We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Athens Airport

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Athens Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Spata
Rhodes, Greece
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was at Sofitel a total of three nights in March, and each experience was superb. I found the staff to be cordial, friendly and accomodating, even in high stress times. For example, Aegean Airlines cancelled all flights to the islands one night, so they sent me back to Sofitel, along with an untold number of other stranded passengers! The staff handled the situation quickly and efficiently, and with patience and understanding. The rooms were superb; the shower area was magnificent; and even though my room faced the airport, noise was non-existent. I came to love the time I could sit out in the outdoor cafe and enjoy wonderful food, excellent service and great wine. I will always stay at Sofitel now that I have learned how incredibly easy it is to get there. And yes, you can rent a trolley for 1 € to push your luggage across the street to Sofitel. On cost: my opinion is that by the time you pay at least the minimum 50 € taxi ride (one way) into Athens, then 50 € back to the airport, you actually end up paying less for your accomodations at Sofitel. Taxi fares are set by the unions, and you will see signs upon departing the airport that the minimum fare is 50 €, even if it's only a few kilometers (I got caught on that last year!) Also, having been witness to one too many demonstrations in downtown Athens, I really had no desire to go there. It was much more pleasurable to simply relax on the patio, read my Kindle, and talk to various people.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. I would say however that there is little difference between the deluxe and exec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel Athens Airport and for having taken the time to write about your stays in our hotel in March. It is our pleasure to learn that you had memorable experiences with us. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff since we strive to provide a superior service experience to every customer. We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    991
    709
    174
    55
    26
See reviews for
329
879
249
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

If you have to overnight at Athens airport there's really only one place: this one. But the absence of real choice has never led to any reduction in quality. Situated bang opposite the terminal you are in the comfort of this Sofitel in a few minutes, being welcomed with the best Greek hospitality and about to have a very sound, comfortable sleep in a quiet, cosy room that has all the amenities you could want. And if you are hungry the 24 hour ground floor restaurant or the 8th floor one - a little more "stylish" (though I'm not persuaded the food is better!) will meet your needs. I visit 7 or so times a year on the way to my island home, and look forward to my stays almost as much as I do to my home!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your review in Tripadvisor and for your loyalty to Sofitel Athens Airport. My team and myself appreciated to learn that you always enjoy the Greek hospitality and feel like at home on your stays with us. We thank you once again for your warm words of appreciation and look forward to welcoming you again to our premises on future occasions for many more magnifique memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

If you are arriving late this is the perfect option. Other reviewers have said all there is to say about the convenient location and about the quiet well-appointed rooms so I won 't repeat. We had a very comfortable overrnight stay topped off with Sofitel's fabulous buffet breakfast of Greek specialities. We were so impressed that we came back specially, for a late lunch/early dinner before catching our flight home. A little expensive maybe but you get what you pay for and quite honestly this meal was the best we experienced in Greece on this trip. Well done to the wonderful hardworking and attentive team.

Rental car tip: pick up the car the next morning and save yourself the late pickup fee, since the hotel is literally only a few steps from arrivals (indeed considerably nearer than the rental lot).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your recent experience from your stay in our hotel and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast with Greek specialities as well as your late lunch/early dinner experience before your flight and your overall experience in general. We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had a short stay there and it was a great hotel. Right next to the airport (30meters) but still quite. Friendly staff and an exquisit breakfast. Ride of 45min to downtown by metro would be the only negative point. But then again 45 min is nothing for this size of a city

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your loyalty to Accorhotels and for having taken the time to write about your short stay in our hotel. We appreciated your warm words for the hotel in general, the friendly staff and the breakfast. We thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you again to the Sofitel Athens Airport on next occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed there for 1 night, after returning our rental car in the nearby lot and before our flight home.
Reception was very efficient.
The rooms are comfortable and clean, have a large bathroom.
We did not use any of the hotel facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear valuable guest,
We thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience following your stay in our hotel. We were happy to learn that you appreciated the cleanliness and the comfort of your room, the efficiency of our staff and our location which is indeed very convenient for early flights.
We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

It is a bit more expensive than other hotels around the airport, but one thing to consider is the cost of the taxi to the airport. Once you include that fare it on par for price. The hotel itself is very comfortable and quiet. We booked the hotel because we had an early flight the next mornings and loved being able to simply walk over to the airport in the morning.
The service at the front desk was friendly and helpful.
The resturant we had a chance to try for breakfast, the food was tasty however they had their own take on some classic dishes.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from the elevators, the views are nice on the upper floors on the nor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear valuable guest,
My team and myself would like to thank you for your review in Tripadvisor following your stay in our hotel. It is indeed our pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience. Your constructive feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and look forward to your next visits to our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly reception, lovely room with big comfortable beds. The shower is a large room with a rain shower, very comfortable. Great breakfast buffet.
Furthermore nice terrace outside where one can relax, have a drink and sit in the sun in the morning with a coffee (and a cigar).
And all that at 50 m from the departure hall.
Will certainly come back!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your review in Tripadvisor following your stay in our hotel on business and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the friendliness of the reception staff, the overall quality of your accommodations as well as your pergola experience which provides indeed relaxation to all travellers either on business or leisure. We thank you once again for your constructive feedback and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Spata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Athens Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.