We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5* hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Plaza Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52nd Klm Athens - Souniou Ave. | Anavyssos Beach, Anavyssos 19013, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Anavyssos
athens gr
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Not a 5* hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I must start this review by stating that this is NOT a 5* hotel by any standard. Having stayed in numerous hotels around the world I would place it in a standard 4 star category.
The only thing similar to a 5* hotel is its price range but this is something that a traveler must expect when looking out for a hotel in Attika. The real 5* hotels of the area have double Plaza's price.
My review is rather hard on this hotel just because they advertise themselves as a top hotel.
The check in procedure was fast and the reception staff very friendly, helpful and professional.
The room was rather small and the bed quite uncomfortable. I asked for a double bed which they promised that they will deliver with a slight time delay, but in vain. We had two twin beds attached to each other, with separate linen for each bed, which is definitely not the standard for a hotel of this price range.
The hotel was overall clean enough but outside our room, on the corridor floor, a room service tray was lying there for at least 8 hours before anyone picked it up.
The breakfast was just ok, with a mid-range selection of food and a dozen of hard working employees trying to cope with the busy restaurant of a Sunday morning. We had to wait for at least 15 minutes to be served coffee when it is so easy to have a self service coffee machine for the clientele!
There is a nice beach within the hotel premises with enough sun beds and there is a fairly big swimming pool too.
Overall the hotel is not bad but, as I wrote above, it is not a five star establishment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    41
    30
    10
    11
See reviews for
33
39
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed 3-4 time in this hotel over the past years. It's the best hotel in the area but closer to 4 than 5 stars.
The hotel has a private beach of good standards but also manages the nearby beach. and this is done in a terrible way. It is by far the worst beach in the area (and beyond) in terms of infrastructure. Dirty sun beds dirty non-functioning umbrellas . The worst experience by far. And the most expensive in the area. These people should loose their permit to exploit the beach.
I have to use this beach when all the other nearby are packed. And it's just getting worst year by year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anavyssos hotels

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Great location but lacks the excellence and facilities of a proper 5* hotel/resort. Nice beach location but service a bit poor and slow. Rooms really nice with great beds and sea views (if you're lucky enough to get one).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a couple of days for business. The beach and the sea are amazing and right in front of the hotel. The view and the rooms were very beautiful. Breakfast was very good and with lots of variety. I found that the service could be upgraded but otherwise I found everything as it should be. I think that this hotel would also be suitable for families with little children because of its proximity to the sea and relevant facilities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel is located in an amassing beachside location near Athens and Athens Int Airport. The buildings, rooms and the landscape of the hotel is very nice, certainly above average.

The employees are extremely polite with an exception of the reception manager, an old lady who looks and acts like she is an owner of a low budget motel in a third world country. The rest of the reception personnel were very helpful and polite.

The service at the hotel and pool bars was extremely slow! We never got anything in less than 30 minutes (including coffee and water) and it took up to one hour to get served.

The restaurant service was really good and the food excellent.

We had a lot of mosquitoes and that must be a general problem because there was an anti mosquito device in the room but there were no tablets to use it with. I aske in the reception for some but they didn't have any!!!

We also had to change room the second night because when we got in the room it was full of ants (thousands of ants)!!!

Also the gym and spa were not open during our stay.

The hotel could be perfect 10 but a lot of small things made it less than average.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms are not worth it. Bad view of an ugly town and the hotel parking. The sea-vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Although I wouldn't really call it a five-star hotel, Plaza resort comprises a wonderful setting as it is built very close to the sea and the gulf of Anavyssos. It includes a lovely and large size swimming pool and meters away there is private beach which is not fantastic but is nice. The breakfast buffet was rich but to me a four-star rather than a five-star in terms of quality. Same goes for the Easter dinner and Easter Sunday lunch we had as well as for service in general. The fruit salad however, was plainly a joke! 5€ for a tiny bowl with chopped pieces of apple!
The rooms are rather nice and the beach facing ones offer fantastic sea views. In that respect, I would go for the ones on the third floor rather than the second. Another amazing thing was the free wi-fi service that was available everywhere around the hotel and beach,even in the elevators! As we went with my gf there in May, the hotel was far from full and the weather was excellent so we had a wonderful and relaxing time. It' s a bit pricey but would recommend it for short weekend break as it is not that far from Athens.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is perfect located at the sand beach of anavissos. The rooms are comfortable and the view at the sea just perfect! The rooms and the corridors need a renovation and the equipment leaves a lot of wishes open ( for example no el. Sockets near the mirror, or no mirror near the sockets). The breakfast was very good in matters of quality and quantity. the access to the beach is very comfortable and you can use the sun beds and umbrellas from the hotel free of charge.
We spent the first night of our wedding at the hotel, and although we informed the hotel in advance, they just ignored us. The personnel was very impolite and every wish we had was just impossible. Although we had paid for breakfast, it was impossible to organise for us a late breakfast after our wedding, and they forced us to pay another 37€ for a club sandwich and 2 coffees, that they brought to our room (they collected the rests after 24 hours). Even the request for some photo shooting at the hotel was at the beginning impossible, after negotiations with the management was allowed, and during the shooting the kept asking us how long will it take. We felt very uncomfortable in total and we had the feeling that we were unwanted. Perhaps they prefer congresses than individuals. Summing up, very good location, nice beach, good breakfast, but with unacceptable service. For this amount of money, you can find similar and more comfortable hotels at the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anavyssos
4.7 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aegeon Beach Hotel
Aegeon Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sounio
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
11.1 mi away
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel
11.2 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
11.8 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort Hotel

Address: 52nd Klm Athens - Souniou Ave. | Anavyssos Beach, Anavyssos 19013, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Anavyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Anavyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Plaza Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Anavyssos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.