We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great Views, Friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aegeon Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aegeon Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Aegeon Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   68 Klm Athens- Sounio Ave, Sounio 19500, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great Views, Friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a nice room with great view. The sunset here was amazing. The staff are friendly, room comfortable, good breakfast.

We thought it was a bit pricey for this time of year though. Definitely one of the prettier areas for a relaxing last few days in Greece. The airconditioner is a bit noisy at night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    56
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
38
88
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh + London, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Very nice hotel, very friendly staff, allocated a room on the top (3rd) floor with central sea view and side view of the temple of Poseidon. My daughter and myself came here after two nights in Athens to give our senses a much needed break from the noise, traffic and buildings to the quiet seaside solitude of Sounio and for the temple of course. Our stay was on a Monday and Tuesday, October off season (and very inclement weather!) so it was very quiet with maybe only 3 other rooms occupied at the most.

Travelled down by bus from Athens, took the two hour coastal route, very scenic, there is a quicker non coastal route. Fare was 6.30 euros each way. I'm sure that the driver would have dropped us off but, not knowing any differently, we disembarked at the last stop (the temple) and trecked down the dirt track leading from the hotel to the temple, only had small cases but wouldn't have done that with large cases ! There are taxis there so could have done that. The hotel will drop guests back up to the bus stop when they leave.

Dined twice at Elias restaurant, which blew our meagre dining budget a little but was well worth it, VERY good food. Didn't eat at the hotel apart from breakfast (included in the rate that we had) menu looked ok and would have ate here had we stayed longer.

Our visit here was of course for the temple but would happily come again just for the seaside setting.. want to have sun rather than rain next time!! Although you couldn't wish for a more atmospheric setting for the thunder and lightening we had! :-)

Very pleased with the room, enjoyed sitting out on the balcony (it's where I'm writing this now in fact) could really have done with tea and coffee making facilities as sitting on the balcony at the start or the end of the day is lovely here. Shower is super powerful and will give you and the whole bathroom a good soaking if you're not careful...

Very happy overall and would recommend coming here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Our last night in Greece was spent here, which is perfect considering the distance to the airport. Next trip to Greece this will be the first and last stop on our journey. They have extremely comfortable rooms. Close access to the beach. Wonderful restaurants nearby. Breakfast is vast and varied. Just a few minutes to the temple of Poseidon. The beach is clean and the water was extremely nice for early October. One of the nicest hotels we stayed in Greece. A must do each time for now on.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor facing the temple if possible. Beautiful! Bravo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent one night at this beach hotel on October 1st, arriving after dark without a reservation. We paid 100 Euro for a double room with wifi, breakfast and parking. I thought it was on the high side for the room but I wasn’t going to drive anywhere else at that hour. When I had checked rates on their website it was only 85 Euro but we would have needed to make a reservation. I was especially interested in the location because we wanted to see the Temple of Poseidon which is very close by. The hotel and accommodations were clean. The AC worked fine and there is an elevator from the parking lot level to all the floors so it was very easy to bring our bags into the hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The bedroom was roomy with one large easy chair, a cabinet and closet; could be updated a bit. The bath was large with a tub but there was no way to attach the hand-held shower head to the wall high enough to stand under it. There also was only a very small glass partition and no shower curtain so the bathroom got quite wet. The water pressure was good. The sink had a nice large counter. I usually have almost half a carry-on suitcase full of skin and hair care products and paraphernalia so having storage space in the bath is very important to me. The balcony faced the beach and sea with two chairs and a table.

The breakfast buffet was very nice. There were lots of breads, rolls, loaf cakes, some pastry, donuts, lunch meats, cheeses, coffee, tea, whole pieces of fresh fruit, eggs, bacon and more. There appeared to be juicer machines on the bar so I think you could order fresh fruit/vegetable juice combos. I think there may have been cappuccino too, but I’m not positive.
The beach is sandy with some pebbles. It is sandiest if you walk to the left as you face the beach. There is a great view of the Temple of Poseidon up on the hill and the sea.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at the Aegeon Beach Hotel on the final night of our Greek holiday this month to be reasonably close to Athens Airport (30 mins) without staying at the (expensive) Sofitel there. It is in a picturesque spot overlooking the Temple and a lovely beach with good sunset photo opportunities!
Staff were friendly and helpful. Room had huge bed, balcony overlooking garden and beach, no tea and coffee making kit. Bath/shower was fine when we finally figured out how to turn it on! Beach towels are provided and guests have the choice of comfy loungers and brollys in front of the hotel. Breakfast was rather enjoyable with an excellent choice including bacon and sausages.
We didn't have dinner at the hotel but went to one of the two tavernas next door just for a change which was busy.
Check-out was easy except that we wanted to pay in cash but our booking agent had already whipped the money off our credit card! Not the hotel's fault.
A very pleasant and quiet last night's stay close to ATH.

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a room overlooking the Temple which is lit up at night and quite beautiful, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is by far the best we have stayed in so far on our holiday. It started with our welcome at reception, we arrived early in the morning due to our cruise docking in lavrio at 6am, instead of being told check in was at 2pm we were warmly welcomed and even invited to have breakfast. The room was clean and spacious and elegantly decorated as was the bathroom. The breakfast was superb, both in taste, variety and presentation. The staff were friendly and beautiful. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The rooms are a little dated especially the bathroom which it seemed impossible to take a shower in without getting the floor soaking wet but this is more than compensated by the friendly and helpful staff and the spectacular setting! We will definitely return to this hotel many times on our Greek travels especially as it is only 40 minutes away from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aegeon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegeon Beach Hotel

Address: 68 Klm Athens- Sounio Ave, Sounio 19500, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Sounio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegeon Beach Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aegeon Beach Hotel is placed at the most beautiful spot in Europe, at Cape Sounio, where ancient Greeks worshipped the god of the sea Poseidon, right on the seashore. All 45 rooms claim a superb sea view and a private balcony to marvel the world-known sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aegeon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sounio
Sounio Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aegeon Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.