We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casona de la Isla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casona de la Isla to your Saves list
Hotel Casona de la Isla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 30 de junio, Isla de Flores, Flores, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Flores
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2007

This is a great little hotel for $50 a night. We stayed one night and found the staff to be helpful, the rooms are small, but clean and tidy - with great views over the lake. If you go to Flores, stay here

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    75
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
55
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night and were pleasantly surprised. The concierge was very friendly though they didn’t speak much English. There were 3 in our party and the room we got was surprisingly big. The room consisted of 3 double beds with ample room to walk around. The room also had air conditioning and the bathroom was very clean. The pool area looked clean and appealing, however, we didn’t get to try it out. I highly recommend this hotel for its good price and high quality. I will definitely stay here again if we come back.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2006

For what you pay roughly $50 a night it is a great hotel for people not looking for a 5 star treatment. However, for non-Spanish speakers it is recommended you learn some basics first as many of the staff speak very little English. If you are planning a trip to Tikkal (the Mayan Ruins) I suggest you go for a smaller tour company especially if you plan to get there early to see the sun rise. Most people use San Juan Tours (very popular) but by the time they picked up everybody in the huge coach half of the morning is over. Also, we paid for an English speaking guide but when we got there the guide didn't show ! Walking around Tikkal without a guide is pretty useless as there are so much history and finer details to be learned than what the tour books cover.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

The three of us liked this hotel for everything it had. Paid about 65 USD per night for the room we got on the 4th floor with 3 beds. Located in Flores--a nice area where you can comfortably walk around day/night. The pool was great after a day of riding on buses coming all the way from the Mexico/Belize border or after a day at the Tikal ruins. Water in the pool was the perfect temp. for the hot days we spent there April 9-11. Didn't try the restaurant since there are plenty in the area. Nor did we order food poolside. Room had plenty of hot water, A/C, a fan on the high ceiling, TV with English channels, spacious closet, and chairs outside of rooms to view the awesome sunset. It's also right down the street from the San Juan travel agency from where we got our tickets to Tikal. (Go to Tikal on the 5AM departure--before the swarms of tourists arrive around 8! You won't be disappointed!)

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2006

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. We picket the place, more or less at random, after being dropped in Flores by a taxi from the airport. At $45/night, it is mid-range for Guatemala. It was the most expernsive place we stayed during our two weeks in the country.

Like other reviewers mentioned the view is fantastic, and you can't beat relaxing with a Gallo on the deck overlooking the lake. True the rooms aren't what you'd get at the Ritz, but they were clean, comforatble, and safe.

If you stay here, grab a bite to eat at Captian Tortuga next door.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2006

This hotel reminds me of U.S. tomatoes... nice and colorful on the outside, but hard and tasteless on the inside. At first glance, the hotel looks was very nice with a lovely pool and deck in the back. The view from the rooms is equally nice. Unfortunately, the rooms left a lackluster taste in my mouth. Yes, the rooms have cable TV and air conditioning, but the beds were just plain nasty. The mattress was on the brink and the sheets were so thin you were practically touching the mattress underneath - in essence sleeping in other people's filth. The blanket was old and dingy and the bathroom was cruddy as well.

The room situation at this hotel is really unfortunate because if they had decent beds I would have given them a much higher rating due to the afformentioned amenities. A clean, comfortable bed (I'm not picky, just no springs in my back please!) is the most important aspect of any hotel. But, from the high turnover and vast amount of package tour groups that pass through this hotel, I highly doubt they will make any changes soon.

All in all, for the price here relative to other hotels in the area I was expecting more. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2006

Our primary purpose for visiting Flores was it's proximity to Tikal. We were very happy with our decision to stay "in town". Flores itself is a quaint little island (an easy walk around) in the middle of Lake Peten that is full of hotels, restaurants and shops. We had a wonderful time just exploring Flores (mostly tourist area) and Santa Elena (the small town which is directly across the causeway). Note that not-surprisingly English is not widely spoken so be sure to have a Spanish phrase book with you if you are not fluent! We didn't have a problem but if you cannot communicate at least a little, it's good to "be prepared".

We stayed as La Casona de la Isla for 3 nights in late November and had a fantastic time. The weather was lovely. We took a taxi from the airport to our hotel. There were many taxi drivers waiting to drive you there at a cost of $2 US per person which seemed reasonable to us as it's too far to walk even if you wanted to! The hotel lobby, staff and pool area are very nice. The rooms are typical Central American hotel rooms - clean and comfortable but on the drab side. We even had a some US television and working air conditioning! The pool is small and quite cold but nice all the same. The hot tub looked inviting but was cold so we didn't spend much time there. There are many restaurants and shops around the hotel as well as travel agents for booking transport to Tikal and other neighboring sites (in addition to transport to Belize or other places in Guatemala). Most trips are done via minibus which picks you up at your hotel. We found them to be quite comfortable, convenient and relatively inexpensive.

Tikal was unbelievable – a once-in-a-lifetime event. The earlier you can get there – the better (we left Flores on a 5am minibus!).

All in all...a very positive experience. We would definitely stay at La Casona de la Isla again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casona de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona de la Isla

Address: Calle 30 de junio, Isla de Flores, Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona de la Isla 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casona de la Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona De La Isla Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casona de la Isla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.