We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Youth Hostel Los Amigos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Youth Hostel Los Amigos
Save
You added Youth Hostel Los Amigos to your Saves list
Calle Central (Next to Pro-Peten), Flores, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Its ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

You cant cook or bring your own drinks, so you have to spend your money in the restaurant. An the fact that the hostels have a travel agency they never give you the best advise as they want to sell their tours. You can find cheaper deals on tours and transport around the island, specially to Semuc champey. It has a bar at night but its far from the rooms, so that's good. Despite that: they are friendly and have nice service. Its a good place to meet people. It has a really nice lounge area. Its clean and nice rooms but it can be too hot in the big dorm. The food is good but you can have really good food much cheaper outside. It seams cheap if you compare to back home, but dint forget it is Guatemala and you can eat good for 20 QTZ.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Owner at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to respond! I appreciate it! First of all I will be so free to react to some of your quote! You say you have to spend money in our restaurant because you cant cook in a kitchen. I think that is a strange logic. You are free to spend your money anywhere you want. But of course to enjoy certain facilities like we offer in the hostel, it needs to be paid for by something! So of course most people understand why we have set things up the way we have!

Further more, it is not that we are exploiting with our prices. We have an all day happy hour with Q 10 delicious natural cocktails! We have beer at the same price most stores sell them for.

Another of your quotes: You can eat for Q 20. You can have 3 tacos for Q 20 with a third class quality of meat with a delicious mayonaise sauce and a greasy tortilla! Trust me. Everything has its price and hygenic standards are not everywhere the same!

We offer enormous plates, prepared with love and made healthy. This means we don't use any artificial additives like Monosodio Glutomato. Everything is thoroughly cleaned and we cook with purified water.

It is good to hear that besides a small issues you had a good time with us!

All the best! Matthias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    107
    39
    36
    20
See reviews for
5
93
96
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had heard wonderful things about this hostel but thought it was overrated when we got there. The dorms were stuffy and really needed some form of air con in the TREMENDOUS Flores heat. There is no kitchen and as the hostel serves food they don't allow you to bring your own food in, which is irritating when travelling on a budget. Having said that, the food the hostel served was really good and the bathrooms were clean, it has a friendly travellers atmosphere and given how small Flores is it may well be the best choice on the island.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Owner at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi! Thanks for taking time to let vent your opinion on our place! We do the best we can to help everyone have a great time but some things are beyond our control. For example the hot weather. June and July are the hottest months in the year and beside one very strong fan at the window, the two roof fans and the air circulation in the dorm there is not much we can do. You are mentioning an airconditioning. But also mentioning you are a budget traveller. Of course you will understand that an airconditioning in a dorm would mean a higher price in the dorm. As you know, in the hostel we offer accomodation for everyone. For Q 10 more you could have choosen the Deluxe dorm for example, which is a little bit cooler or for Q 120 we can offer you a private room with shared Bathroom for 2 persons. That is only Q5 more per person as taking the dorm and in the room each bed has its own strong fan!

Another thing you mention is that we don't allow food inside of the restaurant. That is correct since we have 24 local workers to support from our income and as in every restaurant it is not done to bring your own food inside. However we have garden space where you can eat your own food. And with a bit of creativity one can also have a great little picknik on one of the docks. I am just saying. There are other places outside of the restaurant, within the hostel and without the hostel.

Well, I hope you have a great trip ahead. And again, thanks for commenting as we will do what we can to improve!

Matthias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Definitely one of the best Hostels I have ever stayed in. Very clean, friendly staff members and reasonably priced. Our room was very clean with comfortable beds. I really loved the overall look and feel of this hostel. It seems to attract very cool backpackers and always has interesting people in the lounge area. The food is a bit pricey but very good quality. The bar upstairs is a great place to start the evening or party there all night. They also have a huge library of great books. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and stay in one of the privates or smaller dorms. Not much more money but much quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Owner at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi! Thanks for taking the time to let us know you liked Los Amigos! It was our pleasure to have you! Have the best trip and hopefully we will see you here again one day!

Warm Greetz, Matthias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We spent 2 nights in a double room with private bathroom. The room was clean and spacious but also tucked away in a quieter area of the hostel. The bathroom was also clean with luke warm water. The staff are fantastic and able to organise anything for you, from day trips to Tikal to international transport. They have their own restaurant and the food is delicious. We highly recommend their smoothies. The communal area is a great place to either socialise if you wish or catch up on emails in a hammock. Fab place, the best place we saw whilst there.

Room Tip: Double room (2 double beds) with private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Owner at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Kiran!

Thanks for your positive review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our place so much! Thanks for sharing and we will keep spreading the good vibes! Enjoy the rest of your trip!

Matthias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hostel is well located in Flores, very social with a bar (that moves at night, so the rooms are quiet). The restaurant is very good and the rooms are clean, big and beautifully decorated. The travel agency is the cheapest and most relieable in town. But the thing that made me appreciate this hostel especially is the staff, who were super nice, professional and willing to help when you have problems. I was a pretty annoying guest- changed rooms, changed shuttel time in the last minute at the agency etc. and the staff were always very helpful and did everything with a smile.
Definitely the best hostel I stayed in during my travels in Guatemala.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Owner at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi, thanks so much for taking the time to let us and others know how much you liked our place, By the way, you weren`t annoying at all. It was our pleasure to help you. Warm Greetings Matthias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plains, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Los Amigos was in a great location in the center of Flores. However, the service was poor, as we emailed them multiple times and never received a response. Also, our room was terrible, as we found 3 cochroaches and there was a hole in the wall to the outside. I would not recommend this hostel to anyone, especially since there are many other hostel options in Flores.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Owner at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi, First of all, thanks for letting us and others know about your experience. It is unfortunate to hear about your poor experience as we do our absolute best to have everyone leave happy and content and after 10 years of experience I know we succeed almost always.

It won`t help you, but we did already solve the problem with the hole in the wall which I am sure was the cause for your irritation as the whole hostel is obviously cleaned on a daily basis thoruoghly and being supervised by myself. We wish you a great extended trip and better experiences in the future. Warm Greetz Matthias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Los Amigos. We stayed in a private double which was actually in the Los Amigos Dos building, just round the corner and away from some of the noise. Los Amigos is extremely well set up for backpackers and a lot of other hostels could learn something here.

The food they served was cheap enough with big portions, but there weren't any small options.

The in-house travel agent, Nelson, was very helpful. Lots of local information and they offer tours/shuttles to anywhere you'd like to go from here - Tikal, Semuc Champey, Belize, Antigua, etc.

One criticism was that they don't accept card payments, even though all the bills are on a computerised payment system. And if the only ATM on Flores Island is out of order and your shuttle is about to leave you have a little problem.

Also everything had a distinct backpacker scent, but this is easily ignored.

All in all a great stay. We were also pleasantly surprised by how lovely Flores itself is, with colourful houses, beautiful views over the lake and great restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Owner at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hi guys! Thanks so much for sharing your good experience with us and others! It is for us a nice way of getting feedback for our efforts and hard work. It was our pleasure to have you and we hope to see you or your friends back in the future. Warm Greetz Matthias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Youth Hostel Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Los Amigos

Address: Calle Central (Next to Pro-Peten), Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Los Amigos Hotel Flores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Youth Hostel Los Amigos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.