We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER GO PALMYRA BEACH HOTEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Palmyra Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Palmyra Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Palmyra Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70 Possidonos Avenue, Glyfada, Athens 166 75, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Glyfada
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“NEVER GO PALMYRA BEACH HOTEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

THE hotel is very very old . OWNER is only looking for MONEY. HE don't care about service of hotel and not make any update. ROOMS are not for 4 star hotel. I think owner forget what means 4 star !!!!!!
ACTUALLY this is a school student resident hall.
BUT they use it for hotel in high tourist season ( THAT'S why hotel open only for 6 month)
BREAKFAST are not good. . same things and also old food service everyday.
NO choice in restaurant . MEANS 4star hotel they don't have restaurant.
IT should be delete Greek tourist authority from 4 star hotel list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    54
    32
    6
    8
See reviews for
37
40
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Needed a place to stay in Athens for one night--found the Palmyra on Expedia and booked it, as it had decent reviews and the price was decent. The place was clean, included a decent breakfast, had a bathtub, AC, a short walk to shopping centers/restaurants. It was also a 2 minute walk to Glyfada Beach, where I experienced the best beach swim of my life. The water couldn't have been anymore perfect for swimming. The receptionist was very accommodating and helpful and even gave us a complimentary 1:30pm checkout so we could enjoy the beach before we left to go to the Athens airport. The airport bus (5 euros) could be caught from right outside the hotel--very convenient. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel is a little dated but perfect for a short trip - especially if you need to be based in Glyfada. The service in the hotel is excellent - very kind and accomodating. Unfortunately they don't have much variety for lunch or food, so if you miss breakfast expect only cheese sandwiches on offer! The pool is lovely and the iced coffee was great!
Their gym is tiny - so dont bother using it and go for a run along the beachfront instead if you want a workout.
Great area for good beaches. The hotel was also spotless and the housekeeping was so lovely! Always smiling and so very helpful. This is great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room or pool facing. If you dont you could be facing the main road which is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

First of all, if you're looking for a rest, you have to either choose another hotel or make you you don't end up in a room on the avenue.

Rooms are acceptable, despite a mediocre bathroom.

The pool and bar areas are vary nice.

Food is ok although breakfast is a little bit disappointed.

The beach nearby the hotel is quite dull so there are chances that you'll stay by the pool.

Tram station is a couple of minutes walk,which is handy.

Certainly not a great hotel, but if you manage to get a good offer, it may be suitable depending the level of comfort expected.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Palmyra Beach Hotel was a great find for us. Staff were all friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is lovely with a very good pool and beautiful garden area. Our room was simple and clean with a very comfortable bed. The bonus was the fantastic shower! Breakfast was typical. It is a two minute walk to the beach and a few minutes more take you to to the central area with restaurants, shops and cafes. Since it is on the Airport-Piraeus bus route it is very practical for anyone with a stopover.
We are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The hotel is placed by the sea with a seaview and is next to the center of Glyfada. Glyfada is one of the best towns in Athens with a lovely pedestrian street and a lot of classy stores, bars, cafes etc.
The Service of the hotel is perfect and the crew is always helpful and kind.
Size of the room is guite good with a much needed air condition. We also got a bed for our baby.
In general the best value for money experience we've had!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My friends and I arrived at the hotel on Sunday evening - as we entered the hotel it felt like we went back in time (like 1950s). The hotel was empty, in total there must have been about 5 guests. When we went to our first room (which was supposed to be non-smoking) we were appauled to find the strong stench of old cigarettes lingering in the air and cob webs in the corners of the room. We went back to reception to complain. When we arrived at the lobby we met another lady (mother) from the UK who explained that she had an awful time at the hotel and was in the middle of changing rooms again after her toilet was blocked. We left the hotel the next day (Monday evening) after seeing THREE LARGE COCKROACHES in total, including one in our bathroom. The manager and workers did not seem bothered - they were fully aware of the cockroaches. Apparently it was being dealt with and 'common in the summer time'. We were given a full refund and spent the rest of our stay elsewhere.If you want to have a nice holiday, please do not go to this hotel. IT IS NOT 4* and IT IS NOT NICE.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have more cockroaches. Rooms on the second floor have not been cleaned pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palmyra Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmyra Beach Hotel

Address: 70 Possidonos Avenue, Glyfada, Athens 166 75, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Glyfada
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmyra Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Palmyra Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palmyra Beach
Palmyra Beach Athens

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palmyra Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.