We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and very comfortable airport hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Athens Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Athens Airport to your Saves list
Sofitel Athens Airport
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
So Shop Addict
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
columbus, ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Convenient and very comfortable airport hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We needed a place to stay near the Athens airport so that we could get an early flight the next morning. I'm surprised to read some recent negative reviews. We found the staff uniformly helpful and gracious, and the WiFi was free and worked well. The airport terminal is 100 yards from the front door, but we heard no plane (or any other) noise. The room was comfortable and spacious, the TV and the A/C worked fine, and we had a pleasant if fairly expensive dinner at one of the two hotel restaurants. A variety of cheaper meal choices are available in the airport as well. We were very pleased with everything.

Room Tip: Higher level rooms are more expensive but our room on the second floor was more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport and were delighted to learn that you had a memorable experience with us and that you especially enjoyed the helpfulness of our staff overall as well as the comfort of your room and our internet service. We took notice as well of your remark for our restaurant prices and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,124
    815
    231
    78
    35
See reviews for
389
1,053
286
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here just to catch our flight home the next morning. Check in was a breeze at 10pm. The hotel is modern, clean and quiet. I never heard an airplane in our 3rd floor room. Nicely appointed. Definitely worth staying here based on convenience alone. We had a king bed even though it's listed as a queen on the website.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your precious feedback following your stay in our hotel and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the design, soundproofing and cleanliness of the hotel as well as the speed of the check-in. We thank you once again for having taken the time to write and look forward to your next visits to our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Although the staff was very friendly and the atmosphere much better than the airport, we planned to spent a couple of hours to have a coffee, drinks and rest before the next flight. Unfortunately they asked for 5euro for 1 hour of internet. This made us leave and move to the airport as a matter of principle. We have had beverages and we were a paying customer, however they refused to provide us with free internet access! very disappointing. If they have given us internet for free I am sure that our bill would be 4-5 times more than what we did as we would stay much longer and spend more on drinks. For 5 euros they lost probably 100.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent visit to Athens while on a business trip and took good notice of your remark for our internet procedure. We thank you once again for having taken the time to write and hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to our premises on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I hate to say it, but I'll probably stay here again the next time I'm in Athens as it's really quite convenient. But, ugh. Just. Ugh.

Okay, for starters.

Outside of reception and housekeeping, the staff is incredibly rude. They pretty much just stare at you like you're a hunk of crap. From the service in the restaurant to the spa upstairs. It was so obnoxious that when my friend and I went to check out the pool, we were followed by a spa worker. Who just stood there, and stared at us. Like..what are we going to do? Steal the pool?

The food. It's really crap. and ridiculously expensive. The strawberry daiquiri was delicious...and fourteen euros. But that's really the only plus about anything we ate at the hotel.

The room:

plus: it was QUIET. Super quiet. Definitely sound proofed and you could block out all light and pretty much just sleep like the dead. The bathroom was nice, divided up into a separate toilet and separate shower/tub room. Water pressure was nice.

minuses: the temperature control was bananas. The room became so cold we were shivering, but then turning it up a few degrees made it a sweat box. We ended up with cold but the covers were so thick and heavy we ended up sweating through the night. Just bizarre.

The TV didn't work. And we only had one towel for two people. We had an early flight the next morning, so honestly I didn't report the missing towel and broken tv because we were running behind (sorry future guests). I can't say whether or not the hotel fixes things in a timely manner. I'm sure they do, the room wasn't shabby at all with plenty of space for luggage, and they obviously want to cater to high end people...but still. How do you put only one towel in a room? Bizarre.

So yeah, I'll probably stay here again ONLY BECAUSE the airport is right frickin there which is so nice but I'll know to expect rude service, being followed like a thief, weird temperature controls and probably having to call for more towels. Then again, I've stayed at other hotels with airport shuttles and they were nicer with better food and nicer staff. So...all depends on what you're willing to put up with.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay in our hotel with your friends and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed your room & bathroom design as well as the level of soundproofing, the strawberry daiquiri you had in the bar and the hotel’s convenient location at the airport.
We were sorry to learn, on the other hand, that you had difficulties with the setting of the
temperature through the thermostat available in the room and that the service provided by our staff other than the Front Desk and Housekeeping employees did not meet your expectations.
We wish to reassure you, however, of all our staff’s full dedication and commitment to provide a superior service experience and satisfy each guest of the hotel. We took notice as well of your remarks for the towels and the food quality and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again to our premises in order for you to have a brand new experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We needed a place to stay, as we were only passing through Athens with a 12 hour layover. This hotel is literally right outside the airport front door, so extremely convenient. The hotel amenities are what you would expect from the Sofitel name, and completely sound proof. We were a bit worried that due to its proximity to the airport it would be noisy, but it was perfectly quiet, not a sound. Slept very well. This is a perfect place to stay the night if you have too. A 40 minute train ride will take you close to the center of town, with a short jump over to the subway system needed too. Expensive but like I said, right at the airport. Would stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your warm words of appreciation for our hotel following your overnight stay with us in May. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the comfort, amenities and the level of soundproofing provided. We do value your patronage and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our premises in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Athens Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.