restaurant or club. There isn't much around the hotel within walking distance and we ended up driving about 45 minutes to find a little local taverna. That said, it was a beautiful drive and we enjoyed seeing that side of Athens.

The breakfast was good although we couldn't eat there the second day because we had to leave by 7:00 to get to the airport and breakfast starts at 7:00 am. We told them when we needed to leave and no one offered to let us eat a bit early. There is free parking on the streets around the hotel which was nice.

All in all, this hotel compares to the many hotels we have stayed at in and around Athens over the years so it was fine but expensive for what it was. I likely wouldn't book it again because there are other choices. It is convenient for getting to the airport although there are lots of lights along the way so it can take longer than you think if you end up hitting all the lights.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

Whilst the hotel is a little tired looking in its decor, the staff went out of their way to provide information with regards to travel arrangements, directions, places to visit etc.
The hotel is well placed for the beach, tram, bus and airport bus, and an excellent shopping centre with plenty of restaurants and bars.
The only downsides to our trip were an unreliable wifi signal and noisy college students who were staying at the hotel.
Special mention to Chris for being so helpful.

Room Tip: Traffic noise from the road, ask to stay in a side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

My husband and I arrived at this hotel after a long drive which included some car trouble. The staff were friendly and beyond helpful, firstly they helped us with information on the local area which you generally expect. We then asked them about doing laundry and they went out of their way to organise this for us and had it back in record time as we were leaving again the following morning. We then advised them that we were having car trouble and they contacted the local dealer made an appointment, explained the problem to the garage, gave us the address, booked us a taxi to the garage and arranged for it to stay at the garage while we visited an island for 5 nights. As the service was so good we re-booked for our return to Athens, the hotel then arranged for our larger luggage to be stored while we were on the island to save us carrying it.

We regards to the rooms, we stayed in both an un-renovated room and a newly renovated room and they we both a good size and clean.

I cannot praise the staff at this hotel enough!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

I would like to tell you about this fantastic hotel. We have been lucky enough to have been in Athens 6 months before our holiday in September. This hotel is a minute walk to the beach and a minute walk to the tram stop, a five minute walk from the town and about an three quarters of an hour on the tram to Athens. The staff were second to none. The service they provided was always courteous and kind. Nothing was to much trouble and they were happy to have a laugh and joke with us. We arrived quite late on the x96 bus which stopped virtually outside the door and we got the same bus back for our return, far cheaper than taking a taxi. Fantastic breakfast so much to choose so much to eat that you didn't need lunch. This hotel is really good value for money.

Room Tip: We booked a room for three people and we got up graded to a suite with 2 rooms and twin beds. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmyra Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmyra Beach Hotel

Address: 70 Possidonos Avenue, Glyfada, Athens 166 75, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Glyfada
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmyra Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Palmyra Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palmyra Beach
Palmyra Beach Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmyra Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.