We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, great trip out from Athens, very windy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Temple of Poseidon Sounion

Temple of Poseidon Sounion
Athinon-Souniou Road, Sounio 999-20, Greece
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$88*
and up
Athens Super Saver: Acropolis Walking Tour plus...
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Sounio
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
101 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Fantastic, great trip out from Athens, very windy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The bus trip along the coast to the temple is very scenic, and the finale is the magnificent temple close to the cliffs. It is a great spot, and the temple fills it admirably. The backdrop against the sun, sea, and sky and truly spectacular, and if you can wait for sunset it is even more gorgeous. I would suggest a jacket or windbreaker as the wind can really gust up.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    100
    19
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Just stunning!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is my favourite place in Athens. The view from the temple to the sea is just amazing. Whenever I feel like I need some alone time, I go there and forget everything by just sitting on the edge of the cliff and looking at the sea. Attention to foreigners: this site is 65 km from the Athens centre. However, it is worth the visit as you can make this a great experience by having a nice swim and a great lunch at the tavern on the nearby beach, which I highly recommend. You can also visit Laurio afterwards, which is 10 km away and has a lot of fish taverns and a nice marina for a stroll.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“stunning site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

stunning site. could have been a little more info available? there is a cafe & shop on the site too - great location, but unfortunatly only slice white bread sandwiches and hot dogs available and no veggie option :(

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“beautiful sunset on the aegean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

the very place where king aegis is said to have thrown himself into the sea on seeing the black sails on the ship. a must see when anywhere near. There is a lovely little cafe there for coffees as you watch the sun drop behind the classical architecture of ancient greece

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Sounio is one of my favourite place on earth. The beautiful temple, the sea surrounding the cape make it truly an amazing place to see.
Easily reached by bus from Athens (depart from Mavromateon and Filelinon- where I got my bus, which was empty but in low season...), the journey there takes about 90/100 minutes and the road is well worth it. I put down my book to look at the landscapes more than once.
I decided to keep this for my last day and it was well worth it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple of Poseidon Sounion also viewed

 

Been to Temple of Poseidon Sounion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Temple of Poseidon Sounion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.