We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay close to Yaxha!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ecolodge El Sombrero

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ecolodge El Sombrero
Save
You added Ecolodge El Sombrero to your Saves list
Laguna Yaxha | Yaxha-Nakum-Naranjo National Park, Flores 17000, Guatemala   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice place to stay close to Yaxha!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This place is definition of jungle lodge, with more comforts expected being in the middle of nowhere. The owner is very nice and accommodating, including connecting us with a local guide to get us into the park for a sunrise tour. The rooms were as expected completely screened in so there were very few bug in the cabin. It was very interesting having the howler monkey's right outside your cabin. Again you are in the jungle. Since you are in the jungle there is no city lights, but there is a generator that is on for the first four and a half hours of dark, and are on the first thing in the morning for you early risers. I highly suggest going onto the dock at night and looking at the stars. As there are no city lights to pollute the night sky you can see every star in the sky and even the milky way. There is also a fully equipped restaurant, with very fresh food, from pastas to Chapin dishes. I would recommend this place to stay if you want to see Yaxha.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Here's the deal:
Hot water is lake water boiled to almost a vaporizing temperature then brought to your room in a 15 gal. bucket.
The 4 odd watts of power they have is running in the rooms from dusk until dawn.
The ceiling of your room is one giant mosquito net spanning two living quarters that make up one cabin. Privacy is voluntary only.
Food is O.K.
People are very nice. Very nice.
Lake swimming for those brave enough to swim with crocs.

Now, Yaxha is a real gem. Go there soon before it turns into Tikal pt.II (being resplendent with zip lines and tour buses).
And if you like horeback riding, it's a measly $10US an hour ! And they let you ride the horses! Trot, gallup, run...it was a lot of fun !
Would we go back?
Yaxha + great horseback riding =Yes!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I've only stayed here one time but had no complaints. The rooms are basic and the showers are ok. The restaurant has a few dishes available every evening for dinner, as well as cold drinks.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My family and a friend's family just returned from a couple days at El Sombrero. We had a great experience and were continually amazed by what we saw and did. Sebastian was excellent at setting up the details including transportation. Juan did a wonderful job on the crocodile tour especially and showed us through Yaxha and Topoxte. We enjoyed the food and the rooms were comfortable and very clean.

But this is an eco-lodge in the rainforest. We had a lot of bugs outside which we thoroughly enjoyed. The rooms had excellent bug screens and we were not bothered in our rooms. The howler monkeys were right in the compound and very loud. The crocodiles were amazing in the lake right at the lodge. So for wildlife, this is a great experience and place. We are thoroughly satisfied.

The food was very good and the service, though occasionally desultory, did their job well.

I was a bit surprised by how quickly the costs added up but we did pack a lot of tours into our short stay and ultimately, though not cheap, we are happy with the value that we received for our money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

The lodge itself is not so great. Although it is located on a beautiful lake, amongst breathtaking nature and minutes from the best Maya site in Central America - it really needs a good change over.

Their restaurant lounge is lovely, a big natural beautiful palapa space. The food is good, the facilities are ok. What is really lacking is the service and more luxurious rooms. The owners themselves are the best tour guides and the most knowledgeable in the entire Biosfera Maya area, and when they provide service it is friendly, fast and great. Unfortunately their staff are really crappy. All of this being said, they have a big commitment to environmental protection and sustainability which for the parts they do, they do really well. Best would be their capacity for education on these topics.

The place is really affordable for what it is and its location. However, the best thing really is the location. Do yourself a favor and call El Sombrero for a tour of Yaxha, and the less known but amazing Topoxte maya site. In fact, pretty much any maya site in and around this area is better with them. If you stay here, you will be treated to the haunting sounds of the Howler Monkeys, one of the best places to hear them day and night. This is an amazing place to watch sunsets with a drink in hand!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We spent three very relaxing days at El Sombrero in the second week of November 2010. The owner's son Sebastian proved to be a very able, patient, and knowledgeable guide to the ruins at Yaxhá. He also guided us on some long hikes around the lake, and although he is not a birder, his skills enabled us to find some birds that we otherwise would have missed. His knowledge of the history of the area, and of the ancient peoples and culture, is deep. We are very glad we had him accompany us as our guide while we were there. The cabins (duplexes) are basic, but very clean and comfortable and the screens were welcome and successfully kept the biting insects on the outside!! The food was good, the beer cold, and the service was first rate. The staff even cleaned the mud off our boots when we returned from our hike around the south side of the lake!!! We felt special. We had a great time, and would definitely return to El Sombrero! We heartily recommend Ecolodge El Sombrero.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecolodge El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecolodge El Sombrero

Address: Laguna Yaxha | Yaxha-Nakum-Naranjo National Park, Flores 17000, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecolodge El Sombrero is located in the Yaxha Lagoon in the Yaxha-Nakum-Naranjo National Park. Our vision allows guests to have an Eco Friendly and sustainable experience in the jungle. Since we are located inside a National Park in the Maya Jungle you will be able to see wild animals and enjoy nature and the ancient Maya Culture. We are located only 2 km (15 minutes) away from the Yaxha Archeological Site. Some of the animals you may see while staying at our Ecolodge are: Howler Monkeys Spider Monkeys Crocodiles Toucans Hummingbirds Gray Fox Oropendolas Trogons Deer Coatimundi Etc... Other activities you may enjoy at Ecolodge El Sombrero are: Horseback Riding Crocodile Observation by Boat Bird Watching Boat Tours around the Yaxha Lagoon Guide Service Restaurant Archeological Tours (Yaxha, Topoxte, Nakum, Naranjo, Tikal, La Balanca, etc) Nature Tours Wildlife observation tours ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecolodge El Sombrero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.