We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casona de la Isla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Casona de la Isla to your Saves list
Hotel Casona de la Isla
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 30 de junio, Isla de Flores, Flores, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Super friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

I really appreciated that they let me check in at 8.30am in the morning after an early flight from Guatemala City. I expected to simply leave my bags and have to wait until late afternoon. After staying in several low-mid-priced hotels in Guatemala, this was the first with air conditioning which is an absolute must because of the humidity. Rooms are small and clean, view is great and the pool is pretty nice too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    75
    33
    8
    6
See reviews for
21
55
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed one night here the end of April 2014. The location is great. The pool was nice and the room was fine-quite small but fine for our needs. We stayed in a room that had 2 beds (full/double, not queen). The included breakfast was good. Right outside the hotel in the evening food vendors set up tables and sold locally made guatemalan food. We were adventuresome and tried a few things! I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, reasonably priced and breakfast is included where you can choose anything from the menu. The ladies at reception dont speak much english but you can get by. The majority of the rooms face the nice pool, the aircon is a little noisy but you get aircon, so no complaints there. Wifi drops in and out. There are ladies with food stalls that set up in the evenings just outside the hotel by the lake that sell tostadas with a huge variety of toppings, plus homemade sweets, very cheap!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The hotel was great, ask for room 203 which overlooks the pool. Reception staff were lovely. The hotel is well located and there are plenty of dining options just outside the door. Great place for a couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I booked two rooms months ago, and I'm so glad I chose this hotel for our two night stay. I flew in from the U.S. to visit my Guatemalan friend and her family. I arrived on Good Friday and the following day we made our way from Guatemala City to Flores. I had rented a car and we spent the better half of the day traveling from point A to point B. We arrived in Flores at around 7 p.m. to find that the streets were packed with cars, people, and food stands along the promenade. What a sight to behold! It was very festive. We had a bit of a hard time trying to locate the hotel, but when we did, we were able to park exactly in front of the main entrance.

I had booked a double for myself and a triple for my friend and her family and both rooms were on the fourth floor, but when the receptionist saw that my friend has an amputated leg and uses a crutch, she quickly offered her a room closer to the ground floor. She kept insisting that the room was bigger and better than the one on the fourth floor. I told my friend to go for it and not to worry that we weren't going to be rooming next to each other.

We were given our keys and went up two flights of stairs to room 116, which was a triple room facing the swimming pool. Her family fell in love with the room. It was very roomy with 3 full size beds which worked perfectly for them. My friend and her husband slept in one bed, her oldest daughter took the other bed with her 4 month old baby, and the youngest child took the other bed. Although the room had very basic furnishing, it was clean and comfortable. The air conditioner was a big plus. The bathroom was big enough with good water pressure.

We then went up to my room which was a very tiny room with two full size beds squeezed in the room. One bed was against the wall. The room had a ceiling fan, AC, a carafe with filtered water and two glasses. The bathroom had a shower stall, no tub, and the closet was in the bathroom. I can't remember the room number, but it had a nice view of the pool and the lake. Each room had two seats outside.

The hotel was full and there were a lot of people around the pool area, either in the pool or enjoying a drink. Everybody was very friendly. We were hungry and ended up eating at the restaurant next door and after dinner, we called it a night as we had a long day the following day to Tikal.

Breakfast was included and we got to order from their menu a full, hot breakfast. I still don't understand why I was charged extra for the young girl when I had made reservations for 3 adults and 1 child. The waiter told us that the reservation only showed 3 adults. I was supposed to have taken it up with front desk but I just let it go...breakfast was very inexpensive. We ate our breakfast on the deck facing the street.

Upon returning from Tikal, the pool was again very busy as was the bar area. We again had dinner at the restaurant next door, and after dinner, my friends got in the pool while I just lounged around and decided to call it a night. I was exhausted. Although I was on the fourth floor I could clearly hear the noise from the pool below, but it didn't bother me in the least.

We had breakfast the following morning on the deck facing the pool, and it was just as filling as the previous morning. The mornings on the island are very peaceful, and I loved to walk outside the room to a beautiful view of the lake and its tranquility. Hotel Casona de la Isla was by far the best choice I could've made when looking for a nice place to stay on the island, and if I ever return to Flores, I will surely book my nights there.

Room Tip: Firecrackers in the middle of the night for no apparent reason.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Well located, good view, clean, good team, nice rooms, just be sure you get a AC room, if not the rooms are too hot . Great wifi. Straight to the lake in one minute take a swim, you can get good food by the lake and all this is within a minute, although my room didn't have AC still it was worth the money and all the agencies next to it to go to Tikal and other temples.

Room Tip: Ask a room with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Lovely location, view of the lake from the pool, and the central courtyard surrounding said pool is quite pretty.

I stay here often and the rooms are pretty clean, have hot water (with good water pressure), and functioning AC units and fans (though the ACs are sometimes a bit loud and rattly). They provide clean water in carafes, and free breakfast in the morning. Rooms can be a bit small for 2+ people, but just fine for one. There are no washcloths, but plenty of towels and soaps/shampoos.

Front desk has friendly staff who is very helpful.

You can enjoy drinks at the pool while overlooking the lake. Perfect view.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casona de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona de la Isla

Address: Calle 30 de junio, Isla de Flores, Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona de la Isla 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Casona de la Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona De La Isla Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casona de la Isla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.