We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, free rainwater!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green World Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Green World Hotel to your Saves list
Green World Hotel
Calle 30 de Junio | Ciudad Flores Peten, Flores 1701, Guatemala   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great view, free rainwater!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was in Room 8 (identified by Mayan symbols). I thought the room was a bit overpriced considering I was the only guest and this may be why I was the only guest. However, the room I chose for myself had one of the best views in Flores and I got to watch the sun set over San Miguel, San Andrés and San Pedro from a comfortable perch outside my room.

The staff were really friendly. My only complaints are that the bar to the right kept the pumping music going until 2am and the bed beside the outer wall has leaks in the ceiling and half of the bed got wet from the rain.

It was fine for one night as a bandaid for abandoning bad service at a different hotel.

Room Tip: Number 8 has the best view but use earplugs. And pull the bed from the wall to ensure you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    5
    7
    4
See reviews for
2
16
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just a couple of days ago my wife and I returned from a short trip to Flores Peten to see the Maya World. on a budget of course , my travel agent in Flores ( Reino Kan Travel Agency ) recomended a small green hotel just a couple of yards away, wich was very convenient for everybody. The place is decent, very affordable compared to other hotels in the area and the best feature wich I enjoyed fully is that it has acces to the lake trough the back with a very good view of whatever is going on on the walkway along the lake. if you need to rest in preparation for a long walk like we did, I recomend that you take the rooms closer to the opposite side from the lake because it gets wild Saturdays nights wich is the same for all other hotels along the lake. The owner Donia Maria y sus empleadas are the mos accomodating hosts we could find. Thank you very much for everything !

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pritchard, BC
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Small, clean hotel overlooking the lake in Flores. Helpful, friendly staff. The night bus from Guatemala stops two or three blocks from the hotel (they will arrange to pick you up). Very reasonable price and well located for restaurants and the lake front promenade.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The good things;
The location was really good.
The staff were very helpful and friendly.
We were able to use their clothesline.
The common areas were clean.
It was very secure at night.
Pay extra for room 8

The bad things;
One room had mouldy bedding.
Our group was using 8 of 10 rooms. One had no cold water. One shower leaked through the rendered wall all through the room.
The downstairs rooms were very, very small. Almost redicuously small.
All the windows, louvers, opened up into the hallway. Which meant the curtains had to be closed when you were in the room as people could see in as they walked along the hallway.
Airflow was very limited. They were dark, dingy and damp. Turning on the light made no difference you still could not see.
Wifi was charged as an extra. $5 for 2 days. Better to go for a drink up the road.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Green World Hotel in Flores(Peten), Guatemala is operated by a friendly and accommodating staff, but the hotel does not keep a watch on its needed repairs.
Located by the water pedestrian promenade at the back, it is well situated on a side street but close enough to the pier animation (restaurants, bars, discos,boutiques). Good location.

The staff stands ready to answer your questions with a smile (rather rare in Guatemala in general).

Unfortunately, the hotel does not pay enouh attention to the condition of its rooms : the room that I reserved on the ground floor, the toilet sink faucet did not funtion and produced with great diffficulty only drops of water. Willingly, the receptionist offered me a room on the 2nd floor but this time there was a visible puddle on the floor which indicated the cleaning staff was in a rush to finish and did notnotice.

It was immediately corrected by the receptionist.

It is a small hotel on 2 floors( at most12 rooms) in a good downtown location but the cleaning and repair staff seems to be negligent.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the front as the back rooms are exposed to noise and loud conversation of water sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Price wise the hotel was very good. Bathroom was clean as well as sheets and towels. Very friendly and helpful staff. There is wifi on the cozy terrace and nice view of the lake.

Owners booked us for a tour at Tikal for a very good price and a good guide (Donald Gonzales).

The fan on the ceiling managed to keep the room cool but couldn't keep the ants away, but that's a common problem of hotels in Guatemala.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the hallway have view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Hi,
me my girlfriend and another couple stayed there for 2 nights and really loved the place. The rooms are big and cleaned every day. The wifi there worked better than anywhere else i've been to in Guatemala, the staff was very helpful and helped us get a bus in the best price aroud and also to make a reservation for the next hostel. Plus it has a great balcony that views the Lake with a nice sitting place.

The only problem I had here was few ants in our room...

Overall it was a great place and I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green World Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green World Hotel

Address: Calle 30 de Junio | Ciudad Flores Peten, Flores 1701, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Green World Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green World Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.