We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Athens Airport

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Athens Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAGNIFIQUE BREAKFAST
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Spata
houston, texas
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Depending on the traveler's needs, this can be an excellent choice. First, it's the ONLY hotel at the Athens airport. Directly across the street from the terminal. All other 'airport' hotels are a cab ride away. It is a very pretty property, rooms well appointed and clean. Nice restaurant/bar area. It is a 3 minute walk to the light rail station, about 25-30 minutes into town, fare is 8 euros. We received a very competitive internet rate when we booked, but book early. The staff was very attentive and polite, speaking excellent English. This is nothing to say that this is not a first class hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor following your stay in our hotel in November with your family. We appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the hotel's location, the rooms general condition and cleanliness, the restaurant and bar areas, the service provided by our staff. As far as our prices are concerned, our guests can indeed benefit from very competitive rates when they book in advance.
We thank you once again for having taken the time to write about your experience and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    992
    711
    175
    55
    26
See reviews for
329
881
249
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The major plus for this hotel is that it is located at the airport, avoiding the need for a trip back into town.

However, you pay a premium for the experience. The rooms are acceptable - nothing that special - on the European small size.

The inside swimming pool was small. The ventilation system failed to remove the strong chlorine smell in the room.

Check in was slow with a queue of people waiting to check in.

The buffet breakfast was fair - expensive for what it provided.

Airport hotels are never that remarkable.

The Sofitel manages to re-inforce this view with a product that provides poor price value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay in our hotel on business purpose and were sorry to learn that your overall experience as a guest did not meet your expectations.
We took good notice of your remarks for the check-in process, our indoor swimming pool and the breakfast buffet.
As far as our prices are concerned, we would like to recommend you to always book well in advance in order to be able to benefit from our best offers.
We were happy to learn, on the other hand, that you appreciated the hotel's convenient location at the airport area.
We thank you once again for your comments and hope to have to opportunity of welcoming you again to Sofitel Athens Airport on other occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night after a late flight arrival. Staff welcoming and professional. Comfortable room. Walked out of airport and across street to the entrance. Excellent breakfast. Noted an interesting upcoming concert-I don't know if this is a regular occurrence but was impressed with the quality of the upcoming event.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to our hotel and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of your room as well as the quality of the breakfast and the professionalism of our staff.
As you mentioned it in your review, Sofitel Athens Airport hosted a Polish Festival for a one week's period. A well-known and exceptional pianist as well as two cooks from Sofitel Warsaw made on this special occasion the attendies of the festival travel to the romantic melodies of the famous Composer Chopin and discover the Polish flavours.
We thank you once again for your precious feedback and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

On 14.11.12, due to a schedule change to the Crete to Gatwick flight we had to overnight in Athens. Unfortunately not long enough to go into the centre of the city so chose to have a meal at the hotel. From the friendly professional welcome, through the upgraded room with great shower, excellent buffet restaurant and attentive waiting staff, to the efficient departure, our overnight stay couldn't have been better. Good value for money. We will definitely visit again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for having taken the time to post on Tripadvisor your experience following your overnight stay in our hotel on the 14th of November.
We were more than delighted to learn that you had a memorable experience from your arrival to your room, the quality of the buffet selections provided at the restaurant, your departure as well as the friendliness and professionalism of the staff.
We thank you once again for your comments and look forward to your next stays at Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is steps from the airport-- in fact you just cross the street and you're there. There are even airport carts at the lobby to help you make the 3 minute crossing. The hotel is unremarkable and rooms are very small -but clean and comfortable. The swimming pool is small but indoors so all-seasons. The lobby bar is a good place to get a drink and have a snack although it is a limited menu. The rate for the hotel seems high for a basic airport hotel (i think it was 200 euros!) but if you know that it is 50+ euros to get to downtown Athens and a good 60 minutes at times, it is actually worth the price and convenience. Plus if you want to get to Athens, you can take the clean and efficient public train which leaves just next door from the hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay in our hotel. My team and myself appreciated to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience, the hotel’s facilities, the comfort of your room as well as our convenient location just in front of the Athens Airport and a few steps from the metro station.
We thank you once again for sharing your experience and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Best location for transfer or early morning flights. Modern, well maintened house with great service. The staff were pleasant and freiendly in all situations. We had a nice upgrade upon our arrival. The room was spacious and extremly comfy with clean and modern bathroom. Good food in the restaurant however not cheap. Great breakfast. Definitely I will stay again there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport on August and for your warm words of appreciation for the quality of service provided by our staff. We appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the upgrade and the comfort of your room, the menu selection in our restaurants as well as the hotel's location which is very convenient for the early morning flights.
We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Spata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Athens Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.