We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Casa del Lacandon

Hotel Casa del Lacandon
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Casa del Lacandon
Save
You added Hotel Casa del Lacandon to your Saves list
Calle Union, Flores, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Flores B&B and Inns
Boca Raton
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We moved out after 1 night due to the cleanliness of the room and the shower - we paid just under $20 but doesn't mean we can live in a very basic and dirty looking room. The location is ideal but most accommodation in Flores is!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    7
    9
    6
See reviews for
1
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Unfortunately our experience at Hotel Casa del Lacandon was not a good one. The place is run by one family, which is normally cause for encouragement. But this family seem to dislike their guests and clearly don't enjoy running a hotel.

The positives are the stunning views over Lake Peten (which you can get from 90% of hotels on the island of Flores) and the low price. In my opinion, no price is low enough to endure the standard of service and accommodation we received.

The room was dirty, with litter and dirt on the floor. The bed was itchy. The ceiling fan didn't work. There were no towels or toilet paper until we asked. The room was not cleaned so we requested someone go in and clean, empty the bin in the toilet etc. after two days. The lady at the desk was dismissive and said "Yes, yes, in a minute". Four hours later, I took the bin down to the reception desk myself and asked for an empty bin liner. After much fussing and incredulity, I was given a used carrier bag.

But the thing that tipped the balance in the end was the awful smell coming from the bathroom, where the cover had long since broken away from the toilet seat and presumably been removed and not replaced. We bought some air-freshener from a local shop but it was no use. We ended up making our excuses, cutting our stay short and escaping to another hotel, of which there an abundance available.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there one night and thought the room was good on a quick inspection but after we had settled in we realized that we were grossly mistaken. We had to ask for towels and toilet paper which were not already in the room, soap was unavailable and service was poor. We felt like we were intruding on their place and were left feeling like we were lucky that were willing to let us stay. Rubbish was left in the common area all day and upon leaving for our tour in the morning while waiting for the bus outside we had just walked out when they came and locked the front door. When we wanted to put our bags back in our room we got told that they couldn't open the doors again because they had 'lost' the key they just used to lock us out meaning we had to take all our stuff with us on the Tikal tour which left us very unimpressed after they had told us it was ok to leave downstairs for 10Q. Hot water is non existent which we got told was available. Overall it had left a bad taste in our mouth about our stay. Best avoided unless desperate. Only positive was the location.
Oh and don't trust ENRIQUE who free lances for the tour agency across the road. Extremely sneaky and will not tell you about hidden charges and will always quote a higher price then drop it to the "official" price. Nothing goes to plan when booking with him.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

The hotel itself is quite cool, it looks over the lake and has a nice common area, the rooms however are a different story. We were equipt with a broken fan, dirty bathroom, and bed bug infested beds. Not to mention how uncomfortable they were. We stayed for two nights and found a wayyyy better place down the road for 25Q more. Shop around! It's worth it !

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Let me start by saying that Hotel Casa del Lacandon is probably the best of the other budget neighborhood hotels (since we went from one to the other) - and that really isn't saying much. We didn't stay in a room with a lake view - those might be nicer, if only for the view. Although the room was quite big, it was definitely not clean. Shower was dirty and grimy. Pillows were absolutely awful - lumpy and uncomfortable! The room was stifling and there aren't enough fans to go around... if you don't have a fan, (and we didn't), you will sweat and swelter. The window could not be fully closed and the door pane was broken. We've slept in quite a few budget lodgings in Guatemala, so we had a decent comparison.

The hostess was courteous, however, and we got decent service at a very reasonable price (100Q). I don't think I'd go out of my way to stay here, but if your options are limited, it's really quite decent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I stayed here with a friend a few weeks ago - we had room 101, which opens onto the second floor balcony and therefore has windows onto the lake. All rooms have en suite baths and ours was a bit grimy to be honest, but for 120Q/night between two we thought it was OK. Let me say the room was VERY basic, but the fan worked and it had a great view AND free wi-fi.

We did find the owner/staff a little odd though - nothing sinister but there was a weird vibe at the place. For example, we checked in and the lady didn't ask us for any money or anything - just gave us the key. We had told her we'd be there 2 nights, so we thought maybe we were supposed to pay on check-out. My friend went ahead and got his clothes laundered there, then when he asked for them back she held them for ransom until we paid for our accommodation?!! Very odd. But we stayed and hoped for the best.

My friend left after 2 nights and I moved into room 103 across the landing, which is a single room with fan and bath for 70Q. I actually thought this was a much nicer room - certainly the bathroom was cleaner - and for the price it was the best deal on the strip. It's right on the lake and close to a good swimming spot and nice places to eat; I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms off the balcony have the nicest view for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Casa del Lacandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Lacandon

Address: Calle Union, Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Flores

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Casa del Lacandon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.