We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Across the street from the Airport” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Athens Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Athens Airport to your Saves list
Sofitel Athens Airport
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
So Shop Addict
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Gaithersburg, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Across the street from the Airport”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is right across the street from the Athens International Airport. Although pricy, it is the perfect place to stay if you have an early flight out of Athens.

The room is a decent size & has separate rooms for shower/bath and toilet. Also in the room are a safe for storing your valuables and slippers, & you can ask the concierge for an electrical adapter/converter.

From the hotel, you can easily walk to the metro/train station (right behind the hotel) or to the bus stop at the airport & take them to downtown Athens. The metro goes right to Monastiraki, where you can shop, eat, and walk to the Acropolis. The bus will take you to Syntagma Square - a longer walk to the Acropolis, but it allows you to visit the Temple of Zeus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport in October. We were very happy to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience, the design of your room as well as the hotel's location with easy access to the city centre by underground or by bus. We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to your next stays in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,122
    815
    230
    78
    35
See reviews for
388
1,052
286
303
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to catching an early flight from Athens. We cannot fault this hotel - only wished we had longer to enjoy the facilities. From the welcome by Panayiotis on the door to the lovely bar staff (George), it was a treat from beginning to end. The room was spacious and comfortable, the facilities excellent, the bar food delicious. If there was anything that could have been improved it was the extra bed provided for our 10-year-old; this didn't quite match the luxury of the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your experience in Tripadvisor following your overnight stay at Sofitel Athens Airport in October. My team and myself appreciated to learn that you had a memorable experience from your arrival to the overall quality of the accommodations and the quality of food provided at the bar.
Additionally, we took good notice of your remark in regards to the quality of the extra bed.
We thank you once again for your precious feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our premises on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel first time. Just the welcome is not like in other Hotels. Its warm annd friendly and you are welcomed as a guest. As well Hotel is just opposite airport, you hear nothing. I slept very well and I got an upgrade as well. Be sure, I come back, again in this Hotel. I am really impressed about this Hotel and can recommend it highly. I slept well, it was clean and I had all i needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear valuable guest,
My team and myself would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay in our hotel. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed the soundproofing of the room and the service provided from our staff.
We thank you once again for your precious feedback and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stay at the Sofitel Athens for one night prior to an early flight back to the UK. Service was first class and we were nominated as customer of the day. the upgrade to the executive floor was gratefully received and made the stay great value. Cannot fault the hotel in any way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear valuable guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay in our hotel. My team and myself appreciated to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience as a guest in our hotel.
We thank you once again for sharing your experience and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay if you don't need to stay right in Athens. For an airport layover it could not be more convenient. You go out exit number 3 from the arrival area, cross the street, and you're there. We stayed at both the beginning and the end of our trip, and appreciated the convenience. The rooms are fine--not spacious, but the bed was comfortable, the shower was good, and the free wireless internet connection worked just fine. Though we were looking out at the runway, there was absolutely no airplane noise. Zero. The food in the restaurant was fine, though not spectacular, and I thought it was a bit overpriced. The restaurant staff, however, were excellent--very friendly and eager to please.

During the first part of my stay I needed to rent a car one day and book ferry tickets for another day. The fact that both of these could be done at the airport made the Sofitel location an even greater advantage for me. If you're looking for airport convenience and a comfortable room, the Sofitel is a good choice.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear valuable guest,
My team and myself would like to thank you for your positive review of our hotel and were delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable experience both times you have stayed with us.
Your positive feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff since they work exceptionally hard to make sure that every guest feels special.
We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Booked hotel as my flight left Athens airport at 6:30am; this hotel was just across the street from the terminal. Hotel was clean, service was friendly and the food in the cafe was very good. I was able to book a hair cut and a manicure in the Spa -- staff was very friendly and service oriented. Would have been really nice had the pool been outdoors so that we could have enjoyed a last afternoon in Greece in the sun!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear valuable guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed the quality of service provided in our restaurants, the hotel’s wellness centre as well as the hotel's location which is very convenient for the early morning flights.
We thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Athens Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.