We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Airport Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Athens Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Athens Airport to your Saves list
Sofitel Athens Airport
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
So Shop Addict
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Certificate of Excellence 2014
USA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good Airport Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here as a layover spot while we took a day trip to Santorini and then onto another Island for a longer stay.
The location of this hotel is the plus; right at the airport.
The hallways smell very musty. The hotel is getting tired and needs to be updated; especially the hallways and the rooms to some extent.
As for our stay the first room we were provided was very hot and dark. I had to have an unpleasant dialog with the front desk in order to be moved.
The restaurant upstairs was closed both days we were here; the downstairs restaurant is 'ok' and a bit pricey; while the bar area is nice enough with late hours of operation.

Room Tip: If you don't have some status with Sofitel the rooms assigned are not the greatest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,155
    831
    234
    81
    36
See reviews for
392
1,076
295
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Right there outside the terminal, no taxi needed. We were using the airport as our base for a few days, to see Athens and then fly to Santorini. Great location, and quiet! Could not figure out how they did it with location right at the airport.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for your review in Tripadvisor following your recent stay in our hotel with your family. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and your positive feedback is greatly appreciated. We do value your patronage and look forward to your next visits to our premises in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We spent a night in this hotel awaiting for a flight connection they day after.
The strenghts of this hotel are: the location which is just across the airport and at walking distance , the restaurant at the ground floor which serves good local dishes and is open until 02.00 AM and the rooms . We stayed in a Deluxe room at the 6th floor that was very spacious and confortable.
The personnel was very kind and did really its best to make you feel welcome.

Only downside: The internet access is a paid one and you can have only 15 min of free access Considering that we paid between room and restaurants almost 400 Eur (in two for a night stay) a complimentary internet should be something the hotel management should evaluate.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for having taken the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel Athens Airport. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the comfort and spaciousness of your room as well as the kindness of our staff and your dining experience at our Artemis bar on the ground floor. We took notice as well of your remark for the internet service. We do value your patronage and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our premises in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel is very convenient if you want to stay at the Athens Airport. The hotel is modern, clean and has comfortable beds. Our only issue is that we booked one room on Booking.com for 2 adults and 2 children. About 3 days prior to our stay, we received an email noting that the rooms had a maximum occupancy limit of 2 and that we needed to book an additional room for our family. This was surprising and cost considerably more than we had budgeted for hotels on our departure from Athens. The hotel offered a small discount, but we felt completely screwed over by this hotel. So hotel was good, but we ended up paying twice what we booked. Be aware and make sure things are very clear if you book at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay in our hotel in July and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and especially the level of cleanliness and the comfort of our beds. As far as our family accommodation policy is concerned, we wish to reassure you that either you book directly with our hotel or use a different reservation channel, our accommodation policy and conditions are the same. We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our premises on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I did a RYA sailing course through Aegean sailing on Aegina Island. what a fabulous trip. If you've never done this ....do it. Its tops on my vacation list and i will continue to do this around the world. What an exhilarating wonderful time and the yacht master Mark was amazing. I came away with a new family after five days of sailing islands for 125 Nautical miles. i ended my trip with a nice plunge into the sofitel hotel. it was truly luxurious and more than convenient to catch a flight to Lesvos early the next day. i took bus 96x from Piraeus Port for about a 40miin drive straight to the sofitel. Staff was wonderful and I was safe as a single women. Bus cost 5 Euro.. cheap and easy. I would stay here again. Easy peasy for the airport.

Room Tip: don't waste money taxi riding to and from the airport. Stay put here and treat yourself for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience following your stay in our hotel in July and were delighted to learn that you had a memorable experience with us and that you especially enjoyed the behaviour of our staff as well as the hotel's location. We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our premises in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Was greeted right away with a warm welcome. Got checked in and upgraded to a vip suite with complimentary drinks. Hermes bath products. Amazing service from the servers at the restaurant which also has huge portions and really good pasta and risotto. The bed is really comfortable with plush comforter and pillows. The room size is a bit small compared to those in north america, however thats how it is anywhere in europe. Walking distance to the airport. Absoloutely lovely, will be staying again next week when we fly back home.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience following your recent stay with us and were delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable and memorable experience from your arrival to the hotel to the comfort and amenities of your room and your restaurant experience. We do value your patronage and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to the Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We had a pleasant last night stay at the Sofitel Athens Hotel before an early morning flight. This hotel is nothing out of the ordinary and is a bit expensive. However, it is super convenient if you have an early morning flight. Just get up, check out, and walk across the street to the airport. The staff were excellent--friendly and helfpul. The outside area for light meals and cocktails was very nice and surprisingly quiet considering it's right next to a busy airport. The hotel pool was fine but the gym was very small and limited. Overall, the price of the hotel was well worth the convenience of a quick and easy departure after a great vacation touring Greece.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience following your stopover in our hotel prior to an early morning flight. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff as well as your Artemis pergola experience. We took notice as well of your remark for the gym area and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our premises in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Athens Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.