We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Maya to your Saves list
Villa Maya
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Laguna Petenchel, Flores, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A very comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We spent two nights at the Maya Villa, on either end of our six night trip into the Guatemalan jungle. In fact, we had planned to stay at a place that was closer to the airport for the final night of our trip, but decided instead, to stay at Maya Villa again, as we had enjoyed our 1st night there. The room we had for both nights (#201), was clean, and on the first floor, overlooking a lagoon. The beds were comfortable. The shower had good water pressure and was warm. The room had air conditioning if you needed it and a small refrigerator with water, soda and beer. The pool was clean and refreshing, with lots of opportunity for sunbathing. There is a lovely, although small, gift shop, which had some locally made crafts and t-shirts. The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful and she was able to arrange our transport to the airport on our final morning. We were also able to secure transport to Maya Villa from the airport, on-line, prior to our trip, which was free of charge. Ironically the transfer back to the airport, was an added charge.

On the Maya Villa grounds, there is an area where one can walk to see Macaws, on the hill in between the circling cabana buildings. There is also a short trail in the back of the property, where we could hear Howler monkeys in the distance. For breakfast, we enjoyed watching a resident crocodile ("cocodrillo"), swim over to the area below the restaurant, (on the other side of the fence!), where he sat waiting for any treats that may come his way.

The food at the restaurant was very good, although perhaps a bit more pricey than what we are used to. The shrimp dish I had on one of the nights, sautéed with butter and garlic, was simply awesome. And on our final morning, the restaurant which opens at 6am, was able to prepare a lovely hot breakfast for us, before we left. The hotel was located at most, a half hour from the Flores airport.

There were a lot of mosquitoes in the evening, given the proximity to the lagoon, so it is important to bring both mosquito repellant and an after-bite spray, as it is impossible to avoid all of the mosquitoes.

I suppose our only recommendation would be in securing a room on the other side from where we were, (i.e. #201). Our cabana was situated closer to the pool area. As we had an early flight out, we attempted to go to bed at around 9pm, and we did hear some noise from the pool area. It was not extreme by any means, and when we shut our windows, we did not hear anything. We also did not hear any noise on our first night, but then we had gone to sleep much later. Additionally, a second floor room may have even nicer views.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    71
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
60
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston, Il
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were on a 3-week, small (9) group tour of The Lost World of the Mayans. We arrived in the early evening after a long journey by boat followed by a van ride over an unimproved road. We stayed here 3 nights. Our room was large and comfortable and the bathroom fine. The room had an odor which is understandable given the humidity of the jungle. Our 2nd floor room overlooked the lake, sadly we were never in the room long enough to use the balcony. There was a buffet the first 2 nights, our last night's meal (after a large tour group departed) was cooked to order by the kitchen. The buffet was varied and excellent. I don't eat meat and the chef grilled a chicken breast for me. The breakfast buffet was also good. The hotel is lovely, with all the public rooms open to the outside. The wine at the Villas of Guatemala - we stayed at three of their other hotels - is potable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I loved the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel compound. The jungle setting is gorgeous with a reasonable drive to visit Tikal. The rooms were basic but nice, very spacious with a small balcony overlooking the lake. The restaurant's food and service were good. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Guatemala is a beautiful country, and one place is beautiful....until you see another. This is how I felt when staying at Villa Maya. The surroundings are tranquil and very green (my favorite color!) The breakfast and dinners were well prepared, varied and quite delicious! I loved my little room, which is more like a shared cabin on the river. Nice walking trails everywhere. Would stay here again....close to Tikal National Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The Hotel is located about 1 hour and 15 minutes from Tikal. It has a lovely setting on a lake. The room was basic. The bed was adequate. The shower didn't drain well. The room was clean. The meals were good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hotel is isolated infront of a nice lake and surrounded by nature, even by alligators! Food is good, good service!

About the rooms...they are basic, no TV, bed matress a little bit too hard, really good shower! internet free connection from rooms! Very clean.

Overall I will recommend the hotel, its worth what you pay for it...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Villa Maya as part of a Caravan tour. The rooms are in bungalows, four rooms to each building, two up, two down. We had a first floor room but even that had a balcony that overlooks a beautiful ecological area. The room was spacious, clean, and air-conditioned. The buffet wasn't as extensive as some of the other hotels where we stayed on the tour, but the food was consistently good.

We didn't get to spend as much time on the property as we would have liked. We took a short walk on one of the paths, but we'd returned from Tikal late in the afternoon and it was already getting dark so we didn't venture too far. We used the pool in the evening, very nice, and the water was warm. There's a separate, shallow pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maya

Address: Laguna Petenchel, Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maya Hotel Flores
Maya Hotel Flores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.