We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel Grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Maya to your Saves list
Villa Maya
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Laguna Petenchel, Flores, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ventura, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel Grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I loved the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel compound. The jungle setting is gorgeous with a reasonable drive to visit Tikal. The rooms were basic but nice, very spacious with a small balcony overlooking the lake. The restaurant's food and service were good. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    63
    17
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
57
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Guatemala is a beautiful country, and one place is beautiful....until you see another. This is how I felt when staying at Villa Maya. The surroundings are tranquil and very green (my favorite color!) The breakfast and dinners were well prepared, varied and quite delicious! I loved my little room, which is more like a shared cabin on the river. Nice walking trails everywhere. Would stay here again....close to Tikal National Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The Hotel is located about 1 hour and 15 minutes from Tikal. It has a lovely setting on a lake. The room was basic. The bed was adequate. The shower didn't drain well. The room was clean. The meals were good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hotel is isolated infront of a nice lake and surrounded by nature, even by alligators! Food is good, good service!

About the rooms...they are basic, no TV, bed matress a little bit too hard, really good shower! internet free connection from rooms! Very clean.

Overall I will recommend the hotel, its worth what you pay for it...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Villa Maya as part of a Caravan tour. The rooms are in bungalows, four rooms to each building, two up, two down. We had a first floor room but even that had a balcony that overlooks a beautiful ecological area. The room was spacious, clean, and air-conditioned. The buffet wasn't as extensive as some of the other hotels where we stayed on the tour, but the food was consistently good.

We didn't get to spend as much time on the property as we would have liked. We took a short walk on one of the paths, but we'd returned from Tikal late in the afternoon and it was already getting dark so we didn't venture too far. We used the pool in the evening, very nice, and the water was warm. There's a separate, shallow pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Villa Maya made an error and had us at their hotel in Antigua instead of Flores, even though our written reservation was correct. They worked with us to stay in another hotel the first night (Peten Esplindio) and then they found room for us at Villa Maya. Villa Mayan has beautiful grounds. We enjoyed the view of the lagoon and the colorful Macaws. The room was nicely decorated and I had WiFi in the room. What I did not like was the open concept shower. No privacy at all because the "door" was wooden spindels!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed at Villa Maya as part of a Caravan Tour. The hotel/resort was even better in person than in the pictures. Things to enjoy about Villa Maya are:

1. Delicious food in the restaurant, at least for what was served for the tour groups.
2. Great pool. The water was warm all night long, and the waterfall and Big Chair added to the fun of the pool scene.
3. Each room had a beautiful balcony, overlooking the adjacent lake.
4. The rooms were in bungalow type buildings, with four rooms each. That gave it a real remote/resort type feel.

I would recommend Villa Maya to anyone visiting Tikal and Northern Guatemala.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor of each bungalow have even better views of the nearby lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maya

Address: Laguna Petenchel, Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maya Hotel Flores
Maya Hotel Flores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.