We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Athens Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Athens Airport to your Saves list
Sofitel Athens Airport
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
So Shop Addict
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Ok and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

As close as you get to the airport ,a good working aircondition, a not too overpriced snack bar and a clean room made us enjoy our stay. Some old cigarette smoke in the air was maybe what we not expected. And if you can afford the full breakfast I advise you to take your time, relax and enjoy the hors de oeuvre breakfast, the main breakfast and the dessert breakfast..it was superb. If the rooms and corridors dont give you an impression of luxury the breakfast does.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to write about your stay in our hotel with friends in July and very happy to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and especially the hotel's location by the airport, the level of cleanliness and the breakfast. We thank you once again for your precious comments and look forward to welcoming you again to our premises on your next visits to Athens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    808
    226
    77
    35
See reviews for
384
1,046
280
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

If this what you are looking for, you have come to the right place. The hotel is very conveniently located to Athens airport so for an overnight stay it will be perfect.
The rooms seem to be tiered in categories (superior, deluxe, executive, etc.), which you can only access by your key. Our superior appeared to be on the lowest end, not sure why. The room itself was fine, spacious with a good bathroom with both shower and tub and a comfortable bed, but it could do with some minor refurbishing and a good cleaning particularly considering the steep price you pay.
There is no place to get a snack or something to drink outside of their restaurants, room service or of course the airport so if you are arriving late, plan accordingly.
Breakfast, which was included in our price, was a wonderful surprise with good variety and several stations.
For the convenient location and lack of other hotels near by, this is a fine choice but do not expect 5 star or Sofitel standards.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your constructive comments following your recent stay at Sofitel Athens Airport and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the spaciousness of the room as well as the comfort of our beds, the bathroom's design, the rich variety of our breakfast offer as well as the hotel's location by the airport convenient for early flights or late arrivals. We do value your patronage and look forward to your next stays in our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

After travelling Europe for three weeks we were very happy with our final night stay in Athens. It was easy to get to, 96X bus right from ferry to airport/ hotel front door. It was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. We ordered room service which arrived promptly and was delicious! The bed was beyond comfortable! We had to leave at 5 am to catch our flight and couldn't imagine doing it any other way! It was so convenient making a difficult morning as easy as possible!! If you have an early flight this hotel is the only way to do it!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience following your overnight stay at Sofitel Athens Airport at the end of your trip to Europe and appreciated to learn that you had a memorable experience with us and that you particularly enjoyed the level of cleanliness, the friendliness of our staff as well as the comfort of our beds and your room service order. We thank you once again for your precious feedback and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our premises in order for you to have many more magnifique experiences with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Have been here before and it is a great hotel.The staff very helpful. Expensive but often can find bargains through booking engines, as we did this year. Very quiet, no aircrf noise at all. Will stay againj

Room Tip: wi fi only limited time s chose when you need it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel Athens Airport and for your warm words of appreciation following your stay in our hotel in May with family. Your positive feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously provide a superior service experience to every customer. We do value your patronage and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you back to our premises in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Seaboard
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The Athens Airport Sofitel was very disappointing. We stayed on the third floor in adjoining rooms because the hotel requires families travelling with two children to either rent a suite or two rooms. Setting aside this odd policy, which the hotel candidly explains and tries to address in part w a discount if sought, the hotel is badly in need of refurbishing and better cleaning standards, at least based on our experience. The carpet leading to the rooms was badly frayed and the walls were marred by scuff marks. Inside multiple rooms the floor was chipped and the furniture was badly scratched. I have pictures and suspect management won't bother to deny this. Our first room had long strands of hair on the bed and in the bath. Nothing makes me more uncomfortable than highly visible evidence that sheets had not been attended to appropriately (unless the cleaning staff was the source of the hair - which would still be problematic). We were eventually moved to another room which only had papers from a prior guest on the floor. We decided to let that go. The showers were hot and the restaurants were good and professional, and the location ensures the hotel will stay busy. But this was not the Sofitel I expected or that management should want. When we left, the check out specialist tried to get me to say I enjoyed my stay. I pretended not to hear the question but she asked again and I had to say the stay had issues, which is a shame. Airport hotels can be quite good - the Fairmont in Vancouver and Sheraton in Paris come to mind quickly. This hotel still has a ways to go.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for having taken the time to write about your stay with us in August and were sorry to learn that your recent experience did not meet your expectations. In regards to the accommodation of families in our hotel, we would like to reassure you that due to the design of our rooms and in order to ensure the comfort and well-being of our guests and comply also with the local authorities, we recommend our guests to book either two connecting rooms or a suite whenever the accommodation has to do with a family of two adults and two children such as in your case. We do apologize, on the other hand, for the cleanliness issues you faced in both rooms. Kindly be informed that those were brought to the attention of our Responsible Managers for immediate actions and improvements. We took, additionally, notice of your remarks for the hallways condition overall and thank you once again for your constructive feedback which helps us better understand your expectations.
If you would like to further discuss your experience with me, kindly contact me at h3167@sofitel.com so that I may address it with you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Athens Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.